Makeney Hall Country House Hotel Verified Reviews

14 | Belper (Derbyshire)
View More Information

14 Reviews for Makeney Hall Country House Hotel

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value for Money 4.9
  • Response time 4.9

Badges

  • W

    Wedding

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful wedding venue

    We had our wedding and reception at this hotel and it was a great success. It's a beautiful old building, full of character, which is why we chose it. Katie was our wedding planner and she was great - really helpful and a pleasure to work with.

    Everybody loved the Lavinia Room which the wedding was held in. The wedding breakfast was held in the Conservatory and the room and tables looked absolutely beautiful. The food and service we received was excellent - we had lots of positive feedback from our guests on this. The portions were very generous and everyone felt very well looked after. All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

    Most of guests had refurbished rooms and have said they were great. We had the bridal suite, which has yet to be refurbished, but is beautiful anyway, is huge and has stunning views. The rooms were spotless and the beds really comfortable. We want to say a big thank you to Katie, Paul and all the staff who helped make it a wonderful occasion.

    Sent on 13/01/2015
  • M

    Mr

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mr and Mrs Fowler

    Thankyou very much, the day went perfectly and we loved absolutely every minute of it!!

    From the ceremony to the neal and through to the evening everything was perfect! The master of ceremonies was a true gentleman and we cannot thank him enough for his support on our special day!!

    The staff were great, the room looked amazing and the food both day and evening buffet was absolutely superb!! Our bridal suite was fab and all our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay As well as the delicious breakfast the following morning!!

    My dad was really impressed with the service received and also how quick and well staff managed to turn the room around not once but 3 times during our day :) we truly had the most amazing day!!

    And to top it all the weather stayed with us and the grounds looked gorgeous and we were able to capture sone stunning photos :D

    From a very very happy newlywed couple :)

    Sent on 13/08/2014
  • M

    Mr

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    THEEE place to get married!

    I just want to say a massive thank you for all you have done for us. Our day couldn't have gone better! I rant and rave to everyone how Makeney Hall is THEEE place to get married. The views are stunning. The room... well I am lost for words. Everything is and was perfect. amazing even. I cant put it into words exactly what I want to say. My grattitude goes beyond thanks. The staff were perfect. Professional and outstanding!

    I highly recommend you and the hotel to everyone. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. And just what I needed after a full night of alcohol haha. As soon as I get the pictures back from Mark I will do you a little album to say thanks.

    Cheers! You're all bob on. Our day was amazing and one I will cherish forever.

    Sent on 07/08/2014
  • M

    Mr

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cloud 9!

    We're both wonderful thank you so much, still on cloud 9 after our wonderful day on Friday! Just off on Honeymoon in a few hours to Mexico, we're very much looking forward to some relaxation.

    Absolutely amazing day! Thank you so much to Liz, Paul & all the staff who made the venue so fabulous for us! Everyone has said nothing but positive things about the rooms, the food, the staff and our special day! Thank you again

    I can't speak highly enough of Paul & Liz who both kept me completely sane in the lead up to the wedding as well as on the day. Nothing was too much trouble for them despite me being a slight control freak!

    Sent on 07/08/2014
  • C

    Chris

    4.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value for Money:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Excellent wedding venue

    Our thanks to Kay, Vorchek I hope that is spelt correctly and the team at Makeney Hall for making our daughter & son-in-laws wedding a very special occasion from start to finish. From the initial meetings last year, to the last drink in the early hours of the morning following the wedding, they were first class, taking all the pressure off our shoulders and making it easy for us to relax and enjoy the day. Venue, service and food were all excellent with many guests commenting that it was the best wedding they had attended. Thanks again.

    Sent on 13/10/2009
  • C

    Colleen

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!

    Got ready, had civil ceremony and reception at Makeney on 11th September 2009. Had the most perfect day! Staff were wonderful and went out of the way to help at all points. The food was delicious and service very good. The grounds are beautiful, as are bridal suites. A Special thanks to Kay, the wedding coordinator and Martin Master of ceremonies, who both made the day run so smoothly. We can''t thank you enough!

    Sent on 06/10/2009
  • A

    Adele

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect day

    Wedding held on 5th sept 2009 at the beautiful makeney hall hotel.The day was amazing , food fantastic and every member of staff was polite and could not do enough to help . A massive thankyou to Kay the wedding coordinator for all her help and to vortec for making the day run so smoothly. We would recommend makeney hall to everyone as the perfect wedding setting.

    Sent on 09/09/2009
  • G

    Gary

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing

    Thank you Makeney for making the 15th March 2008 such a special day for us both, everything was spot on, Special thanks to Helen and Vortec for making our day extra special.

    Sent on 29/06/2008
  • L

    Lynsey

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect!!!

    We got married this year on the 5th of August and had an amazing day! Makeney Hall was a perfect venue and all the staff did everything they could to make our day special. The wedding co-ordinator, Helen Fairey was fantastic throughout and so were our Master of Ceremony, Tony and also Alaistair Massey. They were always on hand to talk us through everything and to make sure we were happy. It all ran so smoothly. All our guests are still talking about how wonderful the day was. A big thank you to all at Makeney Hall!

    Sent on 27/08/2007
  • B

    Becky

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Wedding Day - thanks loads to Makeney!

    We got married at the Makeney in November 2006. We held our wedding ceremony, our wedding breakfast and our evening reception all at the Hotel in the Milford Suite and the transformation of the room from one part of the day to the next was amazing - so smooth and trouble free. The Suite looked really beautiful for the ceremony and the local registrars are lovely. We had the most wonderful wedding day - truly magical with nothing going wrong. Our wedding co-ordinator, Lesley, was a total star and looked after us superbly. Anything we asked for, however small or large, they would do or try their very best to. Our MOC was lovely too. We cannot thank the staff enough for their help and support and looking after our families and friends. Definately recommend The Makeney as a first class venue for your celebrations.

    Sent on 20/02/2007