Borthwick Castle Verified Reviews

8 | Midlothian  (Lothian & Borders)
View More Information

8 Reviews for Borthwick Castle

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • T

    Tyler · Married on 25/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Venue

    What can we say about a wedding at Borthwick? It was perfect.

    We had almost no ideas when we set out to plan the wedding. Or a million ideas and nothing concrete. The moment we stepped inside Borthwick - the first venue on a list of many we were going to visit - we knew we’d get married there. We wanted a medieval castle that somehow both felt like a castle and like a luxury hotel; modern in the ways that mattered, but castle-y in every other possible way. Borthwick met that goal and then went way beyond it. The dining hall is spectacular. The ceremony space is gorgeous. Spending time on the lawn outside makes you feel like you’re in some kind of fantasy show.

    And what could we say to do justice to the service? Our coordinator at the castle - Amy - was simply flawless. Not only did she handle almost a year’s worth of our constant questioning and requests with absolute aplomb, but when there were issues on the day of the wedding, she would come to us with a solution already worked out. Amy is one of the most professional and capable people I have worked with in any capacity and we could not recommend her enough.

    We could go on. In the interest of space, we’ll just add that the chef’s team was absolutely phenomenal. We had *highly* bespoke requests and fantasized about a Michelin-quality dinner for our wedding. They delivered, and then some.

    Ten out of ten. Eleven out of ten, even! Absolutely fantastic job by everyone at Borthwick and we could not recommend them more strongly.

    Sent on 16/10/2019
  • C

    Chris · Married on 15/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stunning location, incredible team

    We got married at Borthwick in June 2019. It's a beautiful setting, inside and out, but the staff really put it above any other venue I've attended or worked at. From planning the wedding through to the execution and follow up, they were willing to help out with any and all tasks and provided an impeccable level of service, while simultaneously being amazingly accommodating. They even helped us get everyone home at the end of the night when the coach didn't turn up, including ferrying people in their own cars.

    The castle and its grounds are the perfect wedding venue - with the three-tier setup of the Garrison, State Room, Great Hall and Lawn, there are separate spaces for each element of the day which keeps things flowing and minimises setup stress. This was aided by every member of staff being polite, helpful and excellent at managing the guests. Decor in both the reception and bedrooms is stunning.

    The food is exceptional, the drinks selection excellent and both chef and catering manager very knowledgeable and accommodating. We had a selection of dietary requirements, all of which were taken in their stride, and they even created unique end-of-night food based on the story of our engagement.

    We genuinely couldn't have asked for a better experience, thank you.

    Sent on 17/09/2019
  • E

    Elaine · Married on 10/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Wedding Venue

    We got married at Borthwick 10th June 2019. The most special day in a breathtaking stunning perfect castle. Yvonne the wedding coordinator was incredible. Yvonne sorted everything for us from Flowers to wedding favours, She organised the Kilt Company to visit whilst we were there visiting the castle before. The cake and more. The food at the castle was first class, we all over indulged. the staff were wonderful so friendly and helpful. Our family and friends were all blown away with the wedding at the castle.

    Sent on 17/09/2019
  • S

    Shruti · Married on 12/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Superb wedding venue!!!

    In the moments we drove up from the church to our first step in the main hall, we knew Borthwick Castle was the place we wanted to get married. The venue offered us the elegance, authenticity and intimacy we wanted for our wedding day. Each room is breath-taking – unique and beautifully decorated.

    All the staff were professional, friendly and helpful at all times. We were looked after from when we made an enquiry to the day of the wedding. Northing was too much trouble at any time for anyone. Jamie our wedding co-ordinator in particular was outstanding. He worked very well with us to organise the wedding, and took care of everything on the day. We didn’t have to worry about a single thing, and could enjoy ourselves. We were also fortunate to work closely with the chefs to create a bespoke menu to cater for our Asian-Scot heritage. They were happy to accommodate all our dietary requests and requirements, and the food was excellent. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Thank you to everyone at Borthwick for our amazing day. There are not enough words to describe how you helped us have the wedding celebration we had always hoped for. We, our family and close friends have wonderful memories of our wedding day to cherish for years and years to come.

    Shruti & Adnan married 12th January 2019 at Borthwick Castle

    Sent on 17/09/2019
  • J

    Julia · Married on 01/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow, Wow, Wow......and Wow.

    We had our wedding here on the 1st December 2018 and from the moment we first made contact with Borthwick Castle to arrange the event we were not disappointed. Yvonne and the team were first class. Nothing was too much trouble for the team, we had the information we needed right from the start to make this day special. The food tasting was amazing and the team were very accommodating when we wanted to visit the Castle to look at the rooms and run through the schedule of the day. On the day of our wedding we were made to feel very special, nothing was too much trouble, the guests were blown away with the Castle and the food and staff were wonderful, this was everything we wanted out of our special day. Life is about creating memories and we have plenty of memories of this day to last us a lifetime. Thank you Borthwick Castle for everything.

    Sent on 17/09/2019
  • K

    Kenneth · Married on 13/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical Wedding at Borthwick Castle.

    Lisanne and I have just returned to the Netherlands from our magical wedding at Borthwick Castle. Jamie and Amy done such a wonderful job, we couldn't have wished for a better day. The guests loved the castle and rooms just as much as we did, the food was absolutely delicious and the piper was excellent and I'm sure Borthwick will be receiving a lot more guests from The Netherlands in the near future. No doubt we will be back.

    Our thanks to everyone at Borthwick Castle for the wonderful experience.

    Fantastic job!!!

    Kind regards,
    Kenneth and Lisanne Stewart

    P.S. An extra thank you for saving the day when one of our guests turned up without his kilt. We really appreciate the last minute shopping run Jamie done to get him a replacement kilt in time for the ceremony.

    Sent on 26/04/2018

    Borthwick Castle's reply:

    Hi Kenneth and Lisanne,

    It was an absolute pleasure to make both your dreams a reality and be part of your journey, planning your perfect day!!
    Both myself and the rest of the team wish you and your family well, and we would all be delighted to welcome you back to the castle in the near future.

    Kind Regards,
    Jamie Neil
    Event and Sales Coordinator
  • L

    Lorraine · Married on 12/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Why did you not make us book 3 nights.

    Carl and I are wanted to thank you and the team again for making our wedding beyond perfect. Jamie, Amy, Kieran were wonderful and nothing but nothing was too much trouble. Please pass our thanks to Chef, the food was stunning and every guest has mentioned how fabulous the food and wines were. My only criticism, why didn’t you make us book 3 nights ??. We loved every minute of our stay at Borthwick and really look forward to returning.

    Our very best wishes and deepest thanks.

    Lorraine & Carl
    X

    Sent on 26/04/2018

    Borthwick Castle's reply:

    Dear Lorraine and Carl,

    Thank you for your lovely review.
    It was a great pleasure to work alongside you in planning your dream day!!

    Myself and the team wish you all the best for the future, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Kind Regards,
    Jamie Neil
    Event and Sales Coordinator
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 05/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect location for a Scottish castle wedding

    We had our wedding at Borthwick Castle in September of 2017, and I still think about it just about every day! It was the most magical day and one of the most beautiful places I've ever been.

    The renovation they recently underwent is incredible, and all of the rooms look amazing. They managed to make everything feel new, while still looking appropriate in the setting. So many castles we visited in Scotland are beautiful on the outside, but on the inside they look like 80s hotels. Borthwick castle makes you feel like true royalty while you're there.

    The staff is also incredible, and work tirelessly to make sure all of your needs are taken care of. The icing on the cake was when we headed out on our coach the day after the wedding, and the entire staff waved us off. We all felt like we were Lords and Ladies in Downton Abbey!

    I could go on forever, but just do yourself a favor and book Borthwick!

    Sent on 27/06/2018

    Borthwick Castle's reply:

    Dear Jillian and Matt

    Thank you for your lovely review and kind words.

    Both myself and the team were delighted to receive your review. It was also a pleasure to assist you in planning your big day!

    I hope to welcome you and Matt back to the castle in the near future.

    Kindest Regards,
    Jamie