Skip to main content
Weddings

The Montagu Arms Hotel Reviews

The Montagu Arms Hotel

The Montagu Arms Hotel

Beaulieu, Hampshire
4.9 out of 5 rating, 28 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
4.9 out of 5 rating
28 reviews
98% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
  • J
    Jessica L. Sent on 01/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing 5*

    We got married here on the 10th August 2023 after booking back in July 2022 with Clara. From the first time we visited this place we just fell in love, the hotel, the gardens, the staff! Just incredible. From a little girl growing up i’ve been coming to visit Beaulieu for years and have always loved the picturesque magic it holds, with its horses and donkeys wondering around the cobbled streets! The Montagu has such a warm and homely vibe to it, The gardens are kept spectacular and the staff are incredible! So warm and friendly! Nothing is too much to ask! We wanted a small affair with just our immediate family and it was really important to us to have our dog Logie as our ring bearer, which Montagu was perfect for as their dog friendly! Clara was absolutely amazing from start to finish helping us with everything we needed, Any questions we had were always quickly answered via email and the day ran so perfectly we had no worries all day just pure excitement!! The actual wedding day was everything and more, just incredible. Myself, my maid of honour, flower girl and mum and dad stayed over the night before in the beautiful courtyard rooms which are stunning! and had a beautiful breakfast in the morning in our rooms before My hair and make up artist Olivia arrived around 8-9 to start getting us girls ready! The whole morning was so relaxing and organised, Clara collected everything i had to give to the suppliers when they arrived and my flowers were brought down to me by the fantastic Jo Wicks!!! Highly recommend! Absolutely incredible flower arrangements my bouquet, the ceremony room and the wedding breakfast was out of this world stunning!!!! Also flower crowns for my flower girls wow!!! Had so many compliments on these they were so full and just incredible! From the moment i entered the ceremony room i was just wowed! Looking round at everything we’d been planning for the last year come to life and then the wedding breakfast room which was just even more beautiful. The wedding breakfast food was out of this world, with comments from our guests that the seabass was the best seabass they’ve ever had! The whole day was just everything we’d ever dreamed of and more and were so grateful to Montagu arms for making it such a incredible day and chilled experience for us! We had no worries or concerns during the whole process. We would like to make a special shout-out to Jared who was Amazing waiting on all our guests hand and foot, sorting out the music and having a laugh with us and our guests! You really did help create a great atmosphere throughout our wedding breakfast and was always checking if there was anything more you could get myself and the groom! Ourselves and our guests absolutely loved you and are so grateful you were working on our special day! Thank you! & Matt who keeps Montagu arms gardens so beautiful! What a Lovely guy! He helped my make up artist with her stuff down to our room, and was really welcoming to our guests and gave myself and the groom some seeds to plant in spring which are the same flowers which were in the gardens on our wedding which is so special and we’ll most definitely be planting them! Such a nice touch thank you!! & Clara you are absolutely amazing at what you do, from start to finish you made us feel so relaxed and just excited throughout the whole process THANK YOU. If your thinking about getting married here don’t think twice! The whole experiance was 10/10 for us. Highly recommend!!
  • K
    Kasia W. Sent on 16/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolute Perfection on Our Best Day Ever

    Clara and the Team delivered the best day ever! Everything was delivered to perfection, we had s super relaxed day. We had an exclusive use of the venue, all of our guests were really well looked after. The venue itself is stunning and the location couldn’t be better. Loved every minute of our day!
  • Jessica
    Jessica M. Sent on 24/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A wonderful team and beautiful setting

    We were impressed by the Montagu Arms as soon as we walked through the door and met with Clara our wedding coordinator, we even made a list of everything we loved about the venue. The hotel is luxurious and cosy at the same time, and the donkeys roaming in the village just add another level of enchantment.
    We couldn’t have asked for a more friendly, attentive and professional group of people to plan and run our big day.

  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • E
    Eloise A. Sent on 16/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our wedding

    Everything and everyone was perfect for our day, we couldn’t have asked for any better! I feel so grateful and lucky we found this hotel. We wanted a small intimate day, 16 people all together. All of our guests have said it was the best wedding they have been to and it really was down to the staff, venue and amazing food! We had vegans, pregnant women and babies and we were accommodated to so well! We can’t wait to go back as it was some of the best food we have ever! Couldn’t recommend enough.
  • Liz
    Liz N. Sent on 18/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Luxurious perfection!!

    We couldn’t have chosen anywhere more perfect for our winter wedding. Clara and the team created such a wonderful and flawless evening, arranging just about everything so all we had to do was turn up!! We had a small intimate service and supper in the oak room which felt truly special with candle light and Christmas decorations, roaring fires and a cosy and warm atmosphere throughout. The food is outstanding and the service incredibly attentive, nothing was too much trouble. I really couldn’t recommend this venue enough and thank you Montagu Arms for creating such a wonderful occasion 💕
  • Julia
    Julia M. Sent on 26/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Micro winter wedding

    My husband and me still think back to our small big day a lot. We celebrated our wedding at the montagu arms in winter with a cosy round of about 20 people. Everything went super smooth. The bridal party arrived with me in the morning and we got room to get us ready before the ceremony in the afternoon, my husband arrived a little later and got a seperate space for the final touches. I really cant fault anything, the communication was great, the drinks reception, the discretion in changing the room for dinner while we settled for cocktails and pictures. The food was to die for, the sommelier did such a great job the wine pairings were superb. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings. On the run up to our wedding we were able to change the menu from pre-existing choices or to communicate preferences to the head-chef; we opted to communicate with the head-chef as the dinner part was the most important for our day (we had no dancing or anything so the focus was really on the experience around the food, wine and company). The head-chef kindly came up with a seasonal menu that matched the feel of our wedding. Even though we didnt have the exclusive use of the hotel we didnt feel like on display. The seperation of areas was done nicely and discrete.
    And the next morning we and some of our wedding guests that decided to stay at the hotel went for a really relaxed and well rounded breakfast.
    We could not have asked for more and we certainly think this whole day has turned out so much better then what we had hoped for.
    So thank you very much again!

    Ps. There is some lovely picture spots all around the hotel so definitely let your photographer check the location out. Worth it!
  • Charlotte
    Charlotte W. Sent on 16/08/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue, Amazing Food, Attentive Staff

    Our intimate, last minute winter wedding was phenomenal. The venue itself is situated in the quaint, picturesque village of Beaulieu, surrounded by and the ethereal New Forest. A nearby lake has swans drifting along, neighboured by the wild donkeys grazing at the land. It perfectly set the scene for our guests who were travelling from out of town. "Showing off a bit here, mate?" were the first words from the Best Man. The staff were incredibly helpful, from our wedding coordinator Clara, to the wait staff, reception team and housekeeping. Nothing was too much bother, even for our small wedding. The recommended suppliers were outstanding, were well acquainted with the venue and knew exactly what they were doing. The venue itself has endless photograph opportunities, and plenty of places for guests to trickle off into groups as you enjoy the reception. The only critique of the whole experience was that our sober (no alcohol) guests weren't catered for, even though this was highlighted under dietary requirements/special requests. This became a problem during toasts as well as the wedding breakfast, where alcohol included in our package was plentiful, but our sober guests were left empty handed. A very minor inconvenience to an otherwise exceptional day. If we were to do it all again, there is nowhere else we'd rather pick. We look forward to returning on our anniversary!
  • S
    Sarah M. Sent on 17/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A truly wonderful & romantic experience

    We were married here last September in a small, intimidate and magical ceremony. The ambience, setting and facilities were so enjoyable and truly gorgeous. From the outset the assistance with flowers, cakes, photography, accommodation and family requirements were brilliant and all the staff were very professional and helpful. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Montagu Arms Hotel. Thank you for making our special day even better than we had thought possible.
  • Sally
    Sally W. Sent on 16/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Nothing was too much trouble and staff were amazing!

    We opted for a small ceremony in the Oakwood Room and we wouldn't change a thing. From the initial visit to the day itself, we could not fault our experience. The Montagu Arms were extremely accomodating, going the extra mile for our 2 dogs also. They made my 8 year old son feel like an absolute gentleman and they treated him with the same respect as everyone else but also found time to entertain him too, making sure he had the best day. The food was incredible and they were very accomodating with people's requirements (there were many given we had only 14 guests and some with additional needs). The building and rooms are superb and all staff, including the housekeeping staff and the gardener, were just delightful. They take real pride in everything they do at the Montagu Arms. As soon as we visited we knew instantly there was no need to view anywhere else and it was absolutely the best decision.
  • M
    Matthew R. Sent on 13/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just fabulous

    We had our wedding at the Montagu Arms in the New Forest. An intimate affair with only 8 Guests and 2 children. What an experience, the management and staff made us feel like a million dollars and nothing was too much trouble. Every last detail was carried out perfectly. Food was exquisite and the setting perfect for that intimate affair. The room was dressed beautifully and the accommodation was superb. Cannot recommend highly enough. Thank you Montagu
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message