Skip to main content
Weddings

The Oak Barn, Frame Farm Reviews

The Oak Barn, Frame Farm

The Oak Barn, Frame Farm

Cranbrook, Kent
4.9 out of 5 rating, 72 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
4.9 out of 5 rating
72 reviews
97% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2023 Winner
  • Melissa
    Melissa Q. Sent on 15/07/2024
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning Venue, fab for weekend hire!

    It was great being able to stay from Friday till Sunday which made us all feel way more relaxed than trying to do everything in a day!
    The three barns are wonderful each with its own unique charm and thing to offer.
    The cottages were beautifully set out and offered us and our wedding party top end accommodation.

    The Oak Barn, Frame Farm's reply:

    Thanks Melissa, it was wonderful to have you and your families here for the whole weekend and create such a beautiful and unique celebration. Hosting your wedding breakfast in the Pole Barn was a 'first' and really spectacular! It was also very special to have you and your guests play live music to start the evening party. We hope you have had a fantastic mini-moon and we wish you every happiness for the years to come. Tim and Deana.
  • Georgia
    Georgia W. Sent on 08/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best Wedding Venue EVER!

    From the first visit of the Oak Barn, I knew it was where I wanted to get married and it did not disappoint!
    The booking process and the final details meeting run so smoothly, all of the staff are extremely helpful throughout they provide you with so much information to make your organising of the wedding so easy!
    We booked Oak Barn for two nights along with Weavers Cottages, it was the best thing we did… our guests were able to settle in the day before and we had everyone round for drinks and nibbles the night before making our wedding so much fun! The cottages are so comfortable with every detail thought of… waking up to the sheep in the fields is just perfect!
    Chrystelle was the best, she made sure we was happy at all times and made sure everything run so smoothly even appearing during my sons tantrum (toddler) in the middle of the ceremony with cookies to calm him down. After being awake in the middle of the night replanning our ceremony to be outside due to the fact I had both of my brothers giving me away and also how lucky we were with the fantastic weather!
    Both members of staff who were there on the evenings to lock up the barns were so helpful and friendly and made it so easy for us!
    The Oak Barn really is the most special venue, it is absolutely stunning down to every little touch! The memories we will have from the perfect wedding here will last forever for both us and our guests! Thank you to everyone at Oak Barn for making it so special!

    The Oak Barn, Frame Farm's reply:

    Georgia and Martin, it was such a pleasure to host your wedding here at the farm and we are so pleased you had not only lovely weather but a great weekend celebration with your family and friends. Thank you so much for some of your gorgeous photographs, they are stunning and such amazing memories of your wedding day. May we wish you both the happiest married life, and thank you once again for your trust, Chrystelle, Tim & Deana

    Photographer: Alex Cossey Photography
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • L
    Laura T. Sent on 02/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best day ever - 26th May 2024

    We made the ultimate mistake of visiting this venue first when starting to plan our big day - no where else compared.

    The views (& sheep!), the beautiful barn & Byre (a choice of indoor or outdoor ceremonies), well furnished cottages for all to stay & just a the perfect feel for a wedding.

    They provided a list of recommended suppliers who have worked (& are trusted) at their venue which gave us a great starting point although they were more than accommodating for anyone new.

    Very helpful in the run up in the day with compiling a complete run through of the day - with floor layouts, supplier details (& got in contact with each supplier on our behalf to ensure they were equipped with all the info for the day). Even on the day, Tim was great at resolving any small hiccups that appeared.

    Huge thank you to Tim, Deana, Chrystelle, Tembo & all the behind the scenes team for making our day so special.

    The Oak Barn, Frame Farm's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words Laura and Matt.

    We are so pleased to hear your day was so perfect and The Oak Barn was everything you hoped for.
    We always strive to help make the wedding planning journey as enjoyable as possible so we're glad we were able to help you navigate your way in the wonderful world of weddings!
    Your day was truly beautiful and filled with so much love. We feel very honoured to have been a part of it.

    With our very best wishes, Tim, Deana, Chrystelle, Rosie and the Team
  • N
    Nigel R. Sent on 29/02/2024
    1.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating

    Over priced and under delivered

    The venue is beautiful and we had a great day, however we left feeling short changed having paid a lot of money for the venue and got very little in return. My advice is watch the small print, we had to move our original date giving the venue 6 months notice and were charged for moving our wedding - we had to compromise from having our dream Christmas wedding on a Saturday to hosting our wedding on a Thursday in Feb, because the Barn insisted on keeping some of the money we had already paid. They promised to try to readvertise our date, but this was not done with any enthusiasm.

    Be warned the venue provides nothing - you literally paying thousands for the barn - no tables/chairs/glassware etc... I am not actually sure what they did for us, the caterer literally did everything - they even asked if our guests would mind helping with parking! As for the accommodation, which you have to hire if you book the venue (so be warned), again overpriced in comparison to other accommodation in the area. Its nicely decorated, but hot water ran out and lacks facilities - they advertise on Air BnB (at a significantly cheaper rate than for the wedding), but don't provide any breakfast. The check out is 10am the next day, and there is no wriggle room on this as we were literally being kicked out at 10am by a team of housekeepers coming in to clean.

    Would not recommend and from our research there are better venues to use. I just wish we knew at the time of booking, what we no now.

    The Oak Barn, Frame Farm's reply:

    Dear Nigel and Jenni

    We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful wedding. The sun was shining and it was a beautiful day. Our entire team are extremely sad to hear that you felt short changed, and we are at loss to understand your allegations.

    Since our opening in 2019, we have held over 165 weddings and take huge pride in full transparency when dealing with our couples. We promote the farm as a “dry hire eco venue” and not a package venue, allowing couples to create a wedding that is unique to their style and dream, and this is what our couples love about the farm. We offer exclusive use and provide all our couples with a list of amazing suppliers, ensuring full support with event planning. This is prominently outlined in all our materials and contract. We ask all clients to read their agreement within a 14 day cooling down period, making our terms abundantly clear.

    Your decision to move your wedding date was sad but we feel it was thoughtfully obliged and handled with compassion. Our team worked very hard to ensure that you could fall back on a date that was within your new budget. Several options were given to you and hosting your mid-week February wedding, was based on your instruction. Upon your decision, we advertised your initial wedding date on numerous sites in the hope to re-sell it, but the short 6 months’ notice you provided proved to be too little time, and despite our very best efforts we were unsuccessful.

    Regretfully we have no record of a late check out request, which we would have accommodated with pleasure. You are correct that breakfast is not a service we offer, as our cottages are rented on a self-catering basis.

    We remain confident of the high quality and transparency of our venue, and take huge pride in creating close relationships with our couples.

    May we assure you of our very best wishes, and please do contact us if you would like to discuss further, Tim and Deana
  • P
    Philippa Sent on 29/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing wedding venue 10/10!

    Just wow really! It’s hard to put into words our wedding day at The Oak Barn in October 2023. From the moment we arrived for the first viewing we knew this was the place we wanted to get married. The setting is stunning and totally unique. We were lucky with gorgeous autumnal weather but even in pouring rain this would be the place we would want to get married! We had so many compliments from guests about how beautiful it was. All of the staff are so friendly and happy to help, nothing is too much bother from the initial look round to the day after the wedding.

    Special thanks to Chrystelle who was our main contact in the buildup and on the day, she was invaluable in getting everything to run smoothly and meant we could just focus on enjoying the special moments. Can’t wait to come back and visit for a stay in the cottages, another lovely touch and reason to book The Oak Barn, to come back and relive the memories for years to come. Thank you! XxX

    (Photo cred. Tom Cawdron Photography)

    The Oak Barn, Frame Farm's reply:

    Thank you so much Philippa and Ben for your heart warming words. It has already been two months since your wedding and we remember it as if it was yesterday. The sun was shining on your and your guests, and we are thrilled to hear that they all had such a wonderful time in our little valley in Kent, and your Australian guests enjoyed the very best of British weather. We hope you had a fabulous honeymoon in the Maldives, and can't wait to welcome you back to the farm! With our warmest wishes, Chrystelle, Deana, Tim and Hayley
  • N
    Nicole W. Sent on 06/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Responsive, person centred, professional & just stunning!

    For a long time before we got engaged, I had been dreaming about my wedding day, so I had a pretty good idea of the kind of venue we’d like for our big day. We had ruled out a lot of venues quite quickly and made an agreement that we would only go and view venues that ticked a lot of boxes.
    The Oak Barn was the first wedding venue we viewed, and it was also the last. From our very first viewing with Hayley, we absolutely fell in love with the stunning barn, accommodation, grounds and facilities that were on offer. Once we secured our date, we were lucky enough to have Hayley as our ‘go to’ from start to finish. She managed to keep me relatively calm throughout the whole process - even the day before on set up! I will be forever grateful for her professionalism and advice and for being so responsive, I actually felt extremely sad after the wedding that I wouldn’t be liaising with her on a daily basis!!
    Apart from the venue being just purely stunning, one of the main reasons we chose The Oak Barn is how flexible they were with making our day personalised to us. No corkage fees meant that we were able to offer our guests free drinks throughout the day and night which was important to us, we also worked closely with one of their chosen caterers as well as having a pizza van in the evening.
    We booked a full weekend wedding, the day before the wedding we used for set up and we also had a BBQ and some drinks on site with our nearest and dearest - this felt so special to us to be able to spend this time together and our night manager really looked after us.
    On the morning of the wedding, Hayley made sure everything ran smoothly and I didn’t have to worry about a thing - she even set my dress right, before walking down the aisle!!
    The accommodation is modern, beautiful and clean - the perfect space for us to all get ready with full facilities.
    When Hayley was on her days off, I also had assistance from Deana, Tim and Chrystelle who were incredibly efficient and helpful.
    Every single detail with this venue has been considered carefully to make it the beautiful place it is!
    All I can say is thank you thank you thank you Hayley and team, for making our dreams become a reality!

    The Oak Barn, Frame Farm's reply:

    Thank you Nicole for this terrific review. We adored getting to know you and Dan and assisting with all of your exciting plans in the lead up to your Wedding. It was a pleasure seeing all your closest friends and family gather around you for your pre-wedding Friday BBQ, and even more so witnessing everyone's joy on your Wedding Day. Your wonderful magician certainly kept all your guests entertained as did your fabulous Saxophonist. It was the perfect Summers day Wedding which we were thrilled to be a part of. We can't wait to welcome you and your lovely families back to the farm one day, and wish you every happiness. Best wishes, Hayley, Deana, Tim & Chrystelle
  • Rosie
    Rosie L. Sent on 23/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience throughout!


    I’m not sure where to start! We had our wedding at the Oak Barn in October 2023, from the moment we set foot on the farm and were met with not only a beautiful setting but a wonderfully kind Hayley! The barn and buildings are stunning, we decided within 10 minutes this was going to be our venue…
    Hayley was fantastic throughout the whole process, from the day we confirmed our date to the wedding morning I couldn’t have asked for a more lovely, professional, experienced and enthusiastic person to deal with, no question too silly or ask too big, Hayley made the organisation seamless. What an absolute pleasure to work with, we got married in the Byre, reception drinks in the pole barn and wedding breakfast / disco in the Oak Barn, fully utilising the whole venue. We visited the venue 5 times in the run up to talk things through and visualise our day. It was the most perfect day, and I really thank the team at Frame Farm for holding our hands throughout the whole thing! Hayley and Chrystelle were fantastic throughout and really felt there were on the bridal team. I couldn’t recommend the venue enough, beautiful setting, seamless interactions with all of the vendors; Vine & Dine (Caterer), SeeRoseFloral (Florist), Village Vinted (Furniture), Black Saucers (Glassware) and overall a truly amazing day! ❤️❤️❤️

    The Oak Barn, Frame Farm's reply:

    Rosie, I am delighted to hear your Wedding was so wonderful, and that you enjoyed the preparation stages too. We loved working with you and Luke and seeing all of your plans come together on the day. Your beautiful minimalist white and gold theme looked gorgeous in the barns and we loved the "Treasure" references. We were thrilled you were blessed with such amazing Autumnal Weather. Our very best wishes for you future together. Hayley, Chrystelle, Deana and Tim.
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer M. Sent on 23/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible from start to finish.

    The Oak Barn is picture perfect and the ideal space for a relaxed, rustic wedding. It’s so beautiful that minimal decoration is required.

    Deana, Tim and their team were fantastic throughout the process, from our initial viewing to the day itself. Their professionalism and expertise is second to none, and they really care about making your day perfect.

    Our wedding was on a particularly wet and rainy day, but Deana had advice for us and the other vendors to ensure everything went without a hitch.

    We stayed at the cottages from Friday to Sunday. They are lovely in themselves, and it helped us to relax knowing that everything was ready to go on Saturday morning, and meant we could have a big family dinner the night before.

    I couldn’t reccomend them highly enough. It is an expensive option, but they are worth every penny.

    The Oak Barn, Frame Farm's reply:

    Thank you for such kind words Jen! It was such a pleasure hosting your wedding at the farm; your ceremony was so touching and heartfelt, it is my favourite moment of the day and it was such an honour and pleasure to watch you become husband and wife. The weather certainly didn't put a dampner on any of your celebrations and we are just so pleased you had a fabulous weekend! Wishing you both a wonderful marriage, Deana, Tim, Chrystelle and team
  • S
    Steph G. Sent on 15/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding venue ever!

    The Oak Barn Frame Farm was the wedding venue of our dreams and it highly lived up to all our expectations and gave us the most magical wedding day that we had always dreamed of. The venue itself is just beautiful, set on a farm in the countryside which matched our rustic theme perfectly. The views and the scenery around the venue were stunning and it made all our visions of our special day come to life. The venue is beautifully self contained which also means you have the venue all to yourself which was a massive perk for us. As soon as we saw the Oak Barn we fell in love and knew instantly it was the wedding venue for us.
    We booked the venue and all the cottages for the whole weekend Friday-Sunday. This was the best decision we had made and can’t recommend doing this enough. It meant all our closest friends and family could stay and we had a whole weekend of wedding celebrations. We was able to arrive early Friday afternoon and we started setting up for our big day. This also meant suppliers could also come and start setting up anything they needed to. The staff were amazing and just let us do our thing allowing us to treat the place like home but were always there happy to help if necessary. We had a small party on the Friday night on the terrace with all our cottage guests and we also all had breakfast together on Sunday morning to stretch out the wedding celebrations and ending on a high. By staying at the cottages also meant we could all start getting ready early for the big day and made the morning feel so relaxed. We truly had the best weekend celebrating our wedding.
    The staff at the venue couldn’t do enough for you. From booking to the day of the wedding they were always so happy to help and answer any of our questions. They were all so attentive and went above and beyond to ensure we had the wedding that we wanted. Deana and Tim; the owners of the venue were so friendly and kind and always checking on us to make sure everything was all ok.
    Hayley and Chris the day and night managers were just amazing and we can’t be more grateful for all their help. They both did so much for us. Hayley helped us organise everything from day one to coordinating the wedding day itself. Nothing was ever too much trouble and she was always available to help us whenever we needed her. Chris was so kind and helpful and even helped us tidy up on the Friday night party we had and even offered our friends a lift home on the wedding night. The staff just went above and beyond, even on the wedding day when i had miss placed my shoes and bouquet the staff had kindly put in my room at the cottages for me.
    We had the wedding of our dreams because of this venue and we couldn’t be more grateful to all staff at the Oak Barn, thank you all so much.

    The Oak Barn, Frame Farm's reply:

    We are thrilled to hear your day was so perfect and The Oak Barn was everything you hoped for. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us; it is great to hear the team made you feel at home here and looked after you during all the planning and over the weekend. We are delighted it was the start to married life that you dreamed of! With our very best wishes, Tim, Deana, Hayley and Chris.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours