Skip to main content
Weddings

The Pilgrims Rest Reviews

The Pilgrims Rest

The Pilgrims Rest

Battle, East Sussex
5.0 out of 5 rating, 60 reviews
View more information

60 reviews

Rating
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for Money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

  • Hitched Wedding Awards 2022 Winner

35 User photos

  • Laura
    Laura R. Married on 19/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the Service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for Money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A magical unique venue for a fairy tale wedding

    This venue is unique. Our wedding was like a magical fairy tale. The team were outstanding and made the day seamless and extra special. Harold's hog roast was very fitting for the surroundings, delicious and reasonable. I would 100% recommend this venue for a more memorable wedding. Thanks all we had a truly amazing day!! Xx
  • Sophie
    Sophie B. Married on 02/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the Service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for Money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most incredible day, venue and staff we could have asked for!

    I have nothing but amazing things to say about The Pilgrims Rest. The staff (especially Amy-Lou who we dealt with from start to finish), were absolutely lovely, accommodating and couldn't have done anything more to support us. We initially booked just before lockdown, and Amy was so great when we had to postpone and making sure we got another day that suited us. They were also so great and helpful with contacting our suppliers to help organise/pull everything together for the big day (which finally took play on 2nd April this year!).
    The venue itself is just so magical - the space is intimate, beautiful and has such wonderful personality, near enough all our guests said what a gorgeous space it was! All the beautiful details (flowers, vases, hanging decor etc) you get included in the price (considering it is classed as dry hire), is just the cherry on top of the cake!
    If you are wanting a small, intimate wedding, with supportive staff and a gorgeous, gorgeous space - you just HAVE to choose The Pilgrims Rest as your venue. You absolutely will not be disappointed!
    Thank you again so much to the Pilgrims Rest team (again, Amy-Lou especially, she's just so lovely!) for helping us with our special day. It was nothing short of perfect!
    Sophie and Shane (The Bar-Mars!) xx
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • N
    Natalie D. Married on 27/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the Service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for Money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I love this venue!

    This venue is so unique! I have been to many weddings in stately homes but never been anywhere like this before. My wedding guests absolutely loved it and thought it was a hidden gem. The staff at the Pilgrims Rest are some of the loveliest professionals I have worked with. They were so accommodating to us moving our wedding date due to covid and offered so much support in the planning and were incredibly speedy at responding to emails. Thank you Waverley and everyone at the Pilgrims Rest!
  • G
    Graysen W. Married on 28/09/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the Service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for Money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Brilliant service and lovely people

    Thank you so much to the team at The Pilgrims Rest. They were so kind, lovely and efficient. We got the day we wanted and they stopped a lot of the worries on the day from becoming too big. Such a wonderful team of professionals helping along the way and on the day itself. Thank you ♥️
  • Loksan
    Loksan H. Married on 11/09/2021
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the Service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for Money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Lovely venue and great staff

    Incredible property. Staff who go above and beyond. Made us feel very comfortable.
    Only downside is you have to collect your own rubbish and that isn't made clear at the outset.
  • Cekwells
    Charlotte W. Married on 01/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the Service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for Money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Intimate, magical and cosy...perfect for our October wedding!


    Amy-Lou is an absolute gem and was one of the main reasons we chose the venue...her knowledge and support was incredible (especially with a date change!). Waverley & Elle are also great!
    All our guests loved the vibe and we would 100% recommend!
  • C
    Cat K. Married on 16/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the Service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for Money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Such a wonderful venue

    The Pilgrims Rest is such a beautiful venue. Every time I visited it felt so cosy and just like I was walking in to a friend’s house!
    The ladies at the Pilgrims Rest are first class at what they do! The service we received from Amy-Lou throughout, and including on our wedding day, was outstanding. We had a couple of date changes and Amy-Lou could not have been more accommodating, reassuring, and flexible, just what we needed!
    Hiring the Pilgrims Rest was a great option for us, as it is dry hire, we were able to hire all the suppliers we wanted and have just the day we had imagined!
    Due to the pandemic our wedding day was a lot smaller than initially planned, however this suited the venue so well! It did not feel like we were missing out and if anything, I think it helped massively in making the decision to go ahead with a 15 person wedding.
    For anyone looking for an intimate and cosy wedding venue, I would not hesitate to recommend the Pilgrims Rest!


  • A
    Alistair Married on 23/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the Service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for Money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The two dressing rooms are beautifully decorated

    We held our Wedding at The Pilgrims Rest on 23rd December. We were looking for a smaller, intimate venue for our wedding and this was the first place we looked at and instantly fell in love with it! It’s just perfect! Beautifully decorated throughout - other than us adding additional flowers to the dinning table - it was ready to go, including fur throws, candles, seasonal flowers and decorations... it was everything we wanted and more!
    The two dressing rooms are beautifully decorated and were ideal for us both getting ready together - yet separately - at either end of the building - ideal for photos too!
    The two Amy’s went out of their way to make us feel relaxed and couldn’t do more for us on the day.
    Being able to stock our own bar and get our own caterer meant we were able to keep the costs down and have our day exactly as we wanted.
    An ideal venue for photo opportunities as it’s packed full of character and adjacent to Battle Abbey.
    We couldn’t recommend it more!!!!!

    Thanks for your good wishes. We had a wonderful time on Saturday and so many people commented on how lovely the venue was. Thanks also to you and to Amy Lou for all your help, both in the run up to the wedding and on the day.
  • L
    Lyn Married on 07/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the Service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for Money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you so much for everything!

    We couldn't recommend the Pilgrims Rest highly enough and will treasure the memories we have made there for the rest of our lives.

    Thank you so much for everything!
    The Baileys xx
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message