Skip to main content
Weddings

Colwick Hall Hotel Reviews

Colwick Hall Hotel

Colwick Hall Hotel

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
4.9 out of 5 rating, 41 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
41 reviews
98% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Badges

  • S
    Sian S. Sent on 18/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent venue

    I got married here a few weeks ago and it was beautiful! Geetha and Sam in particular were wonderful to work with and incredibly helpful. The people working in the day we're also very professional and accommodating.
    The room we stayed in was huge and very clean. The restaurant there is very good too, excellent food and service, and not overly priced. It's located in a country park, so surrounded by trees, good for walks. The tram stop isn't too far away, but there's lots of parking as well.
  • M
    Marie Sent on 06/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything was perfect!

    I really can’t express how perfect our wedding at Colwick was! The team worked so hard, we’re so flexible and really went out of their way to ensure everything ran smoothly! Everything went perfectly, and they even managed to accommodate a number of last minute dietary requirements which we had not been told about prior to the day.
    I had a number of items to be set out, and instructions for the team to follow to get everything ready for the day, and it was all done to a T. The ballroom is beautiful, we stayed in the Byron suite which was HUGE and gorgeous and perfect for wedding morning preparations with plenty of room. The food was the best food I have personally ever had at a wedding, usually when catering for so many, the food can be rushed and a bit dry especially as we had chicken, but not here, all cooked and served to perfection. We had a lot to squeeze in to our wedding breakfast alloyed time, including 45 minutes of entertainment, but seemless, efficient service meant it all go off without a hitch. I can’t thank Colwick enough for making our wedding day so special!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • I
    Itsham M. Sent on 29/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lovely location, venue & friendly staff

    Booked the wedding
    Marquee around the back of the hotel as well as booking 2 different rooms within the hotel and everything was amazing! Geetha the wedding planner was awesome, she was so helpful and professional, she made sure we had everything set to make our wedding special, never had an issue with the organising and planning the day with her, brilliant communication with her and the staff. On the day the staff was very welcoming, really polite and kind to not just me and my wife but to all the guests also. Would definitely recommend using Colwick hall to stay over the night or for your special day.
  • M
    Mohammed M. Sent on 29/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    25th September 2023

    Wow, if i could give beyond 5 stars i really would! This venue accomodated for upto 350 guests for me and I am so glad I chose this venue! All my guests loved the venue, the marquee, the views etc. Geetha really did make it easy for us, her service was fantastic throughout!
  • Ellie
    Ellie P. Sent on 13/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unbelievably amazing!

    We had our wedding day on 23.07.23 and from booking to see Megan at Colwick hall up until leaving Colwick hall the morning after the wedding everything was outstanding!

    From booking Colwick hall to our actual day there was only 11 months, myself and my husband knew this was where we wanted to get married before looking or knowing anything about having a wedding there and we couldn’t be happier with the service, staff, everything!

    Megan is so helpful, quick to respond to emails about any question, big or small, from booking Colwick hall she made sure we had all the important things in place, met with us on several occasions, we live locally so came to visit the venue quite a lot to plan decorating and other things! She made the day so stress free in the lead up to it all, I was the most chilled out bride on the day which is saying a lot!

    On the actual day went perfect, Sam was absolutely amazing, she kept everything and everyone in order, put our minds at ease the day before going through the run of the day with us, the day ran so smoothly it was just utterly perfect!

    The food is amazing too, we’ve had food at Colwick hall before which is fab but the 3 course wedding breakfast must be one of the most complimented things on the day by our guests! We had dietary requirements in the day too which were attended too and the guest said the vegetarian options was amazing! We also had a guest with sensory issues and food touching, Colwick hall were fab in making sure every dish came out as they wanted without making a fuss about it, everything on separate dishes and plates!

    The grounds are just stunning, I’m so excited to get all our photos back as they’re just amazing with the scenery and grounds!

    Anyone looking to have a big fancy wedding or a small family wedding like us, Colwick hall does it all!! We wanted to keep the cost of our wedding low due to a short time planning on it but Colwick hall was worth every penny and more and so reasonable, they have so many options to cater to your day!

    Weeks later and guests are still saying how amazing our day was and how beautiful Colwick hall is!

    We can’t thank all the staff enough for making our day so special!🤍

    Colwick Hall Hotel's reply:

    Dear Mr & Mrs Millward, Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was our absolute pleasure to be part of your intimate and special day. The photos are beautiful, thank you for sending across. You were a dream for any Wedding Planner! We will share the feedback with all our team as it mean's a lot. We hope to see you again soon!
  • C
    Chloe H. Sent on 08/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wilderspin Wedding! Perfect from start to finish

    My husband and I, had our wedding at Colwick Hall on 20.05.2023. Here’s a break down of how it went…

    Initial show round - as soon as we arrived at Colwick, we knew this was the venue for us! The ballroom is beautiful and the grounds of Colwick Hall are stunning. You could feel the passion from the staff.

    Final details meeting - We had a great meeting with Megan, we discussed all the small details and we left the venue feeling relaxed and excited for our big day

    Night before the wedding - Sam came in on her day off (what a gem) - to run through all the details again and to check there was no changes! My bridesmaids and I then set up the ballroom the day before the wedding.

    Day of the wedding -
    - I was the most relaxed bride ever and I’m usually a stress head. I felt confident in the staff and the venue therefore I had no worries.
    - The food was incredible, great portions and the speed it was served was fantastic.
    - The staff decorated the wedding breakfast exactly how I asked as I did not hire a company to decorate.
    - The whole day felt relaxing and the staff were so friendly and attentive.
    - The rooms were clean and have so much character/charm.

    A big thank you to Sam, Hari, Akil & Pramod for all their hard work and efforts that day. We had the best day and our guests praised the food, venue and atmosphere that you all helped to create.

    And a special shout out to Matt their resident DJ (Discovery Entertainment) - he was fantastic! He listened to what we wanted and read the room perfectly!

    We can’t wait to visit Colwick Hall again in the future, thank you for making our big day so special!
  • S
    Simran Sent on 05/06/2023
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Venue - Terrible Service... Ruined Wedding Cake & Day

    Do not book wedding here!
    We got married here in the summer 2022 and had an extremely bad experience on the day.
    Colwick Hall sold us a dream prior to the wedding day, but never followed through on the day itself.
    Prior to booking with Colwick Hall, we were assured that we would be a priority throughout the day as often, other events are held at the same time, however on the day we were told they didn't have enough time as they were too busy helping with the other event, if we needed anything we’d have to do it all ourselves.
    They set up our cake table incorrectly which resulted in our cake table collapsing and our cake falling to the ground. This meant we were unable to cut our wedding cake on the day.
    We had an elderly guest fall over due to a health and safety breech. Prior to our guest falling, this was flagged to a member of the Colwick Hall staff, however the response was that they were again too busy to help.
    Given that we expected the temperatures on the day to be hot, we'd asked for the doors in the marquee to be kept open, this was not done. So when our guests arrived, the marquee was unbearably warm, we had a lot of complaints from our guests, especially those with young children. When we requested Colwick Hall to help with this, they told us to go to reception ourselves to solve the matter - not really possible when you're the couple getting married?
    We were told we had full use of the kitchen and the washing facilities on the day. We didn't want our guests to be using plastic glasses, and had already rented cocktail glasses, so wanted these to be used. When we ran out of the cocktail glasses, a staff member actively stopped us from using the washing facilities we were initially promised.

    After the wedding day, we did write to Colwick Hall to flag these points with the hope of resolving the issue. We never received a response with any responsibility or even an apology. Instead after several conversations with them, they offered us £150 (we had trusted them with our special day and already spent over £10k with them, plus our cake costed us close to £1,000). Finally after much battles, we caved and took the £150, however that was on the basis our original review was removed!! We’ve attempted to resolve the matter and speak to management, however they have continued to ignore our efforts to resolve the matter.

    I can appreciate things go wrong on such big events, however I am truly disappointed with how Colwick Hall handled the event on the day and how little responsibility they have taken through the conversations after. I would strongly recommend anyone who is looking at Colwick Hall to think twice about trusting them with such a special day.
  • Holly
    Holly Sent on 12/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing from start to finish

    Thank you so much to Colwick Hall for everything they have done for us for our wedding. From start to finish, nothing was too much trouble. Geetha in particular was an angel, so friendly and helpful with our endless list of questions.

    I stayed at the venue the night before the wedding and all of the staff were so accommodating. Our bedroom was absolutely incredible, a real wow factor and perfect for the bridal party getting ready with so much space plus different areas where we could do hair and make up. The lighting in the room is also gorgeous for photos.

    On the day the staff were phenomenal - efficient, fantastic attention to detail but also so reassuring, supporting us with our pre ceremony nerves and even helping with buttonholes! Thanks again Sam, you really go the extra mile.

    The room looked magnificent, the food was delicious, well presented, hot and Colwick were fantastic at catering for dietary requirements too, with our vegan and GF guests commenting how great the food was. Turnaround was fast and to perfection.

    Colwick were really accommodating to us, all our guests plus external suppliers.

    A million thank yous for helping us to create our perfect day.

    The Newtons xxx

    Colwick Hall Hotel's reply:

    Dear Mr & Mrs Newton,
    Thank you so much for the Hitched Review we're really grateful. Once again a huge congratulations from the team here at Colwick Hall Hotel and we're pleased you loved your special day as much as we did being part of it. Hopefully see you both again soon! x
  • Joe
    Joseph L. Sent on 24/03/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A perfect day

    The team at Colwick Hall were phenomenal. I can’t recommend them enough. It was everything we could have hoped and more. A perfect day!

    Colwick Hall Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review Joe we're so glad you both had a perfect day and it was amazing to be part of it. The photos are truly beautiful- wow!
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours