Skip to main content
Weddings

The Pumping House Reviews

The Pumping House

The Pumping House

Newark, Nottinghamshire
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 43 reviews
View more information

43 reviews

Rating
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Badges

  • R
    Rebecca C. Married on 11/03/2022
    Rating 3.2 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Lovely venue customer service let’s it down

    My daughter has her wedding here on the day amazing but the customer service before hand left a lot to be desired. Felt like we were a burden when as guests we rang up about any questions. My parents paid £175 for their room and then got told they hadn’t paid! The venue was lovely , food was lovely and staff working on the day great .
    They had lights hanging from the celling which fell and hit a guest whilst we ate dinner.
    Lovely day but watch out for the grumpy staff if you ask any questions before the day !
  • J
    Jeremy B. Married on 25/02/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A venue fit for the very best celebration

    The Pumping House at Boughton was the
    choice our daughter and her fiancé made when they were married on 25/2/22. They had visited a number of venues around Nottinghamshire. We are so pleased that they chose where they did. It’s in a lovely setting, warm and comfortable with plenty of space. Great for photo memories outside and inside. Having drinks and canapés on arrival on the 1st floor was perfect and then the wedding breakfast and later dance on the ground floor simply amazing. A nicely kitted out area for the little ones to enjoy themselves in their own environment was fantastic. The furniture and set up for the reception meal was magical. What amazing food and service we had. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff were magnificent. What a superb day we had, one that will stay in our memories with us forever. The disco was brilliant. Needless to say we highly recommend Boughton Pumping Station as a venue! Than you so much. Mr and Mrs B.
  • M
    Mr Married on 22/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What an amazing day!!!

    Everything was perfect - you did a brilliant job and worked so hard on the day to bring everything together . It was better than we ever expected! The building looked stunning and everyone was saying that it was the best wedding food they had ever tasted! The band was cracking too !! Wowwww!!! Thank you so much for organising it all!! Very best wishes from Mr. and Mrs Savill x
  • M
    Mr Married on 10/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best day ever!

    The Pumping House is such an amazing venue and was perfect for our wedding in January. We fell in love with the place as soon as we saw it and right from the beginning Lian and the staff were amazing!! They helped us plan and prepare the day and picked up on lots of little details that we may not have thought about. The character of the building is amazing and the internal decoration is stunning, especially the quirky themed rooms that are on the upper floor which give plenty of room for creative fun. All our guests commented on how beautiful, yet different the venue was, and how well thought out the day was....a lot of which we owe big thanks to Lian and the staff for!
    The planning of the day was made stress-free, and the attentiveness on the day was great, it really helped settle both our nerves and allow us to enjoy the day. We couldn't recommend the Pumping House enough and would like to say a huge thankyou for making our day so perfect! BEST....DAY....EVER!!
  • M
    Mr Married on 21/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The venue is beautiful, food was brilliant!

    Thankyou so much to Ellie and all the team at The Pumping House for making our wedding run so smoothly and making the organisation so easy when we were planning a wedding from afar.
    The venue is beautiful, food was brilliant, and staff couldn't have been more helpful!
  • C
    Colin Married on 01/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We had the best day

    We just wanted to say the biggest thankyou for making Friday so amazing. We had the best day and can't thank you and your team enough for making our day truly unforgettable. Everyone has said how amazing the venue, food and staff were. We all had the best day.
  • C
    Christy Married on 11/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everything was pristine and just how we imagined!

    Ellie was our events manager at the pumping house for our wedding. We couldn’t of asked for anyone else to be in charge of our special day. We didn’t have the best guests for the staff to deal with but they were all amazing! Everything was pristine and just how we imagined it, if not better! And the food was to die for! There was nothing that wasn’t too much trouble for them. Thank you so much for making our day so perfect.
  • N
    Natasha Married on 21/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Pumping House is the most magical of venues

    The Pumping House is the most magical of venues - words cannot express how grateful I am that we were able to spend our wedding here. We were looking for somewhere Edwardian architecturally, with a quirky interior for our indie / vintage inspired wedding, and wow did we strike gold! What I love most about the building is the little breakout rooms with their curious objects and antiques - full of character. It's like Alice in Wonderland! We adored the tiles and decor - the team have styled it superbly. Also it was so useful having Save the Date Event Stylists downstairs to help us make the place look extra special! Our guests were really blown away - so many of them saying it was the best venue they'd ever been to.
    It's worth saying too that Ellie and Jo were the most INCREDIBLE, attentive hosts and made me and my husband-to-be feel instantly at home. They made every step of the process a piece of cake - so much so that I had to make sure to get a selfie with Ellie on the big day! I was super anxious in the days before the wedding, and she was an invaluable help in making sure the day ran smoothly. She even let us bring our own street food caterers and turn the Engine Room into a street food market! It was incredible! All in all, I can't recommend The Pumping House highly enough. The only thing is - I want to keep it as my own little secret!! But if you love all things alternative, you will fall in love with this place just like we did. This place is a hidden gem and worth every single penny, and every accolade it gets.
  • P
    Peri Married on 29/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    I am so happy that we found The Pumping House

    Lian, thank you so much for all of your help throughout planning this wedding. The day could not have been this perfect if it wasn't for your help along the way. I am so happy that we found The Pumping House and as a result of that we found you. You made this whole thing so easy for us and we could not have found a better venue or team to host our day. You guys were everything Matt and I could have hoped for and more for our wedding. .
  • M
    Mr Married on 23/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We would highly recommend to any future couples.

    Thank you so much for everything, you and the staff at the pumping house we’re all fantastic from start to finish. The day couldn’t have been more perfect and the best way for us to continue our story. We would highly recommend to any future couples looking to tie the knot. It was a blast and so grateful to you for being a huge part of that. Thanks again and bundles of love from Mr and Mrs Hopper xx