Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel Verified Reviews

170 | Colchester (Essex)
View More Information

170 Reviews for Best Western Rose and Crown Hotel

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • M

    Marie · Married on 23/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Party

    We got married on the quiet in September, but wanted to have a celebration party which we booked at the Rose & Crown for November.

    Myself and my husband made the right choice in choosing the Rose & Crown, as all of the staff were extremely helpful and polite and the evening was just as we wanted it to be.

    The feedback from our guests was was very positive and they all enjoyed themselves. They loved the venue and the history of the Rose & Crown and the food was delicious.

    We enjoyed it so much, that I suggested to have our works Christmas lunch here in December and it's been booked.

    I cannot give any negative points about the Rose & Crown or the staff and I would certainly recommend any future brides to definitely take a look, you will not be disappointed.

    Thank you all.

    Sent on 24/12/2019
  • T

    Toni · Married on 19/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding Day

    My husband and I cannot fault anything during our wedding day at the Rose & Crown, Colchester. From booking our special day right through to the day itself Lisa and the whole team went above and beyond.
    The day itself was simply perfect! Everything ran smoothly and nothing was too much trouble. Sian was absolutely amazing and worked tirelessly the whole day.
    We simply cannot thank them all enough for everything they done for us, our day was truly magically in a beautiful setting.
    Thank you all so much
    Mr & Mrs Wilson

    Sent on 24/12/2019
  • M

    Mr · Married on 16/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big Thank You

    We wanted to say a big thank you to Lisa and the team at the rose and crown for helping us to have such a wonderful wedding day. Right from the start Lisa has been great at answering all of our many questions and helping us through all our deliberations! You can tell that the team are very experienced at hosting weddings as nothing was too much to ask and every detail had been considered. On the day everything went very smoothly, the rose suite looked stunning and the food was absolutely lovely. All our guests commented on the lovely food and had a wonderful time. We cannot fault the rose and crown at all. We just wish we could do it all over again! Mr and Mrs Joseph

    Sent on 24/12/2019
  • C

    Chris · Married on 26/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All done in 8 weeks

    Lisa and the team at the Best Western Rose & Crown Hotel, Colchester were, quite simply amazing.

    We only had 8 weeks to plan and organise our wedding however, from the initial enquiry, right up to our wedding day, Lisa was nothing short of fantastic. She made the whole process easy and was very understanding about some of the special requirements that we had in order to cater for the particular dietary and other needs of both myself and our guests. She also made some great suggestions to improve the Reception and ensured that everything went well on the day.

    The staff who served us on the day, led by Toni and Johanna, were brilliant and did everything they could to make the day the success that it clearly was. Not one guest had any complaint however, everyone commented on what a great time that they’d had, the quality of the food and how helpful they’d found the staff to be.

    We would recommend this venue to anyone; they are at the top of their game and did everything that they possibly could to make our special day the success that it was.

    Sent on 05/11/2019
  • V

    Vicky · Married on 10/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an absolutely fabulous day

    We had an absolutely fabulous day. The venue is a beautiful Tudor building and it had a lovely atmosphere. The honeymoon suite was spacious and comfortable.

    The day was perfect and went almost without a hitch. The staff made sure the day ran smoothly. The staff were friendly and helpful and we felt perfectly at ease throughout the day.

    The food was also very good. I received many comments about how good the food was from guests following the meal.

    We had been concerned about where to take photos, however, a garden opened at the venue during the summer and was perfect for wedding shots.

    Lisa and her team at the Rose and Crown were wonderful and it turned out to be a perfect day.

    Thank you to everyone who helped make it so. We would recommend the venue to anyone looking to get married there.

    Sent on 05/11/2019
  • M

    Mr · Married on 14/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you for a very Special Day

    Dear Lisa and all the staff at The Rose & Crown Hotel.

    Thank you for a very Special Day 14/9/19 we will never forget it, everything was perfect.

    The weather was wonderful, photos in the Garden perfect not a single problem or complaint, never known anything to go so smoothly.

    Many thanks
    Mr & Mrs P Haselton

    Sent on 05/11/2019
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 07/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you

    I first visited the venue in May. I was highly impressed by the neat and tidy environment as well as the pleasantness of the staff.
    Lisa talked us through the wedding and what we will need as well as the options we can have.
    Fast forward to the penultimate day, event room set up with guest names laid ....all set.

    The day! We had guests from Denmark and Iceland (Per is from Denmark). All guests had nothing but great comments about the service they received. I had access to the bride's room as early as 9 am for a 12.30 wedding.
    The staff all bent over backwards to help us.
    The food! I initially wasn't happy that we couldn't mix the selection,but hey,the food was of high quality and great standard. The gluten frees and vegetarians were well catered for.
    Per feels that we got more/better service than we paid for!

    I have no hesitation in recommending the Best Western Rose and Crown in Colchester.

    Crystal & Per

    Sent on 05/11/2019
  • P

    Peter · Married on 30/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Making our special day extra special

    I can not give Lisa and her fantastic team enough praise for making our special day extra special.
    Everything from the Friday night when we checked in up to the Sunday morning was done with professionalism and a lovely touch of Lisa's humour.
    The venue itself is perfect for an all inclusive wedding package. Fantastic food and all from waiting staff to bar staff were brilliant.
    Huge thank you to All at the Rose and Crown. Fully recommend. If you're considering a venue for your wedding you will not get better.
    Thank you
    Pete and Julie HOOPER

    Sent on 05/11/2019
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 30/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Every last detail was perfect

    Just a quick note to say thank you so much for all your hard work in making our wedding the best day of our lives. It would not have been possible without you all.

    Every last detail was perfect and there was not 1 little hiccup!! All of our guests had a wonderful time and couldn’t praise the venue enough.
    It was so lovely to see it all come together so beautifully on the day – and that is all down to you guys – thank you so much again!

    Best wishes, Caroline and Dave (The Mckoy’s)! x”

    Sent on 05/11/2019
  • T

    Terence · Married on 25/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Diamond Party

    Barbara and I were very pleased with the catering, the venue and the whole arrangements for our Diamond Wedding party.
    We wish to thank Lisa Grantham and all the staff for making the day really memorable.

    Sent on 05/11/2019