Weddings

Hyde House Reviews

Hyde House

Hyde House

Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 119 reviews
View more information

119 reviews

Rating
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Badges

  • A
    Agnes Married on 16/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stunning Truly Amazing

    From arrival to departure our stay was out of this world. Room was clean and the softest beds for a good sleep. Amazing Service at the bar and loved the decorations. All staff were friendly and helpful even saying hello when we met them in the corridor.
  • C
    Christine F. Married on 20/11/2021
    Rating 1.8 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    A wonderful wedding

    Our son and daughter in law had their wedding here, stunning location and the bedrooms superb. However the service at the wedding breakfast was very poor. Food cooked well and tasty but not very hot only a small dish of vegetables for a table of 10, when asked for more we were told there were no more. Then when we had finished our meal they asked if we would like more vegetables. Our son paid for half a bottle of wine per person, there were only two bottles on a table between 8 adults. The bride was the last person to be served her meal and then it had clingfilm in her meal. On the evening of the wedding the Manager who was duty told my son and daughter in law that the cost of the meal would be refunded because there were so many problems ( l have only listed a few) however since then they have only been offered £100, which is a very small amount considering the cost of the wedding. Some of the staff were excellent but many were hopeless. It is such a shame because with the location they could make it the perfect venue for a wedding. Even with all the problems the bride and groom are all their families and friends had a wonderful time.




  • L
    Lydia H. Married on 04/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Couldn’t be happier

    We had our wedding at Hyde House in October and had the most beautiful day. From start to finish, the Hyde House team have been fantastic in supporting us during the planning process, particularly during the period of uncertainty due to COVID; they even let us hold a second date in the diary for peace of mind. We couldn't fault the staff; everything was so well organised and the day ran seamlessly as a result. A huge thank you for making our wedding day so special. Would thoroughly recommend.
  • H
    Helle Married on 02/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our dream wedding

    My husband and I got married at Hyde House on 02.11.2019. The venue is perfect - so light, clean and idyllic. All of the staff - right from booking in a viewing - through to correspondence afterwards helped to make our day so special. Especially personal touches such as Matthew (who looked after us in the evening, after Emma who did a fantastic job looking after us in the day) helping calm my husband and give him some extra time before the speeches. All of the staff were fantastic and the food was incredible! I couldn't fault one single thing and wouldn't have changed anything about our day.
  • S
    Sandy Married on 17/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Parry wedding

    My son kane and his beautiful bride Sasha plus ALL guests had a wonderful Wedding day this Sunday June 17th .From the moment we all unpacked our bags until leaving we could not fault any of it .The rooms were excellent splotless and so comfy .The wedding reception rooms were beautifully arranged, The staff made it even more of a special day nothing was too much trouble from All of the waiters and waitresses but special thanks to Gary he worked all day, all evening and served and cleared away all the breakfasts with nothing but a cheery smile, so helpful.The food was delicious, atmosphere wonderful. Thank you for making it a very special day for us all ........mother of the groom
    Sandy Parry
  • G
    Gabrielle Married on 25/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful!

    We got married here in November and couldn’t of wished for a better day. The day was pretty much seamless from start to finish and all the worries and anxieties you have in the build up to a wedding were totally alleviated by staff. Guests were really complimentary about the family food and there was plenty of it to keep guests full throughout the day. Our only niggle was that the ceremony carpet was put out quite awkwardly meaning that our two bridesmaids tripped into the venue and the registrar & photographer were trying to discreetly iron it out during the ceremony. Overall a perfect day! Thank you!!
  • J
    Julie Married on 05/11/2017
    Rating 3 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Some positives but more negatives

    I was a guest at this venue, I took my elderly parents, older people are not catered for at all. The seating was poor, no organisation, unfriendly waiting staff. I was told this venue is booked a year or so in advance, in my opinion, it was not up to standard I would say it is average. The positives are the bedrooms are nice and breakfast good. Venue good but staffing poor, There seems to be a need for a member of staff to take charge. The fact no rooms available till after wedding finished is bad. There is no comfortable seating in the barn so nowhere for oldies to relax and chat. A lot of positives but more negatives. Not sure what the cost is for this venue but I thought the wedding food was just ok. Evening food was good.
  • J
    Jenette Married on 05/11/2017
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue poor Customer service

    My son & wife had their Wedding here on Bonfire night We had a fabulous day but also had a few issues. We have received no response to emails.We were not greeted on arrival to explain the order of the day which we expected. Numerous prospective couples were viewing the reception room while we were setting up & no staff member asked if was ok or apologised despite us having exclusive use.Guests arrived 30 mins before the ceremony & were directed by staff to the barn but staff refused them entry we had some elderly guests with mobility issues & so insisted they were allowed to be seated as it was so cold. The brides 90 year old father was told there was no room available for him to get changed in after travelling a great distance therefore he changed in the toilet not dignified or what you want on your daughters wedding day.The Ceremony was wonderful & we had live music but at the end of the ceremony all seating was removed & so nobody could sit & listen to the music instead we were all ushered into a small bar area with 1 table & about 10 chairs which was very noisy & over crowded no sofas easy chairs or comfort & the majority of guests had to stand.The Wedding breakfast was disappointing with soggy undercooked onion tart & belly pork that varied from perfect to burnt dessert was good the waiters were very serious.The Brides father unfortunately became very ill during the meal the staff were excellent at getting everybody into the bar area keeping things calm & serving hot drinks.Evening party was great.Hotel rooms were good but not ready until late afternoon breakfast superb location beautiful just poor customer care!
  • H
    Hayley Married on 27/10/2017
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Hyde house Halloween Wedding

    We decided to have our Halloween and autumn themed wedding at Hyde basically of the beautiful views of the countryside, the spacious reception/main room, the reasonable and affordable prices for what they were offering and loved that it was a blank canvas for us to decorate with our Halloween decorations. The positives I had throughout the process leading towards the wedding were that they the staff responding quickly to any emails I sent and gave good advice. The negative on the lead up was that I would speak to a different member of staff every time and they never knew the past conversations I had with the person before. This led to miscommunication which was frustrating and made the planning part more stressful. Also they agreed to some of the requests I made but when it came close to the date they had no recognition. I think they would benefit from one staff member dealing with each couple. When it came to the day it went very smoothly. The waiters, Barman and cleaning staff were all really great. Everything about the day was perfect. The venue looked amazing. I did not go with any of their suppliers just due to the theme I was having and wanted to do most of it myself. The food was great. Many of my guests said was one of the best wedding breakfast they ever had. The only issue with the food was when picking the options at the start of the planning. The menu is very nice but perhaps to rich or fussy for mine and my families liking so for that reason I wanted to give options so food doesn’t go to waste. However overall I am glad I chose this venue. The pictures are insanely good because of the view
  • M
    Mr Married on 16/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Lovely day...

    As soon as we saw Hyde House, we knew it was perfect for us... the house is gorgeous and so was the barn, a great size and feel. Being able to stay at the venue with close friends and family, as well as get married, all in the same place was important to us. The rooms were amazing, very well styled and everyone was comfortable. The team were so easy to work with when it came to answering my questions so I could figure out who I could put in which room!
    I loved all the little extras they had there too which we were available to use and they were just my style! I also found their recommendations a great help when choosing people to style the venue, photographer etc; it helps that they have a close relationship with different companies. Having the optional extra of getting married outside was also something that attracted us (even though the weather wasn’t quite on our side that day!)
    The team were lovely from start to finish.. always replied promptly to emails, listened to our ideas on what we wanted for our day and allowed us to make it reality. The day itself was run so smoothly.. everything ran on time and there was always someone around to ask for something if we needed, yet we didn’t feel like they were ‘in the way’.
    Lovely day, great venue and a great team!