Weddings

Cockliffe Country House Reviews

Cockliffe Country House

Cockliffe Country House

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 74 reviews
View more information

74 reviews

Rating
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Badges

  • L
    Lucy G. Married on 21/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing wedding day

    Our wedding at Cockliffe Country House on Saturday 21st August 2021 was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. The staff were excellent, were always available when we needed and worked incredibly hard to ensure everything ran smoothly - we can’t thank them enough, especially Joanne and James. The whole day was really relaxed and all of our guests had a truly wonderful time, as did we. The food was excellent and everyone commented on how much they enjoyed it, the pizzas went down extremely well in the evening.
    Thank you so much for making our wedding a day to remember!
    Mr & Mrs Griffiths

    Cockliffe Country House's reply:

    Wow - thank you so much for your wonderful words! Mr & Mrs Griffiths, it was our absolute pleasure to be a part of your day, and so happy that you had the best day ever!

    Congratulations from Joanne, Andrea, Sacha & James & all the team at Cockliffe Country House!
  • M
    Mr Yakimoto Married on 30/07/2021
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Butchered a wedding

    From my understanding the venue is under new management so this is an up to date review and doesn't reflect upon the old management.
    Of ALL the formal or even informal events I've attended in my entire life this had to be the worst managed. It's as though they just left the bride and groom keys to the building and left them to themselves.
    People were arriving without a clue were to go without a staff member in sight, eventually a young girl was found and put on the bar but wedding guest arriving from 11am couldn't even get coffee or water, people were arriving parched from driving from all over the country to be told no coffee and I personally waited an hour to get a drink of water.
    By the time the wedding started there were still no staff around and no management, although more staff had arrived they were all young students and although nice they were not the calibre of experienced staff you would expect at a wedding.
    The food was supposed to be served at 3pm, it didn't even start coming out until 4.30 and the quality was shocking, the service shocking, no water on tables, no condiments, some tables waited 3hours for mains, 3hours! Vegetarians were given meat, vegans meat and dairy! The food itself awful, the beef definitely from the day before. Evening guest were arriving to the same horror as day guest with nowhere to go, no bar open, nowhere to sit, whole venue covered in empty dirty glasses that had been piling up all day. I could go on and on... Awful.
  • G
    Gareth Married on 29/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Nichola & Gareth's Wedding

    We got married at the Cockliffe Country House Hotel on Monday 29th October 2018 and had a truly wonderful experience. The staff, in particular, were excellent, so much so that we thanked them during the groom's speech. They worked tirelessly all day to ensure that everything ran smoothly and that the venue was kept clean and tidy. The whole day was very relaxed and a huge part of that was due to the excellent team. They were un-intrusive but always there when needed.
    We hired the whole venue and all our guests who stayed at the hotel loved the elegant, well-equipped rooms. The food, in particular, received high praise from everyone.
    Thanks, Cockliffe Team, you helped make our day one we will always remember.
    Mr and Mrs Baker
  • H
    Helen Married on 28/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Wedding Day

    Paul and I just wanted to say thanks for the fantastic wedding you gave us. The place looked amazing and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. All our guests commented on the excellent food and friendly staff. We are going to do a review on trip advisor saying all this. Many, many thanks to you all for making the day special from start to finish
    Helen and Paul Hastings
  • J
    Jo Married on 12/08/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding Venue of our dreams

    We wanted an intimate wedding venue and that is what you get with Cockliffe. All our guests were amazed at how we found it - a real gem. For us, with 50 guests in the day, it was ideal, as all our loved ones were able to spend it with us in this fantastic location. Sue Lees, wedding co-ordinator extrodinaire! We were not disappointed and would recommend this venue as a picturesque place to get married and have a wonderful reception with excellent food. Guests were delighted with the quirky rooms, not one the same. Had a day to remember and it went too quickly. Very envious of anyone who will get married there, wish i could do it all over again!
  • L
    Laura Married on 01/01/1999
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Emma & Paul's Wedding Day

    Saturday 8th August saw the wedding of Emma and Paul. With 76 guests during the day and 110 for the evening, they opted for a beautiful marquee in the grounds. They had a neutral coloured beach theme wedding with gorgeous hurricane lamps as center pieces and hay bales as additional outdoor seating.
    The beautiful weather, live music and real ales were the finishing touches to an amazing day.
  • L
    Laura
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Corrina and Emmas Wedding

    Saturday 2nd April saw the wedding of Corrina and Emma. Over 50 guests enjoyed a meal of Tomato and red pepper soup, 12hr braised beef and White chocolate cheesecake.
    With a Disney - Mickey and Minnie Mouse inspired theme running throughout, it was a wonderful day.
  • L
    Laura
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wendy & Vince wedding day

    Saturday 26th March saw the wedding of Wendy & Vince. With masks of the bride and groom for photographs, an enormous chocolate Easter egg wedding cake and a 'pimp my cupcake' stand, it was a Wedding not to be missed!
    The guests enjoyed a buffet for the wedding breakfast and finished the night with fish finger sandwiches
  • L
    Laura
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    KerryAnn & Neils Wedding

    A bright sunny good Friday saw the wedding of KerryAnn and Neil. With an Easter theme running through out and a beautiful peach colour on all the sashes.
    50 guests tucked into a combination of Ham hock terrine and tomato and red pepper soup, corn fed chicken breast and 12hr cooked beef not forgetting chocolate brownie!
    It was a fantastic day topped off with some impressive dance moves at night!
  • L
    Laura
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Laura & Lukes Wedding

    Our first wedding of the year was the lovely Laura and Luke, not forgetting baby Rufus! With Stormtroopers arriving as a surprise for the groom, it was a wedding full of laughs from before the ceremony even began!
    With over 50 day guests tucking into a wedding breakfast of ham hock terrine, 12hr cooked beef and Sticky Toffee Pudding. It was a lovely day enjoyed by all.