The Wedding Dates to Avoid in 2018, 2019 and 2020

On the verge of booking your wedding date in? Be sure to check out this list beforehand...

0 Shares

When it comes to finding the best date to book your wedding, there are a few dates that could be worth avoiding for a few different reasons.

It could be that it’s a public holiday, which can often mean a huge spike in venue and supplier costs, or it could be a personally significant day that you need to keep free.

We've put together a list of UK dates in 2018, 2019 and 2020 that you might want to think carefully about when planning your big day... 

READ MORE: How to Plan a Wedding in Six Months

Important Personal Days

To avoid any family politics, you may want to check your personal diary for milestone birthdays, upcoming weddings of family members or friends, big anniversaries and any other significant days involving your family or close circle of friends.

READ MORE: How to Avoid Anxiety and Stress During Wedding Planning

Locally Significant Days

It's also worth noting things that are being planned in your local area, or the area you're planning on getting married in.

Does the town have an annual festival or carnival that might be worth avoiding? If you're unsure and want to be on the safe side, contact the local council - they should be able to notify you of anything within the local area that is big enough to cause disruption to your wedding plans.

READ MORE: Find Your Wedding Venue Here

Friday 13th Days

If you're superstitious, you might want to avoid any Friday 13th dates too. There's nothing to say that getting married on Friday 13th is actually unlucky, but if you're someone who's particularly superstitious, here are all the Friday 13th dates within the next three years.

READ MORE: The 13 Step Guide to Planning Your Wedding

Friday 13th Dates in 2018

Friday 13th April

Friday 13th July

Friday 13th Dates in 2019

Friday 13th September

Friday 13th December

Friday 13th Dates in 2020

Friday 13th March

Friday 13th November

UK Public Holiday Dates

Some couples will aim to hold their wedding on a public holiday, for example, the August bank holiday is annually one of the most popular weekends for couples to get married. These public dates, however, can come at a cost.

READ MORE: The Wedding Instagram Accounts You Need to Follow

If you're planning to steer clear of public holidays, here’s a list of all the 2018, 2019 and 2020 UK wedding dates you might want to avoid when booking your special day.

UK Wedding Dates to Avoid in 2018

Thursday 1st March

St David’s Day (Wales)

Saturday 17th March

St Patrick’s Day

Monday 19th March

St Patrick’s Day Observed (Northern Ireland)

Sunday 11th March

Mother’s Day

Friday 30th March – Monday 2nd April

Good Friday, Easter Weekend, Easter Sunday and Easter Monday

Sunday 1st April

April Fools Day

Saturday 5th – Monday 7th May

First May Bank Holiday Weekend

Saturday 26th – Monday 28th May

Second May Bank Holiday Weekend

Saturday 9th June

The Queen’s Birthday

Sunday 17th June

Father’s Day

Thursday 12th July

Battle of the Boyne (Northern Ireland)

Saturday 4th – Monday 6th August

Bank Holiday Weekend (Scotland)

Saturday 25th – Monday 27th August

Bank Holiday Weekend

Sunday 26th – Monday 27th August

Notting Hill Carnival (London Weddings)

Saturday 27th – Sunday 28th October

Weekend Before Halloween

Saturday 3rd – Sunday 4th November

Weekend Before Guy Fawkes Day

Sunday 11th November

Remembrance Sunday

Friday 30th November

St Andrew’s Day (Scotland)

Monday 24th, Tuesday 25th, Wednesday 26th December

Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Boxing Day

Monday 31st December

New Year’s Eve

UK Wedding Dates to Avoid in 2019

Tuesday 1st January

New Year’s Day

Wednesday 2nd January

Public Holiday (Scotland)

Friday 1st March

St David’s Day (Wales)

Sunday 17th March

St Patrick’s Day

Monday 18th March

St Patricks Day Observed (Northern Ireland)

Sunday 31st March

Mother’s Day

Friday 19th April – Monday 22nd April

Good Friday, Easter Weekend, Easter Sunday and Easter Monday

Saturday 4th – Monday 6th May

First May Bank Holiday Weekend

Saturday 25th – Monday 27th May

Second May Bank Holiday Weekend

Saturday 8th June

The Queen’s Birthday

Sunday 16th June

Father’s Day

Friday 12th July

Battle of the Boyne (Northern Ireland)

Saturday 3rd – Monday 5th August

Summer Bank Holiday (Scotland)

Saturday 24th – Monday 26th August

Summer Bank Holiday

Sunday 25th – Monday 26th August

Notting Hill Carnival (London Weddings)

Saturday 26th – Sunday 27th October

Weekend Before Halloween

Saturday 2nd – Sunday 3rd November

Weekend Before Guy Fawkes Day

Sunday 10th November

Remembrance Day

Saturday 10th November – Monday 2nd December

St Andrew’s Day and St Andrew’s Day Observed (Scotland)

Tuesday 24th, Wednesday 25th and Thursday 26th December

Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day

Tuesday 31st December

New Year’s Eve

UK Wedding Dates to Avoid in 2020

Wednesday 1st January

New Year’s Day

Thursday 2nd January

Public Holiday (Scotland)

Sunday 1st March

St David’s Day (Wales)

Tuesday 17th March

St Patrick’s Day

Wednesday 18th March

St Patrick’s Day Observed (Northern Ireland)

Sunday 22nd March

Mother’s Day

Friday 10th April – Monday 13th April

Good Friday, Easter Weekend, Easter Sunday and Easter Monday

Saturday 2nd – Monday 4th May

First May Bank Holiday Weekend

Saturday 23rd – Monday 25th May

Second May Bank Holiday Weekend

Monday 8th June

The Queen’s Birthday

Sunday 21st June

Father’s Day

Sunday 12th July

Battle of the Boyne (Northern Ireland)

Saturday 1st – Monday 3rd August

Summer Bank Holiday (Scotland)

Saturday 29th – Monday 31st August

Summer Bank Holiday

Sunday 30th – Monday 31st August

Notting Hill Carnival (London Weddings)

Saturday 31st October – Sunday 1st November

Weekend of Halloween

Saturday 7th – Sunday 8th November

Weekend Nearest to Guy Fawkes Day

Wednesday 11th November

Remembrance Day

Saturday 28th – Monday 30nd November

St Andrew’s Day and St Andrew’s Day Observed (Scotland)

Thursday 24th, Friday 25th and Saturday 26th December

Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day

Thursday 31st December

New Year’s Eve

Now you have the dates sorted, it's time to get your wedding budget in order. Here's our guide of how to plan a wedding for just £10,000 - and not a penny more!



0 Shares

You Might Also Like:

Latest Articles

More Wedding Articles