Weddings

Trunkwell House Reviews

Trunkwell House

Trunkwell House

Reading, Berkshire
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 146 reviews
View more information

146 reviews

Rating
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Badges

  • R
    Carly S. Married on 27/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing amazing

    Best day ever amazing team beautiful venue i loved it! I’d love to go back and do it all over again.
  • M
    Mr Married on 22/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mr & Mrs Melita

    Hi Hannah
    Yes settling in well, just feels very weird at the moment.
    We had such an amazing day with thanks to you guys there. You have just been amazing from the start right up until the end. Nothing was too much effort for you. All our guests said it was the best wedding they have been too! And how amazing the venue and staff were! From the bottom of our hearts we thank you so much for everything you have done for us. You truly are one in a million.
    We have made so many friends from our wedding too. And if it's ok we would love to pop in and see you after our honeymoon? (Obviously book a slot to see you!)
    We will be poping a review up in the next few days too??.
    Thank you again. Words can't express how grateful we are. you are amazing!!
    See you soon
    Mr and Mrs Melita.
  • D
    Dilwar Married on 05/08/2018
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Avoid at all costs

    Only writing this to avert anyone else from making the mistake of booking this venue for their wedding like I did. As soon as they have your deposit they will lose complete interest in providing any kind of service. We hired the marquee for a summer wedding. The marquee linen was disgustingly dirty and the flooring is like a springboard which completely destroyed our wedding cake. The venue has no running water which we and our catering team were not informed of. The portable toilets they provide ran out of water halfway through the event which i am told has happened on previous occasions and yet has not been resolved. This left my quests unable to flush the toilets or wash their hands. On top of the sorry state the venue was in, it turns out they had another wedding in the venue two day's before and hadn't cleared up which meant they were cleaning well into the start of our wedding. I had raised my concerns with the venue months before the wedding but to no avail. This was a once in a lifetime event for me and my wife and Trunkwell House royally messed it up. Their response to all the issues is that they were not aware or guests hadn't approached them to complain which in someways would be fair had it not been for the fact staff were nowhere to be seen on the day. My advise to anyone considering this venue is STAY AWAYYYYY.

    Trunkwell House's reply:

    Dear Dilwar, We have already replied to all the queries that have been mentioned above and would like to re-iterate again. We dry hired the venue and we request the caterers to come and see the venue and facilities which was sadly not done. When the company were setting up your cake my operations manager did actually notice that it hadn’t been put together properly and commented on this because they hadn’t aligned the internal dowels correctly so this is another thing that we couldn’t control. It is unfair to say that we had no interest in your concerns as you emailed me previously and I came straight back to you. You wanted bedrooms the night prior but these weren’t available and you also wasn’t happy with your booking. There weren’t any issues reported with the toilets and there was also staff tidying these and the water was working fine. We have never had previous issues with the toilets so I’m not sure what the decorators would be referring too. The guests weren’t directed to the house because no one told us there was an issue with the toilets. Any venue have would have back to back weddings and all was done to keep the venue ready for your wedding.
  • L
    Laura Married on 23/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Laura & Andy

    Hi Hannah,

    I just wanted to say thanks again to you, Tony, Hannah and the rest of the team for making Saturday such an amazing day. We had the best day, it was everything we wanted and we really couldn't have asked for anything more. We really appreciate the effort you all put into making it such a perfect day for us. I've left reviews on your Facebook and trip advisor pages, bit just wanted to drop you a personal note to say thanks too.

    Laura & Andy
  • M
    Mr Married on 27/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Venue

    Hi Hannah & Tony,

    Hope you’re well.
    Apologies for the delay but we just wanted to say thank you so so much for everything in the run up to the wedding, on the day and the following morning.
    We had the best day and couldn’t have asked for anything more. You even booked the weather in for us! haha
    Trunkwell is such a beautiful venue and you made our day just perfect. We will never be able to thank you enough for that.

    Mr & Mrs Mowzcan
  • M
    Mr Married on 19/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Day

    Hi Hannah, and team.

    I just want to say a massive thank you for making our day the best day of our lives.

    We had such a fantastic time, everyone commented on how great everything was from the food to the layout. We really couldn’t have asked for more.

    I wish I could do it all over again.

    You are all amazing and we can’t thank you enough.

    Lots of love Mr and Mrs Hems.
  • M
    Mr Married on 21/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank you

    Hey Hannah
    Just want to say a massive thank you for everything you have done for us!! Saturday was amazing, everyone said how it was the best wedding they had ever been too. The day was everything and more than me and Jack could have ever asked for :) I wish we could do it all again this weekend. All of your hard work didn't go unnoticed, so thank you! Evie is still talking about you too :)
    Thank you again
    Zoe Hooper (trying to get used to that still haha)
  • M
    Mr Married on 06/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Day

    Hello there,

    It was the most amazing day! It honestly was the best day of our lives! We just want to do it all over again- haha.

    Thanks so much for all that you have done and making everything so simple and easy. You were amazing!!

    Naomi and Daniel
  • K
    Karen Married on 10/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stepdaughter wedding

    Hello Tony and your team. I would just like to say what a absolutely wonderful day we had at Sam and Dan’s wedding on the 10th of March 2018.
    Everything about the day was fantastic. Your team worked very hard to make all our day special which you did. Thank you so much...
  • R
    Rachel Married on 22/04/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Berkshires Best kept Secret...Stunning

    Getting married in April 2011 was always going to raise comparisons, but it has been commented to be ‘the wedding of the year’ this was due to a number of different elements, one of which was not only Trunkwell House, but the staff and organisation there. We loved the look on Trunkwell House when ploughing through the numerous wedding venues online, and when we saw it, it was as if our dream wedding was appearing in front of our eyes. The picture perfect frontage and its beautiful lawn was the ideal setting for the purpose build marquee where the magic would take place. In this we opted for the blue starlit ceiling and the white starlit dance floor, which glistened throughout the day and into the evening, keeping the kids and some of the adulated entertained! It was simply stunning. Being that it was an April wedding we could not have predicted the weather, Trunkwell shone in the sun which we where lucky to get, however it still would have sparkled in the rain. Steph and her team really did bring a sense of calm to the day with everything running smoothly and every single guest looked after. During the planning process Steph made us feel like we were the only couple getting married at Trunkwell, she was very personal and was always prompt to reply to any questioned we asked. The food which we were served was mouth watering good, and all the guests commented on the superb flavour. So many people asked where we found Trunkwell – it really is Berkshire’s best kept secret.