Skip to main content
Weddings

Weddings at St Chad's Reviews

Weddings at St Chad's

Weddings at St Chad's

Durham City, Durham
5.0 out of 5 rating, 20 reviews
More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
20 reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2023 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2022 Winner
  • Deborah
    Deborah C. Sent on 14/04/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Day Ever!

    We have attended many weddings, all beautiful, but for so many reasons this was literally the best day ever.
    The staff were very helpful, we were put at ease each time we called up with a stupid question or a pointless panic about something
    On the day, as well as in the run up, Darryl was amazing, the whole event (my daughter Amy’s wedding) flowed from start to finish, seamlessly!
    Darryl and his team took care of everything, he kept saying “trust me, it will be perfect” and it was.
    Couldn’t recommend this venue and it’s staff highly enough!

    Weddings at St Chad's's reply:

    Thank you so Much Deborah, we are over the moon you all had an amazing day! It has been lovely working alongside you all. Best wishes to the happy couple!
  • C
    Clare W. Sent on 18/05/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful day

    We had an amazing day for our wedding, thanks to Darryl and Lesley's help. They were so calm and professional before and during the day, and they really helped us to get a handle on how the day should run! The food was lovely, the staff were so friendly and helped everyone feel comfortable on the day. St Chad's jumped into action and found a replacement dessert when our gluten free cake was a disaster, nothing was too much trouble.

    We'd definitely recommend St Chad's as a venue!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • M
    Miss J. Sent on 11/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect venue

    As soon as we viewed the venue we knew. St chads looked perfect for our wedding. The courtyard in so beautiful it barely needs any extra decorations. Staff very easy to communicate with. Set up a beautiful table (and side tables) with genius little hacks to make it all look extra nice (such as found a nice box for the handfans to be displayed in). When the speaker system broke (after having worked that same morning) they found alternative speakers to use. Guests did not notice the problem. Already recommending St Chads to everyone.

    Weddings at St Chad's's reply:

    Thank you so much! We are so happy you all had a perfect day. We are sending you both lots of good wishes for your future together.

    Lesley & Darryl
  • Sarah
    Sarah M. Sent on 01/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue, stress free day

    We booked Chad's as our reception venue and couldn't recommend it more for anyone wanting a beautiful wedding. The venue is the perfect place for a wedding reception, and all our guests were commenting on the picturesque surroundings. The quad and the garden particularly were brilliant spaces. The organisers were so slick and professional in the lead up to the wedding, that planning was so easy. They even gave us some great ideas like having a picture slide show of our family and friends. On the day, Darryl was the image of a man in control of the day, to the extent that as the bride and groom, we could just enjoy the day. We are so happy we booked Chad's for our wedding.

    Weddings at St Chad's's reply:

    Hi Sarah,

    Thanks so much for this wonderful review, we were delighted to host your day here at Chad's. I'll pass on your fabulous feedback to the team.

    You were a pleasure to work with and we wish you all the best for your future!

    St Chad's Wedding Team xx
  • E
    Emily G. Sent on 28/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely amazing, cannot recommend highly enough!

    Our wedding day at St Chad's College was the best day of our lives. I honestly can't praise all the venue staff highly enough for everything! We were nervous about some of the elements of our wedding, but nothing was too much trouble for Sara, Darryl, Lesley and the team at Chad's - they were so responsive to all our queries and even let us pop into the venue (more than once!) to make sure everything would be ready.

    On the day itself, they took care of everything - liaising with suppliers to make sure the venue was beautifully decorated, ensuring all our guests were comfortable and were in the right place, making sure the evening band got in and set up OK - we didn't have to worry about a single thing and it all went without a hitch. The food was also excellent and the catering for guests with allergies and dietary requirements was great. Every single detail was attended to.

    St Chad's is an absolutely beautiful venue and in such an amazing location. All our guests loved it, we can't recommend it highly enough for anyone looking for a north east wedding. Thank you to all the staff at St Chad's college!

    Weddings at St Chad's's reply:

    Emily it has been a pleasure getting to know you both and we are thrilled you had the best day. Sending all good wishes to you both.
  • K
    Katherine Sent on 23/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    PERFECT day, gorgeous setting, incredible food, great staff

    Chads is such a beautiful venue, we loved every second of our day and the food was just incredible. We had asked for featherblade of beef for the meat main and if was just melt in your mouth! The choc brownie for dessert was divine. Our vegan (butternut squash dish) and veggie (veggie chilli) friends enjoyed their meals too.
    Staff were very helpful and accomodating. Tables were decorated just as we'd asked for in our diagram.
    (Teeny tiny downside is the toll charge to get dropped at the door if before 4pm. And the minibus drivers not willing/bale to drive to the door. ) But please don't let it put you off -there are work arounds!
    A wonderful venue, but all the more satisfying for being such a good price!!!

    Weddings at St Chad's's reply:

    Katherine we are so pleased you loved every second of your special day! It was a pleasure to be a part of your wedding and we wish you both well for your future together.
  • RomanticOrangeFlowers36178
    Kimberley S. Sent on 27/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect from start to finish

    Our wedding day was perfect right from the start. It was a very early start 6am and straight away the staff put me at ease and couldn’t do enough for me. We had plenty of space to get ready and we certainly didn’t feel rushed. We ordered a continental breakfast to the room and it was great.
    Everything went amazing at the church I finally married my sole mate!
    When we arrived back to Chads Daryl met us with a big smile and a congratulation. We were then given 5 minutes to gather our thoughts before going to see our guests.
    Even thought it rained pretty much all day we got the most incredible pictures inside of the Cassidy quad.
    Food was delicious and there wasn’t many empty plates left. Guests told us how nice it was too!
    Our whole day ran so smoothly leaving me and my husband to really enjoy every aspect of it.
    I can’t thank the staff enough for everything they did for us to make the most perfect day. It’s a day we will never forget.
    Sara for just taking over as wedding coordinator you did a great job and I’m so pleased we got to work with you.
    Again thank you so much Daryl and Sara for a perfect day.

    Weddings at St Chad's's reply:

    Thank you so much Kim; we are so glad you had the perfect day!
    It has been a pleasure to work with you both and we send all good wishes for your future together as Mr & Mrs!
  • K
    Kate B. Sent on 30/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unique venue

    We cannot recommend St Chad’s enough! If you are looking for a unique venue in the heart of Durham with character then this is the place for you! It's great how everything for the day is contained in one place but there are plenty of little rooms and the gardens for people to explore. The team here are so friendly and helpful as well, we had to worry about nothing on the day as they had it all sorted! Thank you so much again to the St Chad's team!

    Weddings at St Chad's's reply:

    It was a pleasure Kate, truly lovely working with you both and meeting your lovely family and friends on the day. We send our best wishes to you both!
  • C
    Chloe Sent on 08/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent venue with great service

    Great venue, fantastic food, excellent organisation and staff flexibility. We had the best day celebrating at St Chads

    Weddings at St Chad's's reply:

    We are so happy Chloe that your day was everything you had hoped! It has been lovely working with you and we send you both our good wishes.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message