Weddings

Colville Hall

Premium
Great Dunmow, Essex View map Visit website
Rating 4.8 out of 5
   57 reviews
Menus from £40
65 to 200 Guests

About

Menus from £40
65 to 200 Guests

Colville Hall is a simply stunning wedding venue that is the perfect place for your special day and up to 200 guests. Based in Essex, this unique group of thatched barns are situated around a picturesque courtyard setting and is a location rich in charm and history.

Colville Hall's unique selling point is that we have two barns. One for the Wedding breakfast - the Mill Pond Barn and one for the civil cermony or drinks reception - the Orchard Barn. Allowing everything to be set up in the morning and no turn around time keeping guest waiting for chairs and tables to be moved. Also in bad weather a drinks reception and group photographs can be held in the Orchard Barn - no one is left to panic and the venue is completely prepared for all weather types, making it a great choice for any season.

The ambience and tranquillity of Colville Hall is breathtaking. There are 10 acres of formal gardens with beautiful features that will make those picture opportunities even more special and romantic. We are licensed to hold civil ceremonies in our Orchard Barn and if you are planning a summer wedding then our two gazebos make a magical outside setting.

Enjoy a surreal and unforgettable wedding breakfast in the Mill Pond Barn with its 30 foot glass doors and views overlooking the elegant duck pond. The Cambridge Dining Company are Colville Hall’s exclusive catering partners and will provide an exquisite dinning service for your wedding day. The wedding planner we provide you with will help you choose from the range of fresh and seasonal British food, to find the right menu to suit your wedding party and budget.

The Old Dairy is a lovingly converted spot that is the perfect place for the bride and her bridal party to stay the night before the wedding subject to availability. With a seven foot mirror and large dressing room, you can get ready for your big day in the lap of luxury!

To view this spectacular venue for yourself, get in touch with our friendly team today - we'd love to hear all about your special day.

  • Opened in June 2016, this new venue is stunning, in a picturesque location that is unique and steeped in history
  • 10 acres of beautiful formal grounds that feature ponds, gazebos, ancient monuments and a Grade 1 archway. Perfect for romantic photo opportunities
  • The Old Dairy sleeps 8 people and has a large dressing room, its own kitchen and sitting room.
  • The Cambridge Dining Company has an exclusive partnership with Colville Hall and will invite you to a tasting
  • All packages are a starting point to planning your wedding and can be tailored to suit your requirements
  • All packages include a three course wedding breakfast, evening food and reception drinks

Frequently Asked Questions

Venue Type:

Exclusive Use
In the Country
Asian Wedding
Stately Home
Historic
Civil Ceremony Licence
Barn
Outdoor License

Dining Options:

Seated Meal Facilities
Corkage Option
Alcohol Licence
Buffet Meal Facilities
In House Catering

Evening Entertainment:

Marquee Available
Dance Floor
Entertainment Licence
Live Band Facilities
Evening Reception Facilities
DJ Facilities

Overnight Accommodation:

Overnight Accommodation for Wedding Couple
Overnight Accommodation for Guests

Venue Staff Assistance:

Wedding Coordinator

Other Features:

Disabled Facilities
Car Parking
Allows fire ceremony
Confetti Permitted
Pets Welcome

57 reviews

Write a Review
Rating
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Jack
    Jack C. Married on 28/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Venue, Amazing Team

    We fell in love with Colville Hall the first time we saw it, in May of 2019. Honestly, I'd be surprised if there's a more beautiful venue within a 50 mile radius. We cancelled eight other appointments and signed the contract there and then!

    We were due to get married in August of 2020, but due to obvious reasons, finally tied the knot on our third date, in August of 2021. Throughout that extremely stressful time, Colville were brilliant at communicating, keeping in touch and being flexible.

    The day itself was absolutely perfect. Having been at another wedding just a month before that was visibly not well organised, and seen how stressful that was for the bride and groom, we couldn't have asked for more from Colville. The staff were all amazing, everything went off exactly as planned.

    A special shout out to the wedding coordinator, Claire. She is incredibly well organised, will make sure everything is done as asked and is really nice to boot.

    We went through so many iterations of what our wedding might look like in that year from August 2020 to 2021, and agonised dozens of times about what to do. In the end, we had our perfect wedding, exactly as we wanted, and we couldn't be more glad that we waited. Colville was a huge part of that!
  • RomanticBlueBridesmaid714
    Carralyn W. Married on 13/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent Wedding Venue!

    Thank you to Philippa and Claire for re-arranging our wedding dates with no extra charge.
    It has been a tough year for Venues and Brides with this Covid Pandemic so really appreciate your time, Support, understanding and patience.
    Look forward to seeing you next year
  • Jan
    Jan B. Married on 21/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    professional

    We would like to thank Colville Hall for there help during this Pandemic , they have moved our date free of charge and have been so helpful a understanding, we cannot wait to hold our wedding with them later this year
  • HappyGoldConfetti6949
    Jo Frazer Married on 11/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic venue lovely staff. What a pleasure

    I couldn't reccomend Colville hall anymore. The whole day was just amazing from start to finish and throughout the whole process the staff communicated well to ensure the day went as planned

    Colville Hall's reply:

    Thank you Jo. It was a pleasure to host your wedding. We wish you all the happiness for the future. Colville Hall
  • HappyGoldFlowers14671
    Mark K.
    Rating 1.4 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Not recomended at all - Horrid experience


    I could not possibly recommend Colville Hall as a wedding venue. Although it is undoubtedly beautiful, I am sad to say we had an utterly horrid time dealing with the management. There were some minor irritations from the start in terms of unclear information around accommodation and “complimentary” wine tasting which we actually had to pay for so we made a conscious decision to communicate everything in writing to avoid any further misunderstandings but in the main, things were moving along ok and we were excited about our wedding in June 2020.

    Covid struck and in March we were asked to reschedule due to safety concerns. This was perfectly understandable and sensible so we agreed on September 2020. Subsequently, government restrictions did not permit our wedding to go ahead in the end anyway.

    I can’t possibly list all the disappointments that followed but here are the key headlines:

    1 - ______ put huge pressure on us to pay the full balance of the wedding in May despite our contract stating clearly that payment was due one month before the date of the wedding and us having a written agreement that the new date was in September. ______ threatened to cancel it altogether and no amount of logical reasoning seemed to sway______. Given the ongoing uncertainties and contractual terms, we did not give in and the “deadline” came and went. I could not possibly recommend Colville Hall as a wedding venue. Although it is undoubtedly beautiful, I am sad to say we had an utterly horrid time dealing with the management. There were some minor irritations from the start in terms of unclear information around accommodation and “complimentary” wine tasting which we actually had to pay for so we made a conscious decision to communicate everything in writing to avoid any further misunderstandings but in the main, things were moving along ok and we were excited about our wedding in June 2020.

    2 - As the date drew nearer, it became clear that we may not be able to proceed in September and if we could, would most likely be heavily restricted on guest numbers (from an original headcount of 80). Clearly this was a very stressful and upsetting time - not helped by ______ communications which continued to be unclear, abrupt and unhelpful. Most worryingly, they were often inaccurate - for example referring to our wedding in “July” (it was never scheduled for July). We didn’t feel remotely supported and it really stood out when all our other suppliers were being as polite and accommodating as possible. In fact, we had no other issues with deposits being returned for services that couldn’t be provided or moved to the new date.

    3 - We asked about other other options such as a further postponement or splitting the event and having a small ceremony in September with a bigger party the following year and were told this was not acceptable to them. Ultimately, we were given the option of going ahead with whatever restrictions were in place at the time or cancelling it and getting a full refund. Having lost confidence and respect in ______ by this point, we opted for a refund and breathed a huge sigh of relief.

    4 - We were then presented with a legally binding agreement with onerous terms we were told we had to agree to before our deposit would be refunded. Our main issue was a number of gagging clauses which not only prevented us from writing a negative review but also our family and friends! What followed was a long battle with ______ lawyer before the deposit was returned on the final day we had stated before proceeding with a claim.

    My view is that ______ repeatedly tried to bully us for ______ own benefit. We checked out the company accounts to see if the behavior was driven out of fear about the business going under but alas, they looked very healthy indeed. Most importantly, ______ didn’t succeed in ______ efforts. After cancelling with Colville, we moved our wedding to Down Hall and had a totally different experience. The wedding team there were fantastic - helpful, reassuring, and flexible. They did all they could to make sure we had a wonderful day."

    Colville Hall's reply:

    Dear Mark,

    First of all we would like to apologise again for the misunderstandings regarding the accommodation and wine tasting. At the time we explained what had happened and offered you complimentary champagne for the top table on your wedding day which you seemed to be happy with. We would have been more than happy to have spoken to you again had we’ve of known you were still unsatisfied.

    This year, the coronavirus pandemic has been hard for us all. An unprecedented event that none of us of have ever experienced before, and as a business, we have had to adapt in order to make our couples’ wedding dreams a reality. We have understood each and everyone’s concerns and anxieties and have done our upmost to take them away. We have postponed 45 weddings this year, all with no fee or charges, and to a date of our couples’ choice (obviously subject to availability), in some cases we have had to postpone some couples’ weddings 2 or 3 times because of changes in government restrictions. We’ve had fantastic feedback from our couples, in fact we had an internet review 5 months ago from a happy client.

    We were sorry you were not happy with our options and postponement policy presented to you at that time, so we offered to give you your non-refundable deposit back in return for written notice of cancellation of your wedding and contract - which you refused to do. Unfortunately, after several attempts of asking for your cancellation in writing, we had to instruct a lawyer. Whilst this was of course not what we would of wanted to do, sadly we had no other option in doing so.


  • N
    Nicola A. Married on 21/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our wedding 21.08.2021

    I could not be more pleased with how our daughters wedding ran, Claire and Philippa were amazing from when we turned up trying to find another wedding venue due to the Covid pandemic they were very professional, understanding and compassionate. We cannot thank you both enough for al the support kindness and caring you had shown us. we would have no hesitation in recommending Colville hall and yourselves to anyone. Thanks Nicola Andrews
  • B
    Beverley L. Married on 21/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent service

    Really overjoyed to have such a responsive team .
    This year had been difficult for us all but I can honestly say the team at Colville have gone above and beyond to advise and plan my wedding Nothing had been to much trouble , especially Philippa what a star and she certainly knows the wedding business. Excellent all round service .

    Excited For next year - thank you
  • N
    Naomi C. Married on 30/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So accommodating!

    Sadly due to COVID we have had to postpone our wedding with this venue and they could not have been more helpful. We spoke to them and pushed back our date by a year with no fuss at all. We are so thrilled we can still have this lovely venue for our big day!
  • R
    R P M. Married on 16/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Recommended

    Fantastic service, real attention to detail, we were looked after so well from booking the venue to our wedding day. Our guests were blow away by the History and beautiful buildings and grounds this really is a very special site and a gem in the Essex/Hertfordshire country side. Recommended
  • O
    Oliver J. Married on 12/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great and memorable day

    We just had the most perfect day. The venue staff couldn’t of been more helpful and friendly, and the catering company delivered fantastic food and great service. Highly recommend.

    Colville Hall's reply:

    Thanks Oliver - it was so nice to be able to hold weddings again , even with limited numbers your wedding was so beautiful and intimate
  • L
    Elle H. Married on 05/09/2020
    Rating 1.2 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Unpleasant experience

    Beautiful venue, let down hugely by appalling management style and behaviour! Note that there will be a very limited number of negative reviews as they use “settlement agreements” to silence people they treat most badly. Also, they will happily respond to a negative review with factually inaccurate information if necessary. Avoid!
  • G
    Gemma H. Married on 05/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful venue fantastic staff

    Colville Hall is wonderful, we had a fantastic day , we highly recommend it , the grounds are beautiful and the staff were very friendly and professional throughout.

    Colville Hall's reply:

    Thank you Gemma , its fantastic when our customers give us such nice comments ,we loved your dogs they were so well behaved
    and made your day so special .
  • E
    Emma W. Married on 12/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What can we say?.. superb!

    Well we’ve finally got round to writing to you to say thank you so much for giving us the best day EVER. From your wonderful caterers to your bar staff, everyone was helpful, friendly and professional. The Wedding team at Colville made sure our planning and wedding went smoothly and to plan, and for that we thank you.
  • J
    Jess W. Married on 14/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing day ?

    Thank you so much to the team at Colville for giving us the best day ever! From start to finish we had great communication and wonderful guidance. The day itself couldn’t of been more perfect and just as we’d imagined. Thank you again.

Badges

Map

Chelmsford Road CM6 1RQ Great Dunmow (Essex)

Location of(Colville Hall)

Other suppliers in Essex for your wedding

Wedding Venues