Weddings

Wentbridge House Hotel Reviews

Wentbridge House Hotel

Wentbridge House Hotel

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 247 reviews
View more information

247 reviews

Rating
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Badges

  • Luke
    Luke R. Married on 04/06/2021
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    *do not book this venue*

    Well, where do I start with this shocking business, awful staff & their disgusting behaviour.

    My fiancé & I booked our wedding date here for the 4th June 2021. We booked this date in 2017 (so pre-covid19). When the pandemic began we, like a lot of people underestimated the gravity of the situation and just how bad things would get & how long social restrictions would be in place. So in October 2020 we decided to arrange a meeting with the events manager Chloe Walker. At this meeting we expressed our concerns surrounding the pandemic and the ways it would likely affect our wedding day. We asked if we could postpone the date for 12 months (availability depending) so we could assure the wedding we had planned would be allowed to go ahead (with no restrictions on numbers, no social distancing requirements & preferably no compulsory face masks). This request was met with a complete lack of compassion or care for their customers and a blunt NO, followed by the excuse that "they are thinking about the business" (profits, not customer satisfaction). Now, I do understand this mentality, to a degree. They run a business, not a charity however, considering we had already paid them £3,000 and were asking to simply move our date (not cancel) they were set to loose nothing!

    I asked chloe what Wentbridge's suggestion was, what COULD they do for us. Chloe had to "ask the senior management" in the back office (which is brave of them). When she returned we were told that to move our date forward 12 months we would loose our initial deposit of £1,000 and would therefore be considered to have only paid £2,000 towards our final invoice. UNACCEPTABLE. the other "offer" they gave us was to essentially do nothing untill 8 weeks before the date and if the government said that our wedding could not go ahead then we would have the option to rearrange. We explained that we couldn't do this as it would likely incur huge financial loss to ourselves with other suppliers (as well as leave these other businesses in the dark). There would have also been the issue of my partners wedding dress which needed to be ordered, measured & fitted months before the wedding day. Their response to all this was essentially that it's not their problem. At this point, seeing that it looked like we would get nowhere with this business, in desperation, with my fiancé literally in tears now, I asked chloe what she would do if this was her wedding. She SHRUGGED her shoulders! This is how little this "family run" business cares about it's customers! 

    I have gone as far as to write a pleading letter on this matter to the company director & owner  Mr Geoffrey Page, in the hopes that he may not have even been aware that his business is being managed and operated like this & that he may be the only person at that place who actually does care. I recieved no reply.

    We eventually had to make the very difficult decision to cut our losses so as to not incur further loss through suppliers, dresses, suits etc. On the 17th November we issued a formal cancellation to chloe to which we expected to receive a reference number as per their own T&C's. We finally received this confirmation from Nicola Guest, the operations manager on the 24th November because Chloe didn't forward it! We ended up loosing the £3,000 that we had paid to them, as they refused to refund it!

    This whole situation has been handled by Wentbridge House Hotel in a completely irresponsible & unprofessional manner. There has been no compassion, understanding or even basic morality shown to us throughout. This is so disappointing because the building & grounds are stunning! They're just completely ruined by the owners, management & staff.
  • M
    Mr Married on 22/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Attention to detail was impeccable

    We recently visited Wentbridge House for the occasion of our daughter’s wedding! The day was perfect from beginning to end! The hotel staff were all polite and attentive and nothing was too much trouble! In fact the service was excellent throughout the day! Special thanks to Anthony who ensured the smooth running of events throughout the day and his attention to detail was impeccable! He truly is a real asset to the organisation! The hotel rooms were immaculate! Clean well furnished and very comfortable with everything you could possibly need. The food at the wedding breakfast,evening buffet and breakfast the next morning was all of the highest standard with service second to none! All in all a truly memorable day! We cannot thank the hotel enough and look forward to visiting…
  • S
    Sue Married on 15/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wow!

    Can I just say we had my daughters wedding at Wentbridge this week. we had the most perfect day. The venue and staff were fantastic and made sure that my daughter and son in laws day was the most perfect day ever. We also had a meal on the Thursday night and one of the staff, Babs couldn't do enough to help and was there for all our needs, she was also at breakfast on the Friday morning and again was fantastic - thank you so much. just to thank the staff for making my daughter and son in laws day so perfect can't thank you enough. Would recommend to anyone for your special day. Thanks again!
  • M
    Mr Married on 09/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Food

    Thank you, we really enjoyed our day! The food was amazing and people are still talking about it now!
  • N
    Nicola Married on 05/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fabulous wedding at Wentbridge House Hotel

    The staff were amazing, the food at the wedding breakfast was probably the best I have had and I have eaten in Michelin * restaurants. Everyone was so friendly and helpful and ensured that my day and breakfast went smoothly and couldn't do enough to help. I would definitely recommend this place.
    I do take grandma for afternoon tea and that is also fabulous especially with the new male version.
  • N
    Natalie Married on 20/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect from start to finish

    We had our wedding at Wentbridge House on Friday 20.09.19 and it it was absolutely perfect from start to finish.
    We would firstly like to thank Sophie, the wedding co-ordinator, who dealt with all our queries and helping plan. I probably messaged her a little too much on the run up to the wedding but nothing was ever too much trouble.
    Our Master of ceremonies Antony, absolutely made our wedding. The attention to detail was amazing and just his little extra touches. A few examples are; I didn't like the wine we had bought for the drinks package so he brought me an alternative everytime the drinks were poured. Our daughter didn’t like her melon (she’s a little funny with sauces, which was on the fruit) so he had her some garlic bread made, which she loved.
    We stayed over the night before and he came and introduced himself and helped us set up and he went out of his way to sort everything. We cannot thank him enough, he’s an absolute credit.
    Also the bar staff, the night before and the serving staff on the wedding were all brilliant, all very polite and attentive.
    Then there’s the hotel itself!! The grounds are beautiful, the food is absolutely out of this world. Everyone commented on the food, it was a big hit.
    We’ve stayed at Wentbridge a few times now and I love it everytime we come, my daughter keeps asking to come back!
    Thank you so much everyone! If I could give 10 stars I would!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 13/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Staff

    Thank you on behalf of us both for really making our day special. All the staff were amazing and the venue was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble. Everyone keep saying how amazing you all were. So thank you so much for making our day, one we will never forget.
  • J
    Jackie Married on 29/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Service

    I stayed the night before my wedding and had a free upgrade as it was my wedding. Beautiful room, beautiful service. Nothing too much trouble and everything was perfect from start to finish. I cannot recommend highly enough. Mine was only a small wedding but nevertheless I was made to feel very special. I would absolutely recommend.
  • K
    Kylie Married on 18/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Just beautiful

    We stayed here at the weekend for our friends wedding. What an absolute hidden gem this place is. Staff were super friendly, room was absolutely divine and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The wedding was perfect, I’m a vegetarian and they catered brilliantly for it. The breakfast was spot on too!
  • L
    Laura Married on 28/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our Wedding 28th July

    Wow!! What an absolutely stunning venue! I would highly recommend the Wentbridge as a Wedding Venue. We were extremely impressed with the help and support Nicola and the Wentbridge staff gave us during the process and on the day. We had our heart set on getting married outside but due to the weather, we ended up inside on the day. The Wentbridge made the room so intimate and it looked stunning. The master of ceremonies was extremely helpful on the day. He went above and beyond to ensure everything went to plan. The new bridal suite was absolutely stunning. The food was great and the outside courtyard was a nice area for guests to enjoy their drinks.

    Thank you for making our big day special.

    Laura and Bry