Leez Priory

(55 reviews) 55 4.89
Hartford End Chelmsford Essex CM3 1JP
Leez Priory 28 0
Leez Priory 26 1
Leez Priory 2
The Granary Bridal Suite at Leez Priory 3
Leez Priory 4
Wedding breakfast in the coach house 5
loading…
Shortlist this Venue?

About Leez Priory

Hartford End, Chelmsford
Essex, CM3 1JP

Three times Winner of Wedding Ideas Magazine ‘Best Wedding Venue’, this magnificent Tudor mansion is one of the most sought after wedding venues in the country and has twenty five years of experience in providing perfect wedding days. Set in 40 acres of parkland, complete with lakes, lawns and a sweeping driveway, Leez Priory is offered to you exclusively for your wedding day. 

Civil ceremonies can be performed in any of seven licensed settings including the stunning Great Tower which stands adjacent to the main house and outside beneath the carriagway for a truly unique setting. The stunning Great Hall can seat up to 80 guests for the wedding breakfast and the newly converted Coach House can seat up to 100 guests. As we offer exclusive use of the entire house you can also invite up to 250 guests for the evening reception and party. 

Leez Priory also boasts 15 lovely bedrooms which are exclusively reserved for you on your wedding night as well as a hidden cottage within the grounds for the Bride and Bridesmaids to stay in the night before the big day. 

Leez Priory is located in the heart of Essex, yet is only 15 minutes from Chelmsford and the M11 to London.

• Exclusive use of Leez Priory House & 40 acres of Grounds • Personal Front of House Manager to help plan, co-ordinate and guide you through your special day • Bridal changing rooms available from 9am should you choose to get ready on site in relaxed surroundi • Choice of five beautiful settings for your Marriage ceremony • Picturesque inner Courtyard with croquet lawn for summer weddings and open log fires for warm winter • Bridal Suite, complete with four-poster bed and Jacuzzi bath.

Facilities at Leez Priory

Venue Type :
Civil Ceremony Licence
Exclusive Use
In the Country
Castle
Stately Home
Historic
Evening Entertainment :
Evening Reception Facilities
Dance Floor
Entertainment Licence
Live Band Facilities
DJ Facilities
Outdoor Fireworks Permitted
Overnight Accommodation :
Overnight Accommodation for Wedding Couple
Overnight Accommodation for Guests
Other Features :
Confetti Permitted
Changing Room for Guests
Disabled Facilities
Car Parking
Helipad
Dining Options :
Seated Meal Facilities
Buffet Meal Facilities
In House Catering
Alcohol Licence
Capacity :
50 to 75 guests
75 to 100 guests
100 to 150 guests
150 to 250 guests
Venue Staff Assistance :
Wedding Coordinator
Master of Ceremonies/ Toastmaster

Leez Priory Location

Leez Priory, Hartford End, Chelmsford, Essex, CM3 1JP

Hartford End Chelmsford Essex CM3 1JP
01245 362 555
55 4.89

Leez Priory Reviews (55)

Tiffany
Venue Service

By Tiffany Cooke, on 25 Sep 2018Date of Wedding - 25 Sep 2018

Having researched lots of venues in the last few months, I feel I must write to say to others please make your own minds up. I read some negative reviews on this venue and nearly dismissed it, what a mistake that would have been! From the minute we drove up my heart fluttered, and by the time we had finished our tour I was in love all over again. We love the fact our guests have the whole house to use, we love the "gem of a disco" and the original features, the bedrooms make it feel like an exclusive little holiday village? It is A stunning venue with both inside and outside options at great value for money. Linda and put us totally at ease, with our busy schedules and a lengthy list of questions she breezed through the, all assuring us completely. Since booking we have met other couples who have had the privilege of being married there already, again they said "the best wedding ever" so thank you Leez Priory, we simply can't wait for our day to come around

Dissatisfied
Venue Service

By Mel, on 18 Sep 2018Date of Wedding - 24 Jul 2018

Much like the review in Feb-18, I would expect the honeymoon suite to have hot water and at least told that the Jacuzzi doesn't work considering our wedding was in Jul-18! We made the most of our day and didn't raise the problems until after the event as trying not to spoil it. How wrong I was. They 'investigated' my 20+ serious issues and denied all but the accommodation and dessert error. Appalled by the way they've treated me, essentially calling me a liar and now learning they've done nothing to fix the honeymoon suite in months, mind blown, they have the nerve to take thousands of pounds for an exclusive wedding venue and knowingly supply substandard accommodation, disgusting! Steer clear, it's picturesque but not worth the money.

Nick, Complaints at Leez Priory responded to this review on 19/09/2018 12:30:04

Dear Mel, I'm afraid the review in Feb-18 is referring to problems caused by the unusually cold weather & plumbing issues, where as your problems were caused by an unforeseeable issue with the boiler, for which you were compensated for. I can confirm with the utmost certainty that that all of the weddings in the interim, and since your date have received a functional Jacuzzi and hot water in the Bridal Suite. In terms of the other issues raised, we have taken your feedback very seriously and we are sorry if you feel the compensation offered does not meet your expectations.

Out of pocket continued
Venue Service

By Steve, on 11 Aug 2018Date of Wedding - 12 Jul 2018

Thanks Nick I was contacted on the 6th August as you advised. I was told amongst other things "the charge is for the cost of the empty bottle of Captains Morgan Rum left in Courtyard 10.  We levy a charge for the alcohol consumed on the premises and this has been deducted" I responded straight away again advising it wasn't consumed on the premises. Asks some questions and like the original email have been ignored and received no response. It is daylight robbery.

Watch your pockets
Venue Service

By Steve, on 02 Aug 2018Date of Wedding - 12 Jul 2018

Beautiful venue beautiful wedding. Only hitch was after being told we couldn't leave empty bottles in our minibus we left in bin in room which was paid for and then got charged for the cost of a bottle to venue!!!!! Also accused of breaking already broken light fixing. Emailed to ask about it and no response.

Nick, Marketing Manager at Leez Priory responded to this review on 06/08/2018 15:48:46

Dear Steve, Our apologies that you did not receive a response to your initial email. I have just asked our venue manager to review your complaint, so you should receive a response shortly,

Appalling customer service
Venue Service

By Stuart Mead, on 03 Jun 2018Date of Wedding - 02 Feb 2018

We had our wedding reception at Leez Priory in February 2018. Everything was great, especially our wedding planner Lizzie However...... when the evening was over we were looking forward to going back to the bridal suite and using the spa bath. Unfortunately the spa bath did not work, so feeling very disappointed we tried the shower which just ran freezing cold. The hot and cold taps on the bath were the wrong way around (they must employ the chuckle brothers as there plumbers!) Also no shampoo /conditioner at the bath so my wife had to pump it into a cup from the shower to be able to wash her hair in the bath!!! This was not what we expected for our wedding night in a bridal suite. There was also no heating or hot water in two of the guests rooms. We were told by the Venue manager that they were having “teething problems.” The most upsetting and disappointing thing of all however was how Leez Priory dealt with our complaints. It seems like once they have your money they don’t care. We were told and I quote by the venue manager “I am unable to provide a refund.” Hmm... but they were quick enough to take thousands of pounds but are just ‘unable’ to refund any of it even when they totally messed up! Interesting that. No rooms can of been checked before guests arrive. Surely that should be standard procedure. After a lot of backwards and forwards emailing they eventually said they could give us dinner date tickets which only take place on a Monday night, not much cop when we have to get up for work at 4.30am each morning!! So overall, would steer clear and not risk tainting your wedding day!

A wonderful venue
Venue Service

By Liz and Mike Calvert, on 21 Jan 2018Date of Wedding - 20 Jan 2018

We have just returned home from Leez Priory following the wedding of two very dear friends. We had a fabulous time, nothing was missing, food, ceremony, ambiance, care and attention to every detail. The wedding meal was excellent....an amazing day. Well done all of you!

Simply Perfect!!!
Venue Service

By Helen & Mick, on 02 Dec 2017Date of Wedding - 20 Oct 2017

Wedding plans began back in January 2017 and the first job was to choose the venue. Our intention was to spend a series of weekends scouring the country for the ideal spot, however after spending an afternoon at Leez Priory our search was complete. From minute one the staff, led by Christie, were fantastic and could not have been more helpful. The day ran so smoothly and we are still getting compliments on how good the wedding was. If you are unsure on a venue just pick this one!!!

Laura Styles, Sales, Marketing & PR Executive at Leez Priory responded to this review on 05/12/2017 10:48:25

Thank you so much Helen & Mick for such a lovely review. It was an absolute pleasure to host your special day and we wish you every happiness for the future.

Best day ever
Venue Service

By Nadia cantle, on 15 Apr 2013

Had my wedding here at Leez yesterday (14/04/13) and it was better than I could of image!! Food was great,venue, grounds & views of the grounds are fanatic!! I was relaxed comfortable and very happy! The in house manager Tracy Locke was so great & helpfully we can't not fault her at all. I stayed at the fishermans cottage the night before and again everything about that was great!! Lucky for us the weather turned better gorgeous in fact, and all the guests had a great time also and kept commenting on how beautiful Leez is!! Me and my husband chose wisely on the venue & had our prefect wedding day... Couldn't thanx Tracy & Leez enough

Stunning
Venue Service

By Tim and Tina, on 07 Feb 2013

Simply amazing day which ourselves and our guests will never forget. Christmas time at Leez Priory is very special. Thank you.

20th October 2012
Venue Service

By Debbie, on 26 Dec 2012

We got married here on the 20th of October, and couldn't fault it. The food was spot on, the service was great and the location was breath taking. Our guests were blown away with the venue, the food and the atmosphere - a lot of them stating it was the best wedding they had ever been to. Not only do you have the lovely views of the property, you have the added bonus of a small tower that used to be a Monastery years ago. You can get married under it or in it if you wish. We decided we were going to get married in it as we were only having a small ceremony 40 guests, it was a lovely intimate ceremony. All in all it was a wonderful day and if we could do it all over again we would :)

Perfect!
Venue Service

By Lynne and Ricky, on 20 May 2011

Our day could not have been more perfect and I know our guests have already been making enquiries for their own future weddings!

So beautiful!
Venue Service

By Kate and Dan, on 20 May 2011

The venue was so beautiful, the food was delicious and the day ran smoothly. Everybody had a fantastic time and our special day was amazing. We are loving married life and will be expecting out 1st addition to the family in October!! We will always look back at Leez Priory as a beautiful venue that held our beautiful wedding day.

Prev    Page 1 of 5   Next

You May Also Like These Venues

Loading Nearby Wedding Venues
Leez Priory Gallery

Thank you for registering. You will shortly receive an email confirming your hitched account details.

Leez Priory details have been saved to your shortlist.

Continue browsing venues View my shortlist