Skip to main content
Weddings

Makeney Hall Hotel Reviews

Makeney Hall Hotel

Makeney Hall Hotel

Belper, Derbyshire
4.9 out of 5 rating, 21 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
21 reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

  • H
    Holly Sent on 10/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue

    We had a wonderful experience with Makeney from start to finish. They were responsive to emails leading up to the big day and we had a meeting prior to establish how everything would run.

    On the day the staff were fantastic (Lisa, Luke, Ben, Jade, Molly, Freya, Simone, Amy and Ben) with special thanks to Nicola the wedding co-ordinator who was absolutely incredible.

    So many people commented on the beauty of the venue, quality of food and how well organised the day was. We got married in the woodland gardens and the atmosphere and beauty of the service is something I will never forget.

    Thank you Makeney for making our wedding day spectacular.
  • Steve
    Steve G. Sent on 25/05/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    My wedding

    Absolutely amazing team at makeney i gave them a challenge with singer,violins,harpist,doves,casino,dj,8ft decorations and they surpassed my expectations and what I thought it would look like it was better and the timing around planning each moment it flowed seamlessly.the high standards and professional staff did a great job at helping each guest at every moment.and the food was delicious.thanks again from Mr & Mrs Godiff
  • J
    Jane S. Sent on 06/04/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Party

    Fabulous service and facilities for our wedding party. The rooms and food were great and everyone enjoyed the party.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Margaret
    Margaret W. Sent on 06/04/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Weekend

    We booked the hotel for the fully exclusive package so our rather large families could stay for the weekend. We had a lot of individual requirements for the food and sleeping set up for families. Makeney staff were great at looking after us. We had a brilliant wedding day and have some great memories from the day.
  • Bianca
    Bianca B. Sent on 18/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Woodland Setting & 5* Service

    A hidden gem and a must view for anyone getting married in Derbyshire and wants an intimate and cosy celebration with their nearest and dearest. The wedding team are incredible at what they do and bring everything together just perfectly and right on time. All I had to do on the day was wake up and walk down the aisle. I can't wait to go back for our anniversary.
  • Michael
    Michael F. Sent on 12/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great team at Makeney

    Extremely supportive, flexible and accommodating team in an exceptional location. We had a fantastic day, our preparation was eased by the competence and hard work of the Makeney staff

    Makeney Hall Hotel's reply:

    Hello Michael and Lulu
    Thank you for the lovely review we appreciate it very much and we are glad to hear you had such a fantastic day with us we enjoyed it so much, we wish you all the best for your future together
    All the team at Makeney Hall
  • L
    Lindsay H. Sent on 31/05/2022
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical wedding, just after after lockdown lifted

    Makeney hall staff were absolutely fantastic.
    It was 2 weeks after lockdown lifted but you wouldn’t have known. Beautiful Derbyshire setting. Really magical ceremony with the gentle patter of rain under the woodland canopy. Great quality food and plenty of it. Catered well for kaliegh in the evening. Perfect!
  • W
    Wedding Sent on 13/01/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful wedding venue

    We had our wedding and reception at this hotel and it was a great success. It's a beautiful old building, full of character, which is why we chose it. Katie was our wedding planner and she was great - really helpful and a pleasure to work with.

    Everybody loved the Lavinia Room which the wedding was held in. The wedding breakfast was held in the Conservatory and the room and tables looked absolutely beautiful. The food and service we received was excellent - we had lots of positive feedback from our guests on this. The portions were very generous and everyone felt very well looked after. All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

    Most of guests had refurbished rooms and have said they were great. We had the bridal suite, which has yet to be refurbished, but is beautiful anyway, is huge and has stunning views. The rooms were spotless and the beds really comfortable. We want to say a big thank you to Katie, Paul and all the staff who helped make it a wonderful occasion.
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 13/08/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Mr and Mrs Fowler

    Thankyou very much, the day went perfectly and we loved absolutely every minute of it!!

    From the ceremony to the neal and through to the evening everything was perfect! The master of ceremonies was a true gentleman and we cannot thank him enough for his support on our special day!!

    The staff were great, the room looked amazing and the food both day and evening buffet was absolutely superb!! Our bridal suite was fab and all our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay As well as the delicious breakfast the following morning!!

    My dad was really impressed with the service received and also how quick and well staff managed to turn the room around not once but 3 times during our day :) we truly had the most amazing day!!

    And to top it all the weather stayed with us and the grounds looked gorgeous and we were able to capture sone stunning photos :D

    From a very very happy newlywed couple :)
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 07/08/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    THEEE place to get married!

    I just want to say a massive thank you for all you have done for us. Our day couldn't have gone better! I rant and rave to everyone how Makeney Hall is THEEE place to get married. The views are stunning. The room... well I am lost for words. Everything is and was perfect. amazing even. I cant put it into words exactly what I want to say. My grattitude goes beyond thanks. The staff were perfect. Professional and outstanding!

    I highly recommend you and the hotel to everyone. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. And just what I needed after a full night of alcohol haha. As soon as I get the pictures back from Mark I will do you a little album to say thanks.

    Cheers! You're all bob on. Our day was amazing and one I will cherish forever.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours