The Hospitium Verified Reviews

67 | York (North Yorkshire)
View More Information

67 Reviews for The Hospitium

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • P

    Pete · Married on 14/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect wedding venue!

    We had our wedding at The Hospitium last week and could not have wished for a better venue! Claire and the team were extremely helpful in the run up to the big day and then from start to finish on the day, meaning that we didn't have to worry about a thing. Thank again for helping to make it our perfect day!

    Sent on 22/09/2018
  • T

    T · Married on 19/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding of our Dreams

    We could not be happier with our choice of the Hospitium as our wedding venue. Having only got engaged in October 2017, we had a very short engagement! When I contacted the Hospitium, we went to look round the very next day! As soon as we saw it, we fell in love. It is so beautiful inside and the location is unrivalled.
    Throughout the whole planning process, Claire and Eve the wedding planners were so helpful, responding to emails amazingly quickly and always being supportive and lovely.
    On the day itself, the venue looked absolutely magical, thanks in part to the staff who helped us set everything up! There were so many people around making sure everything ran perfectly - from the security guards, to Claire and Eve, to all the other staff at the venue constantly ensuring everyone was having a great time. The catering from Bradshaws was delicious - several of our guests have contacted us to say it was the best wedding food they've ever had - and especially good at catering for special diets. We had children, vegans, vegetarians, coeliacs and nut allergies and every single person got a three-course meal of impeccable standards.
    It is also a really accessible venue. We had elderly grandparents in attendance and it was great that there was a ramp into the venue, a lift to the upper level and a disabled toilet. Staff were very helpful in opening the Marygate gates so that taxis could drive right up to the door, meaning those who struggled to walk didn't have to trek across the gardens and could be dropped off and picked up easily.
    I would 100% recommend the Hospitium as a wedding venue as I think it is such good value for a fantastic setting and wonderful staff.

    Sent on 26/05/2018
  • C

    Chris · Married on 09/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect winter wedding!

    We got married here on 9th December, it's a perfect venue for a wedding and everyone commented on how unique and special the venue was. The Hospitium staff and Bradshaws catering staff were superb from start to finish during our planning and day itself. It's great value too compared to other venues we look at and nice that it contributes towards the upkeep of the museum gardens. Nothing to fault with anything, it's a special venue with great staff.

    The ceremony room downstairs is beautiful with the stone columns and window seats. Our florist Fiona Hogg did an incredible job with decorating it. The upstairs room for the meal is great to not have any turnaround time between the night do and is ideal for the 100 people we had.

    Couldn't recommend this highly enough for a wedding or just a visit. Tucked away in the centre of York you don't feel at all like you're in a city centre.

    Sent on 19/12/2017
  • D

    David · Married on 01/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fishlock and Jenkins wedding 1st April 2017

    Our daughter Adelle was married to David And held their reception at the Hospitium.
    From our first viewing to the end of the reception everything was first class.
    The staff were brilliant the catering exceptional from Bradshaws.
    The ultimate compliment is to say if the wedding was taking place next week we would not change a single thing.
    A big thank you to all concerned. Brilliant, and we have no reservations in recommending this venue to anyone.

    Sent on 04/04/2017
  • J

    Jean · Married on 25/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing wedding venue

    In September our daughter got married at The Hospitium and it was just THE MOST PERFECT day! The building is absolutely beautiful- full of history and character- and the setting within the museum gardens is delightful. The gardens and surroundings are picturesque In every season, and the Abbey ruins are wonderful for photographs.
    The staff at The Hospitium were just fantastic. We were shown round early in the year by Claire who oversaw the whole process of organising the wedding and who finally supervised the actual event. We cannot thank Claire and also Eve enough for all their help- it was faultless and nothing was too much trouble for them. Bradshaw's the caterers were also brilliant, again we could not fault them. Everyone who attended the wedding said what a fantastic wedding it was, with many guests commenting that it was one of the the best weddings that they had attended. Thank you once again for a perfect day!

    Sent on 20/01/2017
  • T

    Tom

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Wedding

    We had our wedding here on 19th of December 2015.
    The intimacy of this historical venue along with its beautiful museum grounds, and the city of York offered a trip to be remembered by our guests who flew from all over the world. The staff was kind, warm and professional. The food was absolutely wonderful. We wished we all had a bigger stomache! It was delicious! It truly was the perfect day for us and all of our guests. Thank you for the wonderful memories of a lifetime. --Tom and Yebin

    Sent on 22/01/2016
  • T

    Tom

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Wedding

    We had our wedding here on 19th of December 2015.
    The intimacy of this historical venue along with its beautiful museum grounds, and the city of York offered a trip to be remembered by our guests who flew from all over the world. The staff was kind, warm and professional. The food was absolutely wonderful. We wished we all had a bigger stomache! It was delicious! It truly was the perfect day for us and all of our guests. Thank you for the wonderful memories of a lifetime. --Tom and Yebin

    Sent on 22/01/2016
  • S

    Ste

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful building, helpful staff - perfect venue!

    Originally, we picked the Hospitium almost at random; just because it seemed like a nice building, and was both large enough to fit our nearly 100 guests, and convenient for everyone to reach. However, our random choice turned out to be an incredible stroke of luck, and I don't think we could have asked for a better venue.

    The gardens make a good place for photos - we had an autumn wedding, and the trees give everything a lovely golden colour. You will get a lot of tourists asking to take your photo too!

    The building itself retains its medieval charm, but it's comfortable and accessible (there are lifts). The stone pillars downstairs look great with lights and greenery (one note about these - they can block some guests' view, so bear that in mind when planning seating, and perhaps let people move out of their seats a bit). The upstairs, with black-and-white timber, looks good with gold decorations and a few black-and-white highlights. We fit about 95 people upstairs - a bit of a tight squeeze with the buffet and top table, but if you have a sit-down meal you can apparently fit a few more tables in.

    The venue does have dedicated caterers and a DJ, but we had no problems with either of these (the DJ has surprisingly good taste for a wedding DJ!) and the food was incredible. (One odd detail - although it was a buffet, you had to ask specially for vegetarian options. I'd recommend asking for veg to be put alongside the meat)

    Finally, the staff themselves were great. Our contact was always available to answer questions and show us around the building. Overall, a beautiful - and more importantly, stress-free! - place to get married.

    Sent on 27/10/2015
  • S

    Sue

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Easter wedding venue

    We held our wedding ceremony and reception at the Hospitium this Easter – and it was fantastic. Not only is the venue perfect, but the sun was shining too!
    The Hospitium staff couldn’t have been more helpful, making time for us from the initial enquiry a couple of years earlier, all the way through to the wedding. Our florist, Sarah Elizabeth, dressed the venue perfectly, both upstairs and downstairs. Bradshaws, the caterers, made wonderful canapés and wedding breakfast, in addition to running the bar. A Taste of Italy’s tricyle provided the ice cream and Chris Milner captured it all perfectly on camera. The Hospitium staff made it all work together and we can’t recommend the Hospitium highly enough.

    Sent on 24/08/2015
  • S

    Stephen

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Superb Wedding Venue

    We hosted our daughter's wedding at 'The Hospitium' in July 2014. Their staff were wonderful and very flexible to our wishes. Our florist (Mandy) who regularly works there, decorated the hall beautifully to our requirements including a floral, petal pathway alongside the aisle. It was enchanting. Upstairs, the wedding breakfast layout was designed to suit our numbers and wishes. The staff decorated the hall with our supplied, lighting strings and bunting to our tastes. We had 60 guests, seated comfortably. There is room for more. We had the service downstairs, then drinks, canapes and photos (Chris Miller) outside in York Museum gardens. The many fine old limestone ruins make a superb background for pictures. The stairs outside the venue allow a photographer to picture all guests below from a great vantage point. The cash bar gave a good choice of quality beers, wines and spirits. We enjoyed a superb wedding-breakfast upstairs. Regular caterers, 'Bradshaws' were excellent. They gave a good choice of available menus and wines. Their serving staff were well-trained, experienced, flexible and friendly. Hot food was served quickly so that no-one was left waiting for food. Meanwhile, Hospitium staff cleared the downstairs area, so that a live group, could play for guests and start the dancing. In a break at 9pm we had our recorded music whilst a buffet was served upstairs. The band started up again to finish off the evening superbly. The downstairs area made a great dancing area, as well as having been a reverential site for the earlier wedding service. The best wedding ever attended was a view expressed to us by many guests. A fantastic service by the Hospitium and the other providers. We thoroughly recommend the whole package. We cannot thank 'The Hospitium' staff enough. Profits help York Museum and gardens.

    Sent on 31/07/2014