Skip to main content
Weddings

The Moat House Hotel Reviews

The Moat House Hotel

The Moat House Hotel

Stafford, Staffordshire
5.0 out of 5 rating, 152 reviews
More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
152 reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2023 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2022 Winner
  • Tegan
    Tegan B. Sent on 11/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Wonderful June Wedding at The Moat House

    Me and my (now) husband tied the knot at The Moat House last week and had the most perfect day! Emily was our wedding coordinator and was fantastic in organizing all of the finer details. We felt very well supported, listened to and looked after on the day. We are extremely happy with how everything went from the ceremony, the wedding breakfast to the evening reception. We keep saying that we want to do it all over again as just had the BEST day! Thank you so much to Emily and the wonderful wedding team for giving us a day that we will treasure forever!
  • Gemma
    Gemma C. Sent on 10/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful wedding venue

    We had the most amazing wedding day, from start to finish everything was absolutely perfect and exactly how we wanted it. The team were so helpful and responsive throughout the planning process and Emily was amazing on the day! The venue and its surroundings are stunning, endless picture opportunities, we had so many compliments on our choice of venue. We couldn’t recommend the Moat House enough, from the moment we viewed it we knew it was for us, thank you for bringing our wedding plans to life!
  • Jessica
    Jessica Sent on 08/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fanastic venue

    If you're getting married go and visit the Moat House to see its beautiful photo opportunities and the beautiful venue. The staff are so attentive and always on hand to help! Throughout the planning process they constantly meet or call you to keep things up to date and ensure your day runs so smooth. We can't thank Vicky and the team enough for preparing us for this day any better than they did! They all go above and beyond even helping with jobs with our suppliers which were out of their hands! Our guests had nothing but compliments for food and rooms too. We had an amazing time and couldn't of done it without you. If we could do it again we'd be back we made the best choice on the best day with the best people! Thank you all soooo much! Head down you will NOT be dissappointed.

    The Moat House Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! It was a pleasure to see your dreams for your big day come to life and to look after yourselves, family & friends.
    We wish you a life time of happiness and look forward to seeing you on many an anniversary in the future.

    Best wishes

    Vicky and the Events Team at the Moat House
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Hollie
    Hollie K. Sent on 06/06/2024
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience

    We had the most wonderful wedding day and Victoria always went that extra mile for us within the planning and also on the day she is truly a superstar. The venue is fantastic and we had so many compliments on our day and the surroundings of the venue.

    The Moat House Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! It was a pleasure to see your dreams for your big day come to life and to look after yourselves, family & friends.
    We wish you a life time of happiness and look forward to seeing you on many an anniversary in the future.

    Best wishes

    Vicky and the Events Team at the Moat House
  • R
    Ryan C. Sent on 30/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Day of Our Lives

    We got married on October 31st and The Moat House looked absolutely amazing at the height of autumn. Emily Hewitt did a fantastic job of taking care of the day and we couldn’t be happier with how everything turned out. We’d definitely recommend this venue to any couple who are looking for their marriage!

    The Moat House Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! It was a pleasure to meet you both and your family & friends. Your décor was amazing! Also, the phone... WOW!! We wish you the best for the future. I am sure we will see you soon.

    Best wishes

    Emily and The Moat House Weddings & Events Team!
  • D
    David K. Sent on 26/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Emily...chloe...vikki

    Our wedding experience with the moat house was fantastic from start to finish..the wedding coordinator was superb...we felt very special, one very small disappointment was the lady on reception was rude , my wife arrived on boxing day she was not very helpful to her & guest hairdresser .This did not spoil our perfect day just thought I needed to mention it .

    The Moat House Hotel's reply:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It was a pleasure to be a part of your special day. I do apologise for the service you received whilst Mandy was checking in to the hotel. This is not our usual standard and the member of staff in question will be receiving additional training, so that we can ensure our high standards are maintained in order to rectify the issues you have raised.
    I am so glad this did not hinder your enjoyment of your special day. We wish you both the very best in the future and hope to see you both soon.

    Huge congratulations to you both.

    Best wishes

    Emily
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie H. Sent on 23/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing service

    Amazing setting, great weather and fabulous service. The team catered for the needs of my guest really well and provide an amazing service
  • Z
    Zara K. Sent on 15/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Seamless from start to finish

    From the very first viewing of the Moat House we knew it was where we wanted to get married. The grounds were incredible and a perfect backdrop for photographs and the rooms were exactly what we were looking for space and set up wise. The price was right and we booked up a couple of weeks after our first visit.
    From then each member of the wedding team were fantastic. They had a member of the team leave not long after we booked our wedding and who we had had most dealings with, Emily was then introduced to us and she made me feel at ease immediately with her capabilities. No matter when, or what time of day I had burning questions to ask in relation to our day my messages were responded too almost immediately, and what I found most impressive was that any one in the team was able to respond to me and give me an answer, they all knew who we were, what stage we were at and how to answer our questions - and I had a lot of them!! Nothing was too much for the wedding team at The Moat House, from small changes to the menus, catering to individual needs, to fussy children, and tweaking details here and there.
    Every month from 12 months out we had an email sent to us helping us countdown and give us tips, dates for our diary or a heads up for any official meetings we needed to have at the Moat House.
    I was NEVER left wondering what I needed to do, when or what we needed to pay or chase for meetings. It was all in order and organised well in advance.
    Our day came and we received many a compliments on how fabulous and seamless our day ran from start to finish. Our guests complimented Emily and her professionalism and her ability to deliver our day this way.
    Emily took on my vision of how I wanted the ceremony room and the wedding breakfast room to look and "smashed it out of the park" - it was better than I ever imagined it would be!! Emily took the time to check on my husband and I individually throughout the day, asking if there was anything else she could do for us, and finally before heading home for a well earned rest!! Thank you all for making our wedding day everything we dreamed it would be.

    Mr & Mrs Stubbs

    The Moat House Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! It was a pleasure to meet you both and to coordinate your wedding day and I am very glad you enjoyed it. We wish you the best for the future. I am sure we will see you soon.

    Best wishes

    Emily and The Moat House Weddings & Events Team!
  • SunnyPinkDecor99530
    Emily B. Sent on 12/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing day, wouldn’t change a thing!

    We booked with the moat house 18months before our wedding and were amazed at how affordable they were for such a stunning venue (we chose mid week and out of season in October). We had regular meetings with Emily (wedding coordinator) and also received emails with updates, tips and suggestions on what we should be doing to help things tick along in the build up. The Moat house were so flexible for all suggestions on our day, they even made a cocktail from a recipe that we provided in memory of my brother who has passed away so our guests could have one in his memory. We also hired chairs and tables through the moat house who were by far cheaper than the venue dresser companies. We felt our day was so personal with everything well thought through to represent us as a couple. I stayed at the venue the night before the wedding and as there was no function on that evening I was allowed to set my DIY decorations up in the room that evening which was amazing as I could relax the next morning.

    My mum, bridesmaids and me had a continental breakfast in the library whilst getting ready which was the perfect start to the day. From the get go the staff were so attentive and helpful. To my knowledge, there were no hiccups at all. Vicky (wedding coordinator) was there whenever we needed her and had usually sorted any queries that we had before we even had chance to ask. She guided us through the day ensuring I got ready and down the aisle in time and that all of the guests were happy. Vicky even went to great lengths to make sure the train on my wedding dress was perfect as I walked down the aisle - how amazing! After the ceremony we had a little drive around the village in an old Land Rover that we had hired (with a glass of champagne supplied by the moat house) which was perfect. Vicky also ensured we had time to get some photos in the rowing boat (under her expertise without falling in!) which was such a beautiful experience and I would highly recommend doing. We also hired a live illustrator (Honey Bee Illustrates) to paint our guests as their wedding favour and Vicky was kind enough to let all of the guests know to go to her for a painting made which I was very grateful for as I’d forgotten to tell a lot of the guests myself before hand. All of our guests commented on how beautiful the venue was and our wedding photos really show the perfect rustic autumnal feel that we wanted. The food was incredible including the canapés and it was amazing having our own bar which reduced waiting times. We chose to have the four poster bedroom as or bridal suite as we felt it was more rustic and cosy with a gorgeous view of the canal compared to the usual bridal suite which is much larger but at the front of the building.

    We finished the celebrations off with a joint breakfast the next morning with all of our families and friends who had stayed at the venue to talk about all of our favourite bits (and some to nurse a hangover) before our guests departed for their journeys.

    We had the most incredible wedding day and will value the memories made for a lifetime. We’re so glad we paid extra for a nicer photographer (Esme Whiteside) and have some incredible photos to remember our day by. There’s nothing that we’d change and nothing we could even suggest to improve on, it was perfect. We’re so grateful to Vicky, Emily and all the team at the moat house and can’t wait to go back for our 1 year anniversary.

    The Moat House Hotel's reply:

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback !!!

    It was a pleasure to have looked after yourselves, family and friends on your wedding day, we are so glad your day was perfect for you.

    We look forward to seeing you on many an anniversary in the future and wish you a lifetime of happiness.

    Best wishes Vicky Emily and everyone from the events team at the Moat House
  • Leanne
    Leanne Sent on 21/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Day

    We had our wedding day on 10th September and could not have asked for more. Both Emily and Chloe were fantastic at organising our day, making suggestions and ensuring everything went as planned. Nothing was too much trouble. All the staff are pleasant and helpful. Would highly recommend.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours