Skip to main content
Weddings

De Vere Tortworth Court Reviews

De Vere Tortworth Court

De Vere Tortworth Court

Falfield, Gloucestershire
4.9 out of 5 rating, 52 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
52 reviews
98% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Badges

  • Mhinxylle
    Mhinxylle H. Sent on 04/04/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical wedding venue

    Me and my husband got married here last March 2024. It is worth every penny and we had the best experience planning our wedding from site visit up until the wedding. Polly was amazing, she did the tour during the site visit and she answered all our queries. It was a smooth transaction until we booked the venue. We were handed over to Eve who took care of us from meal tasting leading up to the final meeting. She was responsive to all of our queries, and had good communication with our suppliers. From the final meeting up to the wedding day, we were handed over to Elvis. My oh my he is heaven sent! I was not anxious nor stressed during my wedding day. He took care of everything. He was organized and very meticulous of which matches how I am as a bride, and so I was relaxed knowing that Elvis is there to take care of things. I can never forget that he always checks on us, if we need a drink etc. He is amazing! the wedding team in tortworth is amazing. For the brides/ couple:

    Food: 10/10- Generous portion, good selection, and impeccable taste. All our guests loved their food.
    Venue: 10/10- need I say more? We were married at the orangery and it was magical.
    Rooms: apart from our junior suite room, I also checked up on my guests and their rooms were clean and nice.
    Service: 9/10- The concierge were nice and accommodating.
    Wedding team: 10/10- Smooth sailing planning and transactions.
    Overall: 10/10. you get your money’s worth and more. Truly the best day of my life.
  • Steven
    Steven K. Sent on 26/03/2024
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A winter wedding in The Orangery - Fantastic venue and service

    My wife and I got married at De Vere Tortworth Court during February 2024. Our decision to go with the venue was made when we saw The Orangery for the first time - the architecture is stunning and it feels like a setting that is equally as beautiful during the day as it is lit up at night.

    We were also thrilled with the service that we received from Alex (Wedding Coordinator) and Elvis (Events Floor Manager) throughout the planning and on the wedding weekend. We couldn’t have asked anything more from both of them and were very grateful for the energy, friendliness, and attention to detail that they both brought. Their input made a big difference to our overall experience knowing that we had confidence in experienced and professional pairs of hands to help with any queries or arrangements.

    We would highly recommend The Orangery as a wedding venue, and Alex, Elvis, and the rest of the team at De Vere Tortworth Court.
  • N
    Natalie Sent on 27/08/2023
    3.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Magical Day

    The team at Tortworth were very responsive to emails. Once we got into our final year before the wedding we were allocated a person and they were very good at getting back to me prior to the wedding.

    Our coordinator went through our plan with us on three occasions in person and in the third meeting, we met our banqueting manager who would be with us on the day.

    The banqueting manager and coordinator checked in with us throughout the day and were attentive to us. Waiting staff were not so good with our guests however and we have since received some comments that staff were no willing to answer guests questions or serve them drinks during the wedding breakfast.

    We made wedding gift bags to go in guests rooms (who pre-booked through us), the team were helpful in putting these in rooms however two went missing which is obviously very disappointing as a lot of time and money was spent on creating these.

    The venue it’s self is beautiful however probably needs updating/ finishing touches touched up where it has become slightly worn out.

    Food was all good and we were happy with our menu choices.

    Day after, we collected all of our items without a problem. Cakes however were an issue. We had two dietary requirement cupcakes made and they were not brought out during the wedding (even when my husband asked about their location) and were only found when we then asked again the next day. We were given a wedding cake which was not ours, got it home only to realise and it was then swapped and they were apologetic.

    We loved our day however it has been a mixed experience which we thought we ought to share.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • S
    Cary Z. Sent on 01/06/2022
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Would recommend with some advice

    Not sure if the rush of weddings after Covid has affected previously good service however I was slightly disappointed with the service considering the hiring prices doubled since first contacting them in 2018.
    The original contact in the events team was very hard to deal with, frustrating to get information for everything they offer to be sent to me so I could decide on my budget. Would have loved to have properly sat down with someone to go over our options, was told as we did not want a full day wedding we could not have it over weekend so felt others (paying more money) prioritised over us and the date we wanted.
    After new coordinators were taken on the service did improve, very quick to respond to emails if you have as many questions as i did. Still there was very disjointed information coming from a newly employed team.
    Before signing make sure the location is right for what you want as they do have restrictions on decorations and some suppliers used would have been handy to know beforehand.
    Everyone we dealt with was very friendly, professional and eager to assist with any query. Word of advice if you are getting ready with lots of family at the hotel there is barely phone signal so unless everyone is on an online messenger it's hard to coordinate yourselves. The rooms are also very hard to find everyone was constantly lost, my hairdresser was very lost which delayed our timings.
    The rooms held for us our family found it very hard to get through on the phone to book them, constantly engaged, the deal is not much less than the online applause rate anyway. I would suggest everyone stay in the mansion section which seems to be leaps and bounds better than the courtyard rooms.
    They had weather contingencies to switch to in case of a turn of weather which make less stressful to know they can be quick to be flexible.
    For the meeting the day before I had assumed the day of coordinator Laz had been passed over our order sheet details however this did not seem to be used at all on the day and I would suggest couples to mention everything in the meeting again. We were missing quite a lot of items I had spent months creating, pulling together only for them to be executed incorrectly or be completely missing. Laz was also missing a lot of the time we maybe saw him twice in the day, didn't feel like we were being looked after as such, no check to ensure we were happy and that nothing was wrong we kept sending people off to find him.
    If you can afford it employ a professional coordinator and if not ensure you carefully go through everything you expect them to be doing. Also have your suppliers do the decorating as much as possible as they will pay a lot more attention to details.
    The service we had was disappointing compared to the rise in cost which makes it more expensive than sites who are dedicated to weddings and you have the whole site to yourself which for me does bring the value for money down.
  • T
    Tom F. Sent on 24/03/2022
    3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Really bad customer service, but nice venue

    After wedding about 5 people got double charged for their rooms, paid through booking.com and reception also charged. We discussed with reception and our card (paid for wedding) was charged for our room as well!

    Customer service with a lady who has now left was terrible, the call to finalise plans was given to us the day before the wedding with 2 hours notice so I couldn’t attend / listen and my partner had to rush it without full attention as sorting out last minute details.

    They also kept messing up the invoice/ menu choices and made changes without letting us know.

    The day itself went great, Laz was friendly, venue is very nice and the food was very good for wedding / mass catering.

    Would probably go through it again but shift any expectations of good customer service downwards so not disappointed.



  • Nicolaw91
    Nicola W. Sent on 02/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our dream day

    We had the best day, Laz and his team that look after you on the day are excellent! I wish we could do it all over again!
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 18/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you so much for making our day perfect

    A huge thank you to Abbie, Patrick and team. Their help
    and service was second to none and even our guests spoke to us afterwards complimenting on the team's
    service! Thank you so much for making our day perfect. We were also glad to be the hotel's first outdoor
    reception this year!
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 18/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you to the entire team at Tortworth

    We would like to say a massive thank you to the entire team at Tortworth for doing such a brilliant job with
    every aspect of our big day and we'd like to give a special mention to Abbie (our wedding
    coordinator) Laz and David, between the three of them, they really made our day run smoother than we
    could ever of imagined, so thank you ever so much for helping make our special day such a fantastic
    occasion
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 30/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10 out of 10!

    Abbie, Laz and Neil made our day very special. Laz was excellent on the day with dealing with any additional
    requirements and was always friendly and approachable. Both Laz and Neil ensured the day went off without
    a hitch. Abbie was incredibly thorough in our wedding planning and met every requirement we had. We
    have also had numerous guests advise us that they thought the food was outstanding, so would like to also
    recognise the kitchen staff. Our wedding at De Vere Tortworth Court was incredible and we have
    recommended the hotel to our friends and family. 10/10!
  • A
    Anonymous Sent on 30/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything went so smoothly, there was no stress.

    Sam and I would like to a huge thank you to Abbie and Laz for helping us through our wedding planning and
    for the operations on the day. Everything went so smoothly, there was no stress, everyone was
    accommodated and had a great time! Please pass on our thanks to the rest of the team that made it all
    happen.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message