Skip to main content
Weddings

The Mandolay Hotel Reviews

The Mandolay Hotel

The Mandolay Hotel

Guildford, Surrey
4.9 out of 5 rating, 27 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
27 reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Badges

  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 06/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved Every Second

    Thank you so much for everything you did for us. Our wedding was magical and we literally loved every second. For me, everyone getting on the dance floor with us for our first dance is a memory I’ll treasure. Wendy & Tom
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 06/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beyond Welcoming & Helpful

    Just wanted to take a moment to say thank you for all of your (and your teams) hard work in helping Matt & I with our wedding! We had such a fantastic time and our guests really enjoyed themselves! From the start of our wedding planning process the team at The Mandolay Hotel were beyond welcoming and helpful. We first came across them while trolling through the internet looking for local venues for our wedding, and when we found The Mandolay, we started to fall in love. They had a wedding fayre coming up and once we got there and had a look round and met the team, we couldn’t imagine getting married anywhere else. Tami was a delight to work with and made the whole process so fun and stress-free every step of the way! On the day we had a few vendor issues, but Tami and her team took it all in their stride and dealt with it professionally and quickly – you wouldn’t have known anything had happened! There are not enough words to express how grateful we are to everyone at The Mandolay for making our wedding more perfect than we could have ever hoped for! We would 100% recommend this venue to anyone!
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 06/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Forever Grateful

    Where do I even begin.....from the minute we booked the Mandolay as our wedding venue I knew we had made the right decision! The hotel is lovely the staff are amazing and the wedding was fantastic! I worked with Tami for about a year to plan the wedding and she completely saw my vision for the wedding and helped me every step of the way which I will be forever grateful for. I felt at great ease the whole day and had every faith that Tami and her team had everything under control. Everything was just perfect from the rooms at the hotel to the food and drinks. Leading up to the wedding as you can imagine I got very anxious and nervous about little details but Tami was very quick to put my mind at ease and assure me she had everything under control ( which she did) we used the DJ provided by the hotel as part of the package and he was amazing so lovely and the guests loved him! if your thinking of having your wedding at the Mandolay then go for it you won’t be disappointed and you will have the best day and if you’ve already booked your wedding at the Mandolay then I’m so jealous because I want to do it all over again!!! Thanks so much again to the Mandolay and especially to Tami for the most amazing wedding! Love the new Mr & Mrs James x
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 06/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Massive Thank You

    Hi Tami. We just wanted to say a massive thank you to you and all of the hotel staff. Everything was absolutely perfect and the staff were amazing. We also wanted to say a massive thank you to Adam and Theodora who were absolutely fantastic for the whole day. Thank you for everything you all did. The wedding was absolutely perfect and exactly what we had dreamed. You and the whole team have been amazing through the entire process and we would definitely recommend your services. Kind Regards, Ebony Howard
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 06/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Huge Thank You

    We just wanted to say a huge thank you to the whole team at The Mandolay Hotel for making our wedding day so special. We had an amazing day and all of our guests commented on how lovely both the venue and staff were.
    Thank you in particular to Charlotte the Senior Events Coordinator for helping to put together such a fabulous wedding reception at short notice. You did a wonderful job, the room looked gorgeous & certainly gave our guests the ‘wow’ factor.
    Also, we would like to say a special thank you to the excellent Banqueting Manager for ensuring our day went so smoothly. His attention to detail & friendly manner helped to created a lovely atmosphere. He really was fantastic & we are beyond grateful for his kindness & professionalism.
    The entire room was laid out beautifully, the food tasted amazing & the service provided was exceptional. All of the staff were polite & attentive, so please pass on our thanks to all of the team. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about celebrating their wedding in the heart of Guildford.
    We look forward to visiting The Mandolay Hotel again.
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 12/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I just wanted to send a quick email to say thank you! It was everything we wanted, intimate, private and relaxed. The staff were very helpful and kind. The food was amazing and we had lots of compliments! The breakfast was AMAZING and the room service was great! Massive thanks for all your help we will be back for our first anniversary hehe! Take care Mr and Mrs Deacon :) Xx
  • J
    Joanne Sent on 12/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The day was perfect from start to finish, it's as simple as that really. We always felt in complete control of events. The sales team gave us options and guidance, they listened to all of our requests and made good on every commitment. We chose our own menu, service style, timings, music choices, in fact everything we wanted. As a 'more mature' couple we were fairly settled on our choices anyway but the suggestions we received helped us to make the day even more memorable. There were things that we would not have dreamed of asking for (fish and chips, served in newspaper for one of my relatives. The idea started as a joke but turned into a spectacular high-point of the day). The service could not have been better, attentive without ever being overpowering. The staff could not have been more helpful and every single person seemed to have a smile on their face, a sign of a happy team. I can't think of a single thing that I would have changed, ours was a small wedding by modern standards, just 30 of us, it was the best day ever.
  • M
    Mark Sent on 12/09/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I would like to thank you and all your staff for the wonderful service on our special day everything went to plan and the buffet was very good especially the sausage rolls one of our guests got the recipe from the kitchen. You can be assured that we will be recommending the Mandolay hotel to our friends for the future. Thanks again, Mark and Eve.
  • T
    Tom Sent on 10/06/2018
    3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Not an Exclusive Venue as promised

    Throughout the planning process and execution we have had multiple problems with the Mandolay hotel.
    Firstly, when we originally booked the venue, Kathryn Austin was due to do the flowers, this then changed to another supplier called Floral Studios. The flowers from Floral Studios were substandard and the only saving grace was that we had Kathryn Austin doing the bridal bouquet.
    Secondly, we were assured that there would be no other wedding at the venue on the same day. This was not only incorrect but the Mandolay staff then asked me to pay the bill for the OTHER BRIDAL PARTY.
    When we complained a member of staff at the Mandolay hotel lied about us verbally abusing a member of staff so they would not compensate us about how the Mandolay Hotel had been missold to us.
    In addition, be warned that we made the Mandolay Hotel formally aware of a guest with allergic reactions, the hotel said that they would make an alternative meal for the guest, however, they proceeded to serve this guest food which they could not eat.
    In conclusion, I would not recommend this venue to anyone.

    The Mandolay Hotel's reply:

    Dear Tom & Grazi,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    I will not pretend to be anything other than personally upset by your comments, particularly given the glowing praise included in your thank you note which I received immediately following your big day.

    Each of the points raised in this review received an appropriate response at the time, a fact verified by Tom in his email of May 23rd ''thank you for looking into all of the points which we raised and for providing an answer and update on each one. Not all companies would do this and it is greatly appreciated.’’

    The wedding and events team worked exceptionally hard to deliver a great day and it is most upsetting to read these comments, particularly having received such fulsome praise from yourselves both on the day and subsequently.

    It is extremely rare to respond to a review so strongly but I am at a genuine loss to understand the motivation for your comments, especially in light of Tom’s emails.

    I would say that if you remain dissatisfied with any matter I would welcome the opportunity to meet you both as I would not wish you to harbour any feelings of discontent about your wedding day.
  • C
    Claire Sent on 10/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic

    Claire and I had an amazing wedding day, as it seems did all of our guests due to the phenomenal messages we have received.

    As you know we put our heart and soul into our wedding day, and we pleased that you and your team also felt you should go the extra mile for us.

    We have nothing but praise for all the staff at the Mandolay. Every single member of staff was attentive, helpful and friendly.

    Tami, you stepped in late in proceedings. This was a distressing time for Claire, but soon after meeting you she knew she was in capable hands. In fact you were much more responsive.

    As for your staff. We could see how hard they were all working on our wedding day. Their enthusiasm was apparent from the moment we arrived from Church - it seemed that our wedding had given them a boost. We were told how amazing the room looked compared to some of your weddings, and we felt that after what happened the day before everyone really stepped up.

    We would particularly like to thank Luke and Louis for their help with many operational elements. Dealing with my best men, can’t have been easy for any of you - but they spoke highly of the boys. The bars staff - all of them - were great. We even saw some of the bar staff dancing as they worked, which was lovely. Nobody complained at all about service, in fact the contrary - we have received compliments.

    We would also like to highlight the quality of the food - again we received many compliments about dinner and the buffet. The service was excellent. But we were very impressed on the day. Thanks to everyone from us both.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours