Merewood Country House Hotel Verified Reviews

15 | Lake District  (Cumbria)
View More Information

15 Reviews for Merewood Country House Hotel

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • J

    Joshua W. · Married on 10/07/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The BEST Wedding Weekend

    We were fortunate enough to be able to book to hotel for a 2021 July wedding (just before COVID restrictions ended unfortunately!). The first thing I will say, is that the Wedding Coordinator Helen is phenomenal. She took so much stress out of the process and literally gave us a step by step guide to our day. All through the day she was everywhere all at once it seemed and everything ran flawlessly! We booked the hotel out exclusively and  I would highly recommend this for that extra special touch to your wedding. We had the run of the place and it was brilliant, the only people there were your guests and there was no where that was out of bounds or had people simply going to dine for the evening. The hotel is dog friendly and the views are spectacular, we got some simply stunning wedding photos as a result of the views the hotel boasts. It was worth every penny for the best weekend my wife and I have ever had.

    Sent on 20/07/2021
  • R

    Roger · Married on 10/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was perfect

    Booked a 2 night 'just us' wedding package at the Merewood along with close family members. Cannot praise them enough. Everything was perfect for us both. The hotel itself is fabulous in a beautiful part of the Lakes. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Special mention must go to Helen the wedding planner. Helen went above and beyond to make our day a happy one. Thank you so much Helen from both myself and Joy. Special mention also to Mikey. Great guy. Great service. Again, thank you. All our family members were so happy with their rooms and restaurant. Our Bridal Suite (room number 2) was excellent. Food was also first class. Compliments to the chef for the Eggs Benedict at breakfast and the Lamb Henry at dinner. The lamb was a definite hit!! Definitely worth a return visit for a few nights rest and recuperation in such peaceful surroundings.  

    Sent on 14/09/2020

    Merewood Country House Hotel's reply:

    Dear Roger and Joy,

    On behalf of all the team here at Merewood and specially from Helen and Mikey I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback relating to your recent stay with us here in Windermere. I am glad to read that everything was to your liking and we are delighted to read you enjoyed our 'Just Us' Wedding package . I hope you will make plans for a returning visit on your first anniversary. Thank you once again.

    Ramon
    Assistant Manager
  • D

    Donna · Married on 29/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A special time made perfect

    We had the best few days of our lives at Merewood this week. The food was outstanding, as was the customer service, staff were simply amazing - nothing was too much trouble.

    Otto, was fantastic on the day, he has lovely people skills and also photography skills. We are thrilled with the photos he took for us and we will be forever grateful.

    Our families were as expected, shocked and nobody had guessed. They've all said how happy they are for us for finally getting around to tying the knot and think what we did was definitely the best way to get married. They thought the Merewood looked beautiful and could see why we chose to marry there.

    I know I keep saying it, but we had a very special time made perfect from all of yours and other staffs help and attitude. We've never came across such amazing staff at a hotel and made to feel so welcome and special.

    We will definitely be back for our anniversary next year - but might manage an autumn break before that.

    Sent on 23/09/2019
  • J

    Judith · Married on 15/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most perfect day with 5 star service

    Thank you so much for the 5-star service we received during our lovely wedding weekend. We had the most perfect day and wouldn’t want to change anything. Your caring, discreet service as well as the enthusiasm (particularly from Lucy!) to provide the best of everything was wonderful. We had a lovely time!

    Thank you again and we very much hope to come and stay again soon, if only to enjoy another of those afternoon teas. Please pass on our thanks to the rest of the hotel team who made the weekend so memorable.

    Sent on 23/09/2019
  • G

    Grace · Married on 30/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best decision I ever made.

    I got married at the Merewood Country House Hotel on the 30th March, I remember booking with them around 18 months ago and agree to this day it was the best decision we ever made.

    Helen and the team have been incredible for the entire time, we have been in constant contact with the team and Helen has ensured everything was arranged and I had nothing to worry about.

    The food at the Merewood was so beautifully done and the whole wedding party agreed. The wedding day couldn’t have ran any better and I didn’t have to worry about a thing and we truly believe this was down to Helen and the rest of the Merewood team!

    The dedication from the team really shone on Saturday and I have had endless comments off guests saying how helpful the team was.

    The Merewood is in a fantastic location with amazing views, it’s a beautiful place inside too. I would 100% recommend to Merewood to anyone looking forward to getting married as we truly believe it wouldn’t have been as good anywhere else.

    Sent on 16/04/2019
  • B

    Ben · Married on 02/03/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing staff and amazing location

    Last weekend we got married at the Merewood and it was the best day of our lives. A massive part of this was because of the Merewood and their fantastic staff. The location has the most amazing views, rooms and event space. Due to the outstanding nature of the hotel the photos that were taken on our damp wedding day came out beautifully. The reason we had such an amazing wedding day was due to the staff - they were faultless. Professionalism was shown at every stage of the process. They were fantastic at making our day everything that we wanted and gave amazing advice in the build-up to the wedding. Helen and Lucy were incredible in helping us plan the wedding and so helpful on the weekend of the wedding. The wedding day was effortless for us as the wedding team guided us through and was working so hard behind the scenes so we could just enjoy our day. We can’t say enough how incredible the staff were - it was the attention to detail that showed how professional each and everyone of them are. Little things like one of the waiting staff setting aside some canapés for my new wife and I while we here having photos taken to make sure we didn’t go hungry. On the topic of food, the wedding breakfast was some of the best food we have ever eaten and to provide such high-quality food for that many people was truly amazing. If you are thinking of getting married in The Lakes there is no better place to do it then the Merewood hotel and we have 120+ friends and family who will whole heartedly agree.
    Thank you again for making our Wedding day the best ever!

    Sent on 23/09/2019
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 28/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond anything we imagined

    Firstly, the hotel and grounds and general feel of the place is superb! It was beyond anything myself and David imagined. We have stayed in several hotels and The Merewood by far is best, most personable and just truly spectacular we have ever come across.  The staff, each and every member really take pride and enjoyment in their job, nothing was too much trouble. It was so clear you all wanted to make every person’s visit memorable. There wasn’t one member of staff whom I came across whom wasn’t fantastic! You are all such as asset and I think you should be paid millions of pounds! ?? 

    The setting/hotel, it just looked wonderful at all times, a real gem and one we will visit for years. The food ‘, every bit of food was something else, the menu choice, the presentation was all so thought out. The wedding meal was just excellent ‘, our family are all quite different in tastes but everyone has raved about the food! 

    Helen and the team on the day, you really made me feel so comfortable ( I actually forgot I wasn’t royalty and the bedroom wasn’t mine!) you allowed myself and our guests to completely relax, I really didn’t expect to feel so relaxed, but you did and it’s a memory I will have forever.

    Sent on 13/03/2019
  • P

    Paula · Married on 27/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing

    We had the pleasure of having our wedding here on the 27th February 2019 and what can I say amazing. From start to finish. Staff amazing, venue amazing. Magical stay, can’t wait to visit again xx

    Sent on 16/04/2019
  • J

    Julie · Married on 23/02/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A faultless beautiful hotel

    My daughter got married here on Saturday 23rd February 2019. Absolutely faultless. beautiful hotel, views breath-taking. the whole day was run by the wedding planner Helen and the amazing staff. Can't recommend it highly enough. All the stress and build up to the day was taken away from the minute we set foot inside the hotel. The staff are a credit to this hotel, each and every one of them

    Sent on 13/03/2019