Weddings

Walton Castle

Premium
Clevedon, Somerset View map Visit website

About

Up to 250 Guests

Located within the North Somerset countryside, Walton Castle offers the ideal backdrop for your wedding day. The grade II listed building boasts a prime hilltop location with panoramic views across acres of gorgeous woodland.

For the bridal party, we can offer 8 luxury double bedrooms, allowing a night of relaxed comfort ahead of the excitement of the big day. You could even extend your stay for a few more days so you can take advantage of the castle’s amenities including the heated indoor swimming pool.

As a private venue, we have exceptional attention to detail and will be able to help you plan from proposal through to the very last dance of the evening. We have a great relationship with many of the best suppliers and caterers in the county and will happily recommend a selection, allowing you to select the ones that best suit your wedding needs.

We know that every wedding is unique and that is why we don’t have any set packages at our bespoke venue. We are totally flexible and our highly creative team will work with you to design a dream wedding that fits your budget. We are licensed for wedding ceremonies in three different areas.

We know that the build up to your wedding day can be overwhelming, which is why we aim to make this time a stress free and exciting period for you. You will be in full control of your wedding day, whilst relying on our dedicated and experienced team to look after all the details.

The castle lies a short distance from the charming Victorian seaside town of Clevedon, just South of Bristol, 5 minutes from junction 20 of the M5 motorway and a 20 minute drive from Bristol Airport.

  • 17th Century Castle with panoramic views of the countryside
  • 8 luxury en-suite double bedrooms
  • No corkage fee
  • You can bring your own caterers and suppliers or choose from our list of trusted suppliers
  • Licensed for civil ceremonies in three areas of the Castle
  • Large heated indoor swimming pool

Frequently Asked Questions

Venue Type:

Exclusive Use
In the Country
Sporting
Coastal Weddings
Castle
Historic
Landmark
Civil Ceremony Licence
Outdoor License

Dining Options:

Seated Meal Facilities
Allows Private Catering
Buffet Meal Facilities

Evening Entertainment:

Marquee Available
Dance Floor
Live Band Facilities
Evening Reception Facilities
DJ Facilities
Outdoor Fireworks Permitted

Overnight Accommodation:

Overnight Accommodation for Wedding Couple
Overnight Accommodation for Guests

Venue Staff Assistance:

Wedding Coordinator

Venue Leisure Facilities:

Swimming Pool

Other Features:

Car Parking
Helipad
Confetti Permitted
Changing Room for Guests
Rating
3.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 71% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 3.9 out of 5

1 User photo

  • Laura
    Laura T. Married on 17/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fairytale Wedding

    Our wedding could not have been more amazing at Walton Castle - a true fairytale.

    Planning our wedding with Walton Castle couldn't have been simpler. They are always on hand to answer any questions, and also provided us with some excellent advice and ideas when we weren't sure of something. They provided us with excellent suppliers - our food was second to none, my flowers were to die for, and our marquee was just perfect too - all recommended by the venue! They couldn't help enough.

    Like many, we had to postpone our wedding from last year due to the pandemic. Unfortunately, our 'perfect date' wasn't available for the next year however they managed to cater for us and we just couldn't thank them enough.

    On the day there was always someone available to help - we had an unexpected change in weather (which ended up not affecting us after all!) but they were right there to help with moving things around should we have needed to.

    I had absolute no stress as a Bride organising my wedding here - wish we could do it all over again! Can't recommend this place enough!

    Thank you Walton Castle!

    Laura & Chris x
  • Caron
    Caron A. Married on 01/04/2016
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    unproffesional rude

    discussed clothing/ jewelery event paid £100 plus for taxi but no pa ever called me or emailed me. bought rails mirrors lovely props to save castle owner hiring them sent bouquets gifts my usual kind self.....but treated rudely and behaved unprofesionally switched off few times rudely on mobile phone. blocked on email for wishing happy xmas and new year having to ask the same question twice was a sculpted castle i sent to castle owner broken as i especially insured it against breakage..... alot of tears frustration increased deppresion / anxiety as i really need to do event. very unprofesional uncalled for rudeness disrespect. total messers. great shame really

    Walton Castle's reply:

    Caron, darling. I am so sorry that you are aggrieved and have been unwell. You contacted us during COVID about holding a jumble sale as you had some clothes that you wanted to sell. As you were made aware we are predominantly a wedding venue and could not see a need, however we would keep your details on record just in case any future event could accommodate you..I am sorry you used a very expensive taxi.. we wish you well..
  • H
    Anisha C.
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Awful experience, do not hire this venue!!

    So where do i start....we fell in love with the place as soon as we saw it, and agreed we'd stretch the budget for our August wedding as hiring this place certainly isn't cheap.

    The owner made us all sorts of promises in terms of sourcing discounted suppliers for the alcohol, catering, marquee etc. She told us to trust her, as she could provide certain prices to fit within our budget. Little did we know, these prices were non existent, so when we contacted her suggested suppliers, they all gave us higher costs. We had no choice but to proceed - although we realised she'd been economical with the truth, we'd already paid the deposit on the castle which was non refundable. We'd also agreed to purchase all alcohol through her, as she promised she could easily provide it within the budget we specified - we even have this in writing on an email from her. But, low and behold, she doubled the price with no explanation!!

    The icing on the cake (no pun intended) was when she refused to refund our £750 security deposit - this is still ongoing. Nearly 3 weeks after the wedding, she sent us a hostile email making falsified claims....no phone call, no discussion, just a rude and horrible email full of accusations.

    Honestly, worst experience of our lives. We had a wonderful wedding day, but if you value honest and straightforward people to hand your money over to, then avoid this place like the plague.

    Walton Castle's reply:

    I am certainly surprised to receive this review
    We bent over backwards for Anisha and had more meetings with her than any other bride ever !
    Let me answer her accusations !
    - re alcohol we have a bar at the castle and although we allow clients to bring an agreed amount of alcohol corkage free like the majority of venues we provide the alcohol
    Pre pandemic/ Brexit we were able to source excellent wine at a great price from France ! By the time of Anisha’s wedding this option was no longer open
    We offered her great wines at a sensible price however in the end she chose to go down the route of paying g a corkage per head charge to bring her own drinks ! We also provided £100.00 of disposable glasses free of charge.
    - Anisha’s plans changed constantly as a result of the pandemic and we tried our best to accommodate throughout
    - a typical example of how flexible we were was to allow her Indian catering company use of our main kitchen to provide her food !
    Caterers usually bring their own kitchen / vans etc to prepare and serve food as we do not charge a commission !
    Unfortunately her harassed caterers spilt food and oil on my front door stone steps !
    What a hideous nightmare ! We have consulted with a top stonemasonary company to find a way of cleaning or worst case scenario replacing these steps
    We are awaiting a quote from them whereupon we will revert back to the bride for her comments
    Walton Castle is not merely a venue but also one of my homes so we all take great pride in keeping it beautiful and well kept as I’m sure you can all understand
    The damage deposit will be discussed once the damage that occurred at this wedding is assessed










  • P
    Pip
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The perfect location...

    Walton Castle, was for us, the perfect location for our wedding. We hired the Castle over the august bank holiday weekend and stretched our wedding celebrations out over four days which allowed us to really relax and spend lots of time with our friends and family. The Castle suited us perfectly – the swimming pool, party turret, bar room, croquet games inside the Castle grounds, rowdy rounders games & archery outside the castle made the place truly unforgettable. We would really like to thank the team up there, especially Franco and Neil, Franco for all his patience and helpful tips and Neil who was always on hand.

    Thanks so much for helping to make our wedding so special.

    Pip and Graham
  • M
    Matt
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic wedding

    Dear Franco Tracey & Neil
    We had a fantastic wedding day at Walton Castle. The venue was perfect and Neil did a great job.

    With thanks and best wishes
  • V
    Vashti
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Massive thank you

    ‘I just wanted to say a MASSIVE thank you to you and all the castle staff for the most amazing wedding. It was everything and so much more than we could have hoped for. The castle was perfect, the food by Seth’s Kitchen was delicious and everyone had a blast so all in all, a very successful wedding!
    We had the most fantastic time and will remember it forever. All our guests were amazed by Walton Castle and how beautiful it is.
    Finally, a big thank you for all your hard work in the months leading up to the day.’
  • G
    Georgina
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Wedding

    “We had such an amazing time thank you! The weather was perfect and all the staff were such a great help both before during and after. Thank you!

Badges

Walton Castle Real Weddings

  • Natalie & Robert
    177 photos · 10/07/2021

Map

Castle Road BS21 7AA Clevedon (Somerset)

Location of(Walton Castle)

Other suppliers in Somerset for your wedding

Wedding Venues