Skip to main content
Weddings

The Secret Garden Reviews

The Secret Garden

The Secret Garden

Ashford, Kent
5.0 out of 5 rating, 70 reviews
More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
70 reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2023 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2022 Winner
  • H
    Hayley C. Sent on 23/05/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing wedding venue!

    The Secret Garden exceeded our expectations of our wedding day. Yes it's a beautiful venue but the service and attention to detail from all of the staff was exceptional. Definitely reccomend.

    The Secret Garden's reply:

    Dear Hayley & Josh,

    Thank you so much for your kind words, it was truly a pleasure being a part of your beautiful wedding day! Thank you so much for choosing us.

    We wish you both all the best for the future
  • C
    Cianna M. Sent on 12/05/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Venue

    Had my wedding here last month and it was unforgettable. The staff were lovely and a special thanks to Amy for helping us plan it and going above and beyond to make our day special. Even though the weather didn’t go our way and we had to move the ceremony inside, the team did everything in their power to make it special and for that, we couldn’t be more grateful.

    Food was absolutely amazing, exactly what we asked for and a large selection of drinks at the bar too! We would 100% recommend this venue for your big day, you will have no regrets!

    The Secret Garden's reply:

    Thank you so much for your kind words Cianna. It was amazing to be a part of yours and Andrews day. Thank you for trusting me throughout the whole process! Please do send photos our way once you have received them as I would love to see them. Once again thank you for choosing us as your wedding venue and please do come back and see us. We wish you the very best in your married life together!
    Best Wishes,
    Amy
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Srebrena
    Srebrena Sent on 05/02/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A dream wedding at The Secret Garden

    From the moment we stepped into The Secret Garden for our wedding, we were met with an atmosphere of pure enchantment and elegance. The staff went above and beyond to ensure our special day was flawless, demonstrating a level of helpfulness and attentiveness that was truly remarkable. They anticipated our every need, making us feel completely at ease throughout the entire process.

    The venue itself was breathtakingly beautiful, presenting a perfect blend of natural beauty and sophisticated charm. Every corner of The Secret Garden was meticulously maintained, creating a magical backdrop for our ceremony and reception that our guests are still raving about.

    As for the food, it was nothing short of delicious. Each dish served was a testament to the venue's commitment to quality and excellence, leaving a lasting impression on everyone who had the pleasure of dining. The flavors were rich, the presentation was exquisite, and the overall dining experience was exceptional.

    Choosing The Secret Garden for our wedding venue was the best decision we could have made. It provided an unforgettable setting that captured the essence of our celebration perfectly. We are eternally grateful to the staff for their hard work and dedication, and we recommend The Secret Garden to any couple looking for a venue that offers beauty, elegance, and a team committed to making your wedding day as perfect as you’ve always imagined.

    The Secret Garden's reply:

    Good Afternoon Srebrena,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

    We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your special day with us and that we were able to make the whole planning journey as stress-free as possible.

    Thank you for choosing us as your venue and for trusting us.

    We hope to see you again in the future!

    We wish you the very best of luck in your married life together.

    Best Wishes,

    Amy & Alisha
  • I
    Isabelle Sent on 15/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect day

    From our first visit to the Secret Garden, we fell in love with the place with Harry being so helpful and friendly from the beginning.
    Throughout the year of planing, Alisha & Amy were brilliant, calm, quick to respond, so flexible & friendly. We felt reassured throughout the process, nothing was too much trouble and we really felt they cared. Dropping off our decorations and personal items the morning before, they were amazing and even let us have coffee in the gardens. We walked away very confident and had absolute trust in the team to make everything look beautiful.
    When I arrived on the day, it was perfect. I could not fault a single thing. The gardens are totally beautiful, coach house stunning, delicious food & the team were amazing, brilliant service, calm & happy.
    Alisha & Amy and everyone else in the team – we cannot thank you enough. Our wedding was so special & memorable and I have no doubt it was because of everything you guys did.

    The Secret Garden's reply:

    Dear Isabelle,

    Thank you so so much for your kind message, this is so sweet and it is so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your day and experience with us. It was so special to be here on your wedding day, and we wish you a long and happy marriage together!

    Alisha, Amy & The Team x
  • R
    Georgina G. Sent on 10/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful September wedding

    Thankyou so much for the most amazing day!

    You kept everything running as smoothly as possible and kept everyone calm, happy and relaxed in the crazy September heatwave 🥵

    You were so polite, respectful and attentive! We didn’t want for anything- even taking a selfie at the end of the night staff spotted and came straight over to offer assistance. The attention to detail went above and beyond anything we could have asked for!

    The venue was immaculately clean and well dressed and when we came to collect our things the next day so much care had been taken in packing our things back away.

    The food was lovely and such care was taken in the presentation and delivery of our afternoon tea and pizza- definitely cooked with love!

    You made our day so special, something that we will never forget and are very grateful for!

    The Secret Garden's reply:

    Dear Georgina,

    Thank you so much for your kind message and sharing these beautiful photos!

    We wish you both a lifetime of happiness together, it really was such a pleasure to be part of your special day!

    Lots of love,
    Alisha, Amy & the whole SG team x
  • Poppy
    Poppy S. Sent on 08/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A day to remember 🤍🩷

    Wow, our wedding day, where do we start?
    Well it seems only right to thank the people who created a day that we could have only dreamt of that The Secret Garden team made our reality.

    Genuinely, thankyou! You guys are incredible! Right from the very first point of contact you guys were just amazing, you provided stability with planning, organisation, helped us with decision making when we asked for input and just over all fabulous! The planning team were quick to respond and so informative, alongside helping us get the best out of our day with our budget, keeping the special elements and not making it feel or appear more budget-like. At no point did we ever feel obliged or pushed into anything and generally, we just felt well supported throughout the process.

    During the process, we went to the venue on several occasions to meet with staff and discuss our plans, and primarily, their attitude was always "how can we help you? What can we do to help give you the most special day". Alongside this we always felt comfortable, it was never forced and always had a laugh. Every member of staff is just so natural at their job. Having now had our wedding building these relationships was important because essentially, they are a part of your special day; it was so well integrated and natural, we didn't know they were there, in a staff capacity - they felt as though they were a part of our guest part.

    On the day, we were expecting hiccups, purely because, like everyone, nothing ever goes straight forward. But to mine and Issac knowledge and feelings, everything was perfect and it really was only a day we thought we could dream of.

    Alisha was our point of contact throughout the most part of the day and what a fab job she did. She helped direct us in doing something neither of us knew what we are doing, helped keep us calm and kept it nice, settled and well organised. In moments that we were having couple photos, or otherwise preoccupied, they ensured the comfort of our guest and maintained such a lovely atmosphere. Every single guest approached us during and after to explain it was the best wedding the had been to, from the organisation, to the food, the staff and the destination. We feel really privileged to have had our day shared with our family friends and members ot The Secret Garden.

    Food - now this was important to us... Purley because we're foodies, not necessarily for fancy food, but just in general. The chef team absolutely smashed it!! We had walking canapes to start, as we are not a particularly formal family and though we are traditional in some aspects, we equally did not want a three course sit down meal. This allowed us the opportunity to interact with everyone who came to share our day with us; but also feel the hunger hole that people were beginning to feel.

    It was a nice touch, because I think staff had noticed that Issac and I had not managed to have any, due to talking and they had put a lovely selection on our table. So then the main, wow! INCREDIBLE!! The team catered well for allergens and intolerance and ensured that everyone was happy. Every body complemented the meal and of course the desert!! Anyway we could go on about food for ages, but just know, the food is delicious! We chose the BBQ for the evening and though Issac and I didn't have any because we were full from lunch, it went down a treat!!

    We provided some decorations, as well as The Secret Garden supplying some too, and they really did do it justice! They created the atmosphere and vibe that was exactly what we were after. They moved our beautiful flowers from the chapel to the main room, so that they could be admired throughout the whole day, as they were exceptionally beautiful - big shout out to Loullabells florist! The flowers were particularly special as they were a discrete part of our granddad's being present, though not physically with us, it was a resemblance of their favourite flowers.

    Everything was just amazing!!

    Moving on through the day to the evening, we used Boombox, who is recommended via the venue. Though this is not The Secret Garden's fault, we and guest were disappointed with them as DJ's. We had a poor experience with their organisation in the build up to the meeting, forgetting about scheduled meeting to attain our music choices etc, alongside this, they did not play songs that we had asked for, including genre. The quality of music felt poor and they did not mix music well. I guess from our personal experience with them, our recommendation would be for Boombox not to be part of the package, or not to suggest them.

    As I say the above recommendation, is not Secret Garden's fault, and by no means ruined our day, it was something we had both picked up on, as did our guests.

    Anyway, we want to thank the team for absolutely everything!!! Even when we went to collect everything the following day, they ensured that our Bouquets were in water to ensure preservation.

    The Secret Garden are amazing, the venue and staff we cannot recommend it enough. Thankyou!!!!

    The Secret Garden's reply:

    Dear Poppy & Issac,

    Wow, reading this absolutely gorgeous message has brought a tear to my eye! Thank you so much!

    What an absolutely incredible day it was and I feel so privileged to have been there with you on the day. Yourselves and your guests were so kind and appreciative to all of the staff on the day and the atmosphere was so wonderful!

    We are so sorry to hear that you did not have the perfect experience with your DJ and we will look into this further.

    We hope you're both living your best lives and wish you lots of love and happiness!

    Love Alisha, Amy & the whole team x
  • I
    Izati I. Sent on 28/12/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect and effortless

    The first and only place we viewed, we fell in love with it straight away. It fits our personalities our vibe and the size of our wedding. We wanted an intimate feel although we had around 60pax for our day reception, they were all important people and they loved being there.
    The team is the most amazing! Very accommodating, very understanding, makes everything looks easy. Never made me feel like I’m asking for something silly or too big. Very responsive even though my queries were during summer peak season as our wedding was in November. And no fault at all for everyone working on our big day and evening. All the guests keep talking about how great they have all been.
    Food is perfect too, for day and evening.

    The Secret Garden's reply:

    Dear Izati,

    Thank you so much for your kind words!

    Congratulations again from all of us here, it really was such a lovely day, thank you so much for choosing us!

    We hope you are both keeping well
  • Louise
    Louise N. Sent on 27/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fairytale wedding

    We had a twilight wedding at the secret garden on the 10th of November 2023. Alisha, Amy and the team made our wedding feel like a dream fairytale. Originally our ceremony was to be in the glass house but due to weather it was not possible but Alisha and Amy created the most dreamy set up in the chapel for us both and it blew me away!. They went out and bought lanterns and other bits, moved all the plants from the glass house and decorated the chapel so beautiful I couldn’t have imagined a more beautiful ceremony and I was over the moon. After my wedding car didn’t show up and pushed us back for time, they made all my stress go away once I arrived and kept Luke and the guests happy while they waited for me us to arrive. The music and food provided in the package and all the staff were amazing! Everyone had such a great time. I was so happy we chose the secret garden as our venue the and the twilight option meant that we had a nice intimate relaxed experience and with all our friends and family, with all the twinkle lights and candles it felt really magical like a fairytale.

    The Secret Garden's reply:

    Dear Louise,

    Thank you so much for your gorgeous message and sharing these stunning photos!

    It really is so special to hear how much you enjoyed your day, it really is a dream come true for us to hear that you had a fairytale day! We all wanted you to have the Glasshouse ceremony you had envisioned and we are so pleased that you were happy with how it turned out!

    With your gorgeous decorations and the twinkly lights, it really was a stunning evening!

    We hope you're both loving married life and wish you all the best!

    Lots of love, Alisha, Amy and the whole team x
  • H
    Hazel Sent on 24/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best day ever!

    The Secret Garden made planning our wedding so easy. They were extremely professional and helpful during the planning stage and also on the day. I would recommend them in a heartbeat!

    The Secret Garden's reply:

    Good Morning Hazel,

    Thank you so much for your kind words.

    Thank you for choosing us as your venue! We have loved sharing this journey with you.

    We wish you and Arron a lifetime of happiness together!

    Best Wishes,
    Amy, Alisha and The Team at Secret Garden
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message