Tissington Hall Verified Reviews

37 | Ashbourne (Derbyshire)
View More Information

37 Reviews for Tissington Hall

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

54 User photos

  • R

    Rachael M. · Married on 10/08/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful venue, wonderful staff and communication

    My new husband and I cannot recommend Tissington Hall highly enough! Our experience from our first viewing of the hall in March 2020 to our wedding in August 2021 was outstanding. The hall itself is beautiful and whilst being a wedding venue the fact that it is still a family home shines through, making it all the more special. Lady Fiona, Sir Richard and all the Tissington team made us feel welcome guests, before, during and after our wedding.

    We had numerous meetings with Fiona over Zoom, WhatsApp and via phone calls. We were planning our wedding during the uncertainty of Covid and she reassured us at every turn that if it was in her power she would get us married in 2021! The flexibility and kindness that was shown to us was remarkable during a very trying time. Fortunately we only had to move our wedding date once but this was made as easy on us as possible and we are incredibly thankful that this was the case.

    The day itself was perfect in every way. The Hall where our wedding ceremony was held looked beautiful and Caroline our wedding co-ordinator took care of all of our needs, whisking us away for a quick 5 minutes of ‘alone time’, after the ceremony and providing us with glass after glass of Prosecco before organising our confetti shot!

    The grounds looked stunning for our drinks reception and photo opportunities and the marquee was full of laughter and twinkled from the moment we stepped in for our wedding breakfast and throughout our evening reception, to the end of our night. Sir Richard was a particular favourite with our friends as he escorted them via torchlight to their carriages at the end of the evening!

    My husband and I spent a relaxed night in the sumptuous bridal suite; again everything you could possibly think of was provided! The following morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast at Herbert’s tea rooms and collected our belongings from the marquee. Sir Richard and Lady Fiona wished us well as we left and we came away with huge smiles after our fantastic day. We would recommend Tissington as a wedding venue to any couple.

    Sent on 24/08/2021
  • Emily

    Emily B. · Married on 06/08/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing day!!

    We feel so lucky to have got married at the new Carriage House at Tissington Hall. It was completely perfect....
    Lady Fiona and everyone involved on our wedding day were amazing and tried so hard to ensure we had a magical day...nothing was to much trouble and Fiona was always there when we needed anything!
    Thankyou so much from the bottom of our hearts.
    Mr&Mrs Gregory

    06.08.21

    Sent on 29/08/2021
  • Olivia

    Olivia H. · Married on 10/07/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect day in the perfect venue

    I got engaged in April 2020, in the height of lockdown, and began to look for a wedding venue almost immediately. As soon as I saw Tissington Hall's website and photographs, I wanted to get married there at once.
    Within a day, I'd already had a phone call and a date pencilled in with Lady Fiona FitzHerbert. Lady Fiona was so responsive, and made sure I had all the information I needed about Tissington Hall. This included giving us multiple FaceTime tours of the hall and grounds, as we were all locked down. She never failed to go above and beyond to make sure our wedding planning was effortless from start to finish.
    As soon as we were able to, we visited the venue in person, and were blown away by the beautiful architecture, wonderfully maintained gardens and the quaint surrounding village, over which a lot of the wedding accommodation is spread. We knew (even more!) that this was the venue for us. To top it off, the beautiful church in Tissington, St Mary's, is just a few minutes walk from the Hall, making wedding planning even simpler - no need to organise transport for guests and more time to enjoy yourselves on your wedding day!
    Through all of the ups and downs of the pandemic, Lady Fiona was a rock, and was so professional in finding how to make our wedding day work, even with all the restrictions. We were entirely reassured that no matter what, we would have the perfect day at Tissington Hall, despite a date change and guest list shrink!
    We arrived in Tissington the day before our wedding, and immediately felt like VIPs. We had booked accommodation for close friends and family for the long weekend, and we all felt entirely at home and settled into the exciting days ahead.
    I got ready in the bridal suite, which was such a treat. The beautiful rooms were perfect for taking in the essence of the Hall in the build up to my wedding. It is such a beautiful backdrop for your wedding morning (and photographs!). Lady Fiona was already hard at work, managing all suppliers perfectly, so that I could relax into the day.
    The rest of our wedding day flowed perfectly, all thanks to Fiona's work behind the scenes (with her step count of 40,000!). Guests and suppliers were all in awe of the amazing venue. We couldn't have asked for a better surrounding for our wedding day. Tissington Hall's caterers performed excellently for both the drinks reception and wedding breakfast. We had our reception in the recently renovated Carriage House, which worked perfectly for our smaller guest list of 36. We were able to use the gardens in the glorious sunshine for our party, and the photos say it all about how perfect the whole day was.
    I will cherish the memories of our wedding day forever, and will forever hold a place in my heart for Tissington Hall and Lord and Lady FitzHerbert for allowing us to host our wedding day at their home. If you want an effortless wedding planning journey, a magical wedding day, and very very happy guests, book your wedding day at Tissington Hall. I haven't stopped smiling about our day (a month on!), and it is such a privilege to have Tissington Hall in all of our wedding photos.
    We've already booked a long weekend away in one of the Tissington Hall cottages as we cannot stay away!
    Thank you so much for the best day xxx

    Sent on 15/08/2021
  • H

    Hannah P. · Married on 29/05/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Smaller wedding at Tissington Hall 29/05/21

    We got married on 29th May 2021, which was our original date having reduced our numbers down from 85 to 30. We had the most wonderful day celebrating with our family and friends!

    From when we first booked our wedding at Tissington Hall the team were always on hand to help with the organisation and planning of our big day. Fiona could not have been more supportive when we decided to change to the Carriage house with reduced numbers. I really cannot recommend the team at Tissington Hall highly enough, no request was too much and Fiona really pulled out all the stops to help create our perfect day!

    Having a smaller 'covid' wedding ended up being just right for us and the Carriage house was the perfect location for our reception. Bursting with character, it is a modern, intimate space ideal for smaller weddings. We loved having more time to spend with each guest and Croquet on the lawn was a hit with a mini tournament taking place!

    We ended up getting married outside in the stunning gardens and the sun even came out for the ceremony and drinks reception. Helen at Upper crust caterers who work with Fiona were fantastic, creating a bespoke menu for us and the food was raved about by all the guests. Fiona made our florist and photographer, both had not worked at Tissington Hall before, so welcome.

    We look back on our wedding as being the most perfect day, so thank you to Fiona and the team for making it possible!

    Sent on 27/06/2021
  • Maisie

    Maisie E. · Married on 27/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream come true Covid wedding at the new Carriage House at Tissington Hall

    Well I don't even know where to start with saying how wonderful our wedding was at Tissington Hall. It was a total dream come true!!

    We had originally booked to get married there on 2nd Oct 20 but due to covid restrictions had to move the date. 2 weeks before our wedding, the government announced the new changes so Fiona and her team magically moved our wedding forward for us so we were able to have 30 guests instead of 15. We got married in Tissington Hall on 27th Sep 2020 and had our reception in the newly converted Carriage House at Tissington.

    From very first booking Tissington, Fiona was absolutely amazing. Her communication with us never faltered, she met my every bridezilla demand (hopefully I wasn't too bad!) and every step of the way Fiona was always at the other end of the phone whenever I needed to ask anything.

    The actual wedding day was seriously a dream come true. Fiona recommended a local florist to us and I'm so glad she did. We used Passion Flowers, Derby and they were incredible.

    We were lucky enough to be the second people to have their reception in the newly converted Carriage House at Tissington. It was fab because I love old historical buildings whereas my husband prefers things a bit more modern and this venue was an amazing mix of the two styles. It suited us perfectly and for a small wedding of 30 it couldn't have been more perfect. Our meal felt like a feast. We had our tables in a horseshoe layout and it was so sociable and intimate. All our guests could see each other and we could interact with everyone in the room. It was decorated beautifully by the florist too.

    I really could go on and on about how magical and dreamy our wedding was at Tissington. It was the best day of our lives and thanks to Fiona and her team it all went without a hitch - despite the pandemic.

    If, like us, you've had to reduce your numbers to 30 or below - The Carriage House is the perfect venue. Intimate, relaxed and sociable are the 3 words I'd use to describe the venue.

    Our Tissington 'covid' wedding was perfect in every way! I wouldn't have changed a thing!

    *Photos by Natalie J Weddings*

    Sent on 06/10/2020
  • L

    Lauren G. · Married on 08/08/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tissington Hall...simply stunning!

    Where do we begin...this venue is everything you can imagine and so much more! We looked around many other venues in the local area and instantly fell in love with Tissington Hall and everything about it - the venue, the grounds, Lady Fitzherbert and her staff, The Carriage House, the food and the attention to detail are amongst the best possible.
    We were due to have a large wedding in the Pavilion at Tissington Hall, but due to Covid, this couldn't go ahead. We moved it from August last year to June this year and Lady Fitzherbert and her team did the most incredible job at making our new date as perfect as could be.
    We held our reception in The Carriage House, which has been refurbished during lockdown and it is a stunning venue for an intimate wedding. We had 30 guests rather than the 200 we had planned and would honestly do it again in a heartbeat. Having a smaller wedding had never crossed our minds previously, but were so glad that we did! The Carriage House has a dining room, bar area and other rooms which have a modern yet rustic feel and everyone commented on just how beautiful it was.
    Lady Fiona and her team were incredible at ensuring our day was exactly as we had hoped. Her attention to detail is exceptional, but combined with her relaxed and flexible approach, she was an absolute dream to work with.
    I cant recommend Tissington Hall enough....we just wish we could do our day all over again!

    Sent on 10/07/2021
  • Sarah_Louise_Smith

    Sarah S. · Married on 23/05/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing wedding at the Carriage House, Tissington Hall!

    We were originally due to get married on the 11th April 2020, with 100 guests for the drinks reception/wedding breakfast and 150 for the evening reception at the stunning marquee within the beautiful grounds of Tissington Hall.

    Unfortunately, due to the Covid-19 pandemic we were unable to go ahead with our wedding on the planned date and we rearranged our celebrations to the 26th September 2020. Lady Fiona and her team were incredibly helpful in transferring the booking and accommodation to the new dates. We had booked multiple guest houses and apartments within the Tissington estate for our relatives and there were no issues switching them to the new date.

    As the situation surrounding Covid-19 developed over the subsequent months, it became increasingly less likely that we were going to be able to have our celebrations as originally planned. The level of support we received from Lady Fiona and Sir Richard during this period was incredible. We received regular phone calls with each Government update, and they were both so eager for us to have our dream wedding. If we had any concerns, Fiona was always easily contactable.

    In the months leading up to the wedding we were concerned at how only having 30 guests would work with having the large Marquee for our reception. However, we needn’t have worried!

    Fortunately for us, Fiona had transformed their old carriage house into a wonderful brand new wedding venue whilst Tissington were unable to host weddings. The renovations made to the carriage house are stunning. The décor is beautiful and modern, whilst they have retained all of the original features, which give the venue its character and maintains its history. It is an absolutely perfect venue for a smaller wedding, and we would recommend it to those also considering having a smaller wedding.

    We are incredibly grateful to Lady Fiona and Sir Richard for allowing us to be the first bride and groom to have their wedding reception at the Carriage House. They were both attentive throughout the planning and setting up of the venue for our big day and on the day itself. We could not have wished for any more support from them and their team.

    We are extremely lucky that we are able to celebrate our wedding again at Tissington next year. We look forward to having another amazing day, but this time sharing the experience with many more guests.

    Sent on 08/11/2020
  • M

    Mr · Married on 19/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Start to Finish, Amazing!

    Dawn, We couldn't have had the smooth running wonderful wedding day we did without you! From the start to finish - you were AMAZING!!
    With All Our Love!

    Sent on 15/11/2019
  • H

    Helen · Married on 28/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Perfect!

    Dawn, Karl & I just wanted to say a huge Thank-you for all your help with Laura and Will's wedding day.
    The whole day was ABSOLUTELY PERFECT and we'll have wonderful memories to treasure for ever.
    Best Wishes

    Sent on 06/11/2019
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 30/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lovely, Happy Day! Extra Special

    Dear Dawn,
    I wanted to write and Thank-you for all your hard work in helping to ensure Charlie & Rebecca's wedding went so smoothly.
    It was such a lovely, happy day and we really appreciate your professional and personal approach to all the little details. Your friendly manner and unobtrusive handling of the whole occasion, both the day before and on the day itself, was perfect and meant that we had every confidence that all would go well, as it certainly did!
    Please thank all the background staff as well, Tissington Hall is a stunning venue, but it is the people running the event that make it extra special!
    Warm Wishes & Many Thanks

    Sent on 06/11/2019