The Great House at Sonning Verified Reviews

44 | Kings Ride (Berkshire)
View More Information

44 Reviews for The Great House at Sonning

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 4.9
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • J

    Jodi S. · Married on 03/09/2020

    4.6
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best Little & Local COVID wedding!

    We decided to have a Little & Local wedding last September, instead of the BIG Cornwall plan, and chose The Great House as our venue. Such a lovely location and a laid back vibe which was exactly what we wanted, and we’re so happy we made that decision as the team were amazing!! So flexible with our many wants and changes, able to cope with all our different dietary needs and on the day, the team were BRILLIANT! Everything went according to plan, from the table settings to the delicious wedding breakfast and we can’t thank them enough! The absolute perfect day and eight months on, we’re still on a high! Big shout especially to Corrina, Charlotte, Amy Claire and Clare who helped our vision come to life!

    Sent on 03/05/2021
  • L

    Libby · Married on 12/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical day despite covid derailment

    We couldn’t be more thankful and appreciative of the service and event we held at The Great House, Sonning, on 12 July 2020. We were due to tie the knot in May 2020 but the pandemic prevented us doing so. We had about 2 weeks to get up and running for the 12 July but with the support of the events team and our families it was an event to remember. Superb staff, food and setting. Would highly recommend. We had just 10 for both the ceremony and meal. There is a beautiful small space for the ceremony. Thank you to the Great House and Team!

    Sent on 14/07/2020
  • D

    Debbie · Married on 04/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just want to say a massive thank you to you and the team for making mine and Rays day on Friday such a wonderful experience. Everyone had nothing but good things to say and enjoyed every moment and a lot of that is to do with the help and support we had from the team. Izzy was brilliant, I am so pleased we chose The Great House to help host our special day. We will be back!!

    Love Debbie and Ray x

    Sent on 07/10/2019
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 02/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you so much for everything.

    I am just writing to say a huge thank you to you and the team at The Great House for everything that was done to make our wedding such an amazing day.

    Our friends and family also thought the venue, catering and the team on the day were fantastic. The team went above and beyond all day even down one of your colleagues helping to walk my Grandad over to reception to check in to his room as he is very unsteady on his feet.

    Kate was a very calming influence on the morning of the wedding. There was a lot of 'flapping' going on in the room with everyone trying to get ready and get over to the ceremony and Kate was amazing at letting me know she had everything under control so that I could focus on not falling over whilst walking down the aisle.

    You were fantastic at answering all of our many queries and never made us feel that we were asking too much. The additional touches of the deck chairs, the igloo and the gin bar were great elements to our day and very much appreciated.

    We will always rave about The Great House as a wedding venue as it is not only a beautiful venue to get married in but the team themselves are the stars of the show!

    Thank you so much for everything.

    Sent on 28/08/2019
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 02/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It completely exceeded what we imagined.

    We just wanted to say a huge thank you to you and the team at the Great House. We had such an amazing day; to us it all ran so smoothly which I understand means that a lot of hard work goes on behind the scenes. The team were so attentive and fantastic so we are very grateful for this. It completely exceeded what we imagined.
    And Corrina thank you so much for being so patient - nothing was every too much trouble and you made the whole planning process so smooth and easy - again we appreciate how much hard work goes on.
    From the moment I spoke to you on the phone to book a look round you were so kind and open which was so refreshing from speaking to a few other venues.
    So thank you again!

    Our guests were really impressed with the venue, food, friendliness of staff and accommodation. Several friends and family members have mentioned that when they come up and visit that they will stay at The Great House instead of staying with us! (Not offended! ??)

    Sent on 28/08/2019
  • D

    Dave · Married on 26/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Time

    Just a quick email to say thanks to you and all the team at The Great House for helping to make our wedding day so special. We had an amazing time and have memories we’ll cherish forever.

    Kate and her colleagues were superb at making sure things flowed smoothly and constantly checked that we were ok throughout the day. They are a credit to the business.

    Thanks again for everything.

    With very best regards,

    Dave & Andrea

    Sent on 30/05/2019
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    very successful wedding at your lovely hotel

    We are back from our Honeymoon, which was wonderful, and wanted to write to you to say a huge thank you for everything you did for us to make our wedding at The Great House a success.

    Your planning and advice was excellent, and your team were great on the day. Kate and her staff were brilliant! She kept us calm before the ceremony and kept us fully informed on what was happening. She and the team looked after us so well throughout the afternoon.

    The Singing Waiters Masters were a hit! Thank you for keeping it a secret. Our guests (and I hope your staff) thoroughly enjoyed their performance.

    All in all a very successful wedding at your lovely location.

    Sent on 23/05/2019
  • H

    Helen · Married on 10/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Day

    "We just wanted to email to say thank you so much for all of your help with planning our wedding. We had the perfect day and it wouldn’t have been possible without you guys.

    Lots of the guests were complimenting the venue, the food and the great service as well.

    Please pass on this thank you to Emma, Claire, Ollie and the rest of the team who were working on the day.

    Keep up the good work!
    "

    Sent on 11/05/2018
  • D

    Daniel · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly a day to remember!

    Thank you so much, and I can assure you we and all our guests absolutely loved the whole experience at Great House Lodge, from start to finish everything was perfect, I don’t think we would have changed anything, the lodge was immaculate, the table layout, service and food. We were very confident in your team.

    I would like to pay special attention to Corrina, Ami and Ollie who were so good from start to finish! You made our day very smooth and coordinated, and were there to help at all times, and of course also the service (food/bar) staff who were impeccable and very polite and friendly.

    Overall - the setup of the lodge was great, it worked perfectly for us, with plenty of space for our guests to move around and talk to each other as well as have a dance later on, the outside space was great.

    The food was really good, I remember how so many people were saying how good the food was, how well it was cooked and tasted, even Marianna and I realised it was even better than the menu tasting.

    We loved the Riverview suite room, it is stunning. Overall the whole experience was magical, we look forward to coming back soon and seeing the staff and expressing our thanks personally.

    Thanks again, for us and our guests it was truly a day to remember.

    Sent on 06/10/2017