Skip to main content
Weddings

The Grand, York Reviews

The Grand, York

The Grand, York

York, North Yorkshire
5.0 out of 5 rating, 34 reviews
More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
34 reviews
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Badges

4 User photos

  • L
    Laura N. Sent on 22/02/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best day of our lives

    The Grand were nothing short of incredible, they made our dream day into a reality. We will never get over how incredible it was, Daisy’s suggestions really helped make our day what it was. All the staff were so amazing and lovely. It was a day we will never ever forget. 🤍
  • H
    Helen M. Sent on 05/02/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just wonderful!

    We had the most amazing intimate, small wedding here in January 2024. The Grand looks absolutely stunning at Christmas time with all the decorations. Everything was perfect, the staff (particularly the events team) are hugely attentive, the ceremony room was beautiful and our evening dining experience was fabulous. The hotel suite was really spacious for our 10 month old baby too. We would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of tying the knot here. Just superb!!

    The Grand, York's reply:

    Hi Helen and Kirsty

    Thank you so much for completing this and sharing your special day with us here at the Grand York we hope to welcome you all back soon

    Kindest Regards

    Yvette and the Wedding Team
  • C
    C&A B. Sent on 04/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Reception at The Grand

    Everyone at The Grand who made our wedding reception and stay so wonderful!

    We'd never stayed at The Grand before but had heard great things about it. All of our expectations were surpassed, we couldn't have asked for a better time there and were a little bit sad to leave. Everybody at The Grand made us feel really special throughout our stay. We also really appreciate the effort that went into organising and running our reception - we all enjoyed ourselves and loved the meal, and the room was beautiful.

    We'll definitely be back, we've already decided to return for our anniversary!

    The Grand, York's reply:

    Dear Abigail and Chris

    Thank you for your feedback which we have shared with the team, we were delighted to be a part of your special day and hope to welcome you back soon.

    Kindest Regards

    Yvette and the team at the Grand.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Emma
    Emma S. Sent on 09/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Magical Wedding at The Grand, York December 2023

    We had the most amazing wedding at The Grand on Sunday 3rd December 2023.
    The hotel is absolutely stunning, it was decorated so beautifully for Christmas. From the moment we walked in the hotel door we felt at home. Despite the hotel being so grand it has a beautiful cosy and warm feeling about it, and smells divine.
    Our bedroom suite was unbelievable, I was overcome with emotion when I walked in, completely overwhelmed by its stunning features…and the bath…wow, I felt so lucky to be staying in such a magnificent hotel.
    The suite was absolutely perfect for my bridal party and I to get ready in, there was so much space.
    The grand board room was absolutely wonderful for our ceremony and wedding breakfast, the tree by the window was simply magical. When I close my eyes I am back in that room and that's a memory il treasure forever.
    The staff were nothing but amazing from start to finish! All our guests on the day had any need they had catered for by the catering staff who were so attentive and so warm and friendly. How the room was set up was absolutely beautiful, and the turn arounds seamless.
    We can not thank The Grand enough, our families and I are so grateful to The Grand, it will hold a very special place in our hearts for an eternity.
    We want to do it all over again.
    Mr & Mrs Shackley

    The Grand, York's reply:

    Hi Emma and Mark

    Thank you so much for completing this as and when you have your photos, feel free to share the with us and we hope to welcome you all back soon

    Kindest Regards

    Yvette
  • C
    Charlotte L. Sent on 24/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply Outstanding

    Where to begin with the experience we had for our Wedding at The Grand.

    From our first visit to the Venue a year prior, to check-out after our Wedding stay the experience was faultless.

    The character and architecture of the Hotel itself is simply stunning, making it the perfect place for any occasion.

    Every member of staff we engaged with, both within the Events Team and Hotel Teams, provided faultless service and continually went above and beyond for us and the rest of our party. Both the Wedding area and Hotel bedrooms were immaculate. Additionally, the reception team kindly upgraded our bedroom us as part of our post-wedding stay at the Hotel.

    Our Wedding Co-ordinator Gail made the event simply magical. She supported us throughout the whole process, answered every question we had and removed all the stress in the run-up to the day. She is a star.

    The concierge and reception upon arrival were supportive and ensured all our bags and boxes for the Wedding were seamlessly moved to the storage area in readiness for the Wedding day.

    Throughout the day, every staff member provided a superior service making sure every guest was welcomed and attended to. A special mention to the doormen on the day and evening of the Wedding for supporting our elderly guests and providing company while they needed a moment of fresh air.

    I would recommend The Grand not only for a Wedding but for any occasion or stay!

    They simply couldn’t do enough for us.
  • A
    Angie Sent on 11/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I cannot tell you how fantastic the Grand Hotel ha

    You and everyone who were there for our weekend were absolutely brilliant.
    From the gorgeous men at the front doors, the reception staff, the staff at the event, the staff who kept coming to our rooms with gifts or messages etc. The Gentleman running the day was just lovely!! We can’t sing their praises enough. You made our day run so smooth. The food, the decor and absolutely everything was gorgeous.
    We came away with the best memories that we will treasure for life.
    You are part of a fabulous team of people and we want you to know that you are all very special to us. We won’t forget everything you did to make our day what it was.
    There is one thing however that we forgot on the day. We’d forgotten to buy a guest book and she got a lovely lady to pop into town to get one for us.

    We’d like to say a personal thank you as we didn’t get to see you.
    The feedback from our guests was fantastic. You all deserve some recognition for all your hard work. We’ll be back at the Grand in the new year for definite but for now take care and thank you once again.
  • B
    Benjamin Sent on 13/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Team!

    Dear Dream-Team, (Megan, James & Igor), Thank you so much for your incredibly hard work! You did a great job! Our wedding was everything and more than what we could have wished for. You really brought a very personal touch to everything. When we’re next in York we’ll pop into The Grand, for a drink to say hello! Again, thank you, you are all stars!
  • S
    Sophie Sent on 13/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Have your Wedding at The Grand, York!

    Me and my husband, Will, got married here on Saturday 3rd August this year and honestly we couldn’t have wished for a better day. Megan and James, thank you for going above and beyond and making our day better than we could have ever imagined! The only thing we wish we would change is how quick the day went - it started and ended far too quickly! If you are looking for a venue to get married in and have the tastiest Wedding Breakfast and the most fun evening do, have your Wedding at The Grand, York!
  • S
    Sadie Sent on 14/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Wedding at The Grand, York

    I would definitely recommend The Grand, York. The building is stunning, everywhere you look it’s just beautiful. The location and views over the York Minster are breath-taking. But it’s the staff that make this hotel the best in Yorkshire. From the doormen that open the door when you walk into the hotel to the waiting staff who couldn’t do enough to make sure everyone was enjoying their day. Not to mention the team that spent hours working with us to plan the event, Megan and James. Everyone always had a smile on their face. Thank you again!
  • E
    Emily Sent on 14/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our WOW Wedding at The Grand, York

    I would recommend The Grand, York to anyone, whether staying or for a wedding. Firstly, the venue is extraordinary and full of class and opulence. Secondly, everyone is friendly and wants to help you and make you feel the most important person. Our wedding was quite an intimate affair and yet Megan, James and the team made it feel like the most significant wedding they had ever held there. Plus, our dogs were part of the day and every member of staff loved them.

    In addition, Wayne the doorman really went above and beyond and felt like a family member by the end of our stay.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message