Wivenhoe House Verified Reviews

12 | Colchester (Essex)
View More Information

12 Reviews for Wivenhoe House

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • J

    Jade and Robin · Married on 30/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect day

    My husband and I got married here on the 30th June. We honestly couldn't have picked a better venue. We first visited this venue on a wedding open evening that they had, and it was incredibly busy. Yet, there was a member of staff on hand that could help and attend any questions/queries that we had. I'd spent a year planning our wedding, mainly with Katie Ballard. Her help and knowledge of wedding planning really was second to none. I'd never planned a wedding before so all of her help and guidance was very much appreciated. I had many visits to WHH throughout the year and each member of staff honestly couldn't do more for you. We did a menu tasting for our wedding day and was assisted by Ellie in the Brasserie. Her knowledge on all of the food options available was very impressive. The food was outstanding, we had 3 courses and 4 different dishes and each one was cooked and served to perfection. It's safe to say that Our wedding day was more than I could ever had imagined. It truly was perfect in every way and ran incredibly smoothly. Our guests also found the staff to be incredibly helpful and attentive, as they were helped with luggage, and allowing a few guests into their rooms a little earlier. I honestly couldn't recommend this venue enough. The house and grounds are breathtaking. And the staff are truly what make it the most wonderful, memorable experience.

    Sent on 15/08/2017
  • J

    Jackie and Terry · Married on 13/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Reception

    Thank you so much for all your help in arranging our beautiful wedding reception. Everybody loved the day and we’re very impressed with your staff. They were attentive and approachable. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Wivenhoe House to friends and family. We couldn’t be happier. The food was beautiful. We wish you all the best and thank you for all your patience. Hope to see you all again in the future.

    Sent on 15/08/2017
  • K

    Karen Wilson · Married on 17/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect!

    We booked Wivenhoe house bout a year before the wedding, we had amazing service from start to finish! Louise was responsive to all emails and incredibly helpful in sorting out all of the final details.

    The day ran incredibly smoothly, all of the staff were fantastic.

    Sent on 26/09/2016
  • L

    Lisa Drinkwater

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Review

    Ian and I would like to thank you and all the staff for making our day a fairy tale come true. It was an amazing day and everything was fantastic. Wivenhoe House is the most Beautiful place anyone could ever dream of and everyone worked so hard to make our day truly the best day of our lives.

    Sent on 01/02/2016
  • L

    Lisa

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Review

    Thank you for your kind comments we had an amazing day ... As I keep telling people best day ever !

    I would like to say thank you to the staff on the day especially yourself and the operational manager who I must say was phenomenal with a can do attitude that nothing we asked was to much trouble .

    Sent on 01/02/2016
  • D

    Debra

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Review

    We had the most amazing day, from start to finish. Your staff are simply some of the best I have come across in all the years I've been staying at hotels. The brasserie for lunch when we arrived, drinks in the evening with my cousins, breakfast on Saturday morning, all the wedding set up and beyond - all the staff were just fabulous. Friendly, helpful and welcoming. The stand-outs for me personally were the young lady who helped Irene and myself before you arrived - I can't remember her name but she's from the North East with dark hair. She was also around on Sunday morning. I did make a point of thanking her but please let your management staff know how much I appreciated her calmness and "can do" attitude. The other person worth a specific mention is Lionel. He was just fabulous, very calm, organised and practical with a great sense of humour. We couldn't have asked for better.

    Sent on 01/02/2016
  • T

    Tim Higgs

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Review

    A big thank you from myself and Paul. We had such a wonderful day, so a big thank you for being so attentive and looking after us on the day, you were brilliant!!! it all went off without a single hitch and everyone has commented on how beautiful the venue was, the staff being so friendly, kind, attentive and professional and also the food, which was excellent. We were thrilled with everything!

    Many many thanks again! We can’t be more pleased!

    Sent on 01/02/2016
  • J

    Jasmine Hill

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Review

    Thank you to you and your team for making our wedding day go so smoothly – we were really impressed by the professional attentiveness of the staff involved on the day, and of course all the hard work you put in on the run up. We both had a lovely day

    Sent on 01/02/2016
  • K

    Karen Mack

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted a smaller, more intimate wedding and were not sure we could find the perfect venue. We decided to look at Wivenhoe House as my husband attended Uni here and I grew up in a nearby village. The staff were amazing, very helpful with all the planning and communication was excellent. We were able to get everything we wanted to the venue early. Also we were able to arrange a pre visit with our photographer who came from out of the area. We were able to show him our room and all hotel areas which helped him get ideas for some amazing photos. We stayed the night before, our suite was palatial. On the day, guests arrived as did hair/make up/photographer and everyone was escorted to the right place at the right time. The ceremony, drinks reception and meal were equally seamless and the food was amazing. Again the service was fantastic. Many of us stayed overnight. We like to think we are well traveled and have experienced all different grades of hotels and venues. Everyone commented on the hotel and said, "what a great find". I'm sure we all think our wedding day was perfect. Ours was too with thanks to the staff and the setting at Wivenhoe House. I would really recommend the venue, it was stunning.

    Sent on 21/11/2014
  • S

    Samantha Church

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect day at Wivenhoe House, Colchester, Essex From the moment we made our first enquiry we knew that Wivenhoe House was going to make our wedding dreams a reality. We felt completely in safe hands by the team of wedding experts who actively listened to what we wanted for our special day and were able to offer us a bespoke package that surpassed even our high expectations of a venue. From organising hotel rooms, creating our own wedding breakfast menu and wine list, through to providing a stage for the band playing at our reception, the staff couldn't do enough to accommodate our wishes. Wivenhoe House is just stunning with its stylish decor and furnishings, alongside beautiful gardens and landscapes which made such a contrast in photography opportunities. When flicking through our wedding photos people always comment on how beautiful the hotel and grounds are at Wivenhoe House. Our family and friends continually say how much they enjoyed our perfect day, and how bowled over they were with the welcome and service they received from the staff throughout the entire day. In fact, one of my friends has booked Wivenhoe House for her forthcoming wedding, and my husband and I can't wait for our wedding anniversary as we've booked a weekend break at the hotel to celebrate. A big thank you to Wivenhoe House and all its fantastic staff for making the best day of my life a reality. I'd recommend the hotel in a heart beat for your special day.

    Sent on 21/11/2014