Skip to main content
Weddings

Riddle's Court Reviews

Riddle's Court

Riddle's Court

Edinburgh, Lothian & Borders
5.0 out of 5 rating, 19 reviews
More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
19 reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2023 Winner
  • Dr Mary-Elizabeth
    Mary-Elizabeth C. Sent on 11/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic venue

    My husband and I held our 35-guest wedding afternoon and dinner reception and then 60-strong evening ceilidh at Riddle’s Court. We have been so delighted during the process of booking the wedding. Taylah made things so easy and seamless from the start. All our (many!) questions were answered comprehensively and professionally. The response time was so fast and every problem we encountered (at one point we struggled with a caterer) and this was easily fixed with a recommendation to Culinarians who excellent with amazing food on the day. Riddle’s court were so accommodating with the amount of DIY decor we brought and let us set this up the day prior to the wedding which really helped. They also had some excellent wedding decor in their inventory that we made the most out of. We cannot recommend riddle’s court highly enough- we had the BEST wedding and it was such good value. Thanks Taylah (and Hope for on the day coordination)!
  • F
    Fara K. Sent on 26/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A simply stunning venue with a great team

    Although they joined quite late in our process, the new team at Riddle’s Court of Maria and Erin really went out of their way to look after us and our guests and you could see that it was important to them that we had a great day. All things planned - and some things unplanned! - combined to make an unforgettable, emotional and joyful wedding day.

    The food supplied by Scott’s Kitchen and cooked by their executive chef Brian was simply beyond our expectations and is a meal we will remember for the rest of our lives. We were also really happy that we had the menu tasting as part of our package as it was a meal worth appreciating in its own right.

    We didn’t need to spend a fortune on wedding decorations as the venue speaks for itself and there are plenty of decorations on site that you can use.

    We keep pinching ourselves that we had such a beautiful wedding in the heart of historic Edinburgh.
  • Sarah
    Sarah N. Sent on 24/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A beautiful hidden gem of a venue

    We had our Art Deco inspired wedding in June 2022 at Riddle's Court for 60 day/80 evening guests. It was everything that we could have imagined and more! The historic venue itself is truly stunning and unique, it tied in perfectly with the vintage feel of our wedding.

    It was such a pleasure having Gail, Kirsty, Erin and the rest of the Riddle's Court team coordinate and work on our big day from the initial visit and planning stages, all the way through to the on-the-day event management.

    Initially, our wedding had some early set-backs due to the pandemic, but Gail was very understanding and accommodating and supported us fully in our endeavours to get things back-on-track despite the several postponements.

    The day itself went very seamlessly and was relaxed. The team were on hand to deal with any minor issues - no ask or query ever felt too much.

    Our guests commented on what a beautiful day it was and everyone had a fantastic time. Thanks again to Riddle's Court for giving me the wedding of my dreams!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Louise
    Louise L. Sent on 08/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A beautiful venue

    We had our wedding reception at Riddles Court in April 2022. From the beginning of planning we were always drawn to Riddles Court. It is such a beautiful and unique building hidden away off the Royal Mile. Gail, Jenna and the rest of the team were fantastic throughout planning and on the day and thanks to them we had a brilliant wedding reception!

    Riddle's Court's reply:

    Louise , it was such a great day. As for your first dance, we'll never forget it - beautiful! Thanks for choosing Riddle's Court . We're looking forward to seeing your pics.
    The Team at Riddle's Court
  • Lauren
    Lauren N. Sent on 06/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous Historic Venue with Impeccable Service

    Our wedding for around 30 people at Riddle’s Court was beyond what we could have ever imagined. The venue is absolutely gorgeous and unique and is centrally located off the Royal Mile in Edinburgh. Gail and her team created a detailed schedule, handled all set-up, and collaborated with our coordinator seamlessly to make sure our guests felt welcomed and everything ran smoothly. We felt so cared for. We would highly recommend Riddle’s Court to anyone!

    Riddle's Court's reply:

    Hi Lauren,

    It was lovely to finally meet you all. We're so glad your experience at Riddle's Court met all expectations.

    We hope your guests enjoyed being piped down The Royal Mile to Wedgewood and that everyone left with fond memories of their time here in Edinburgh.

    The Team at Riddle's Court
  • Heather
    Heather F. Sent on 04/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bespoke wedding made easy!

    From the first moment we contacted Riddle's Court to the end of the reception, our experience was perfectly tailored to our needs and budget. Gail and team were phenomenal on every detail. We had a micro wedding, planned from abroad, and the RC booklet made it easy to celebrate our Scottish heritage with close family and friends!

    Riddle's Court's reply:

    Hi Heather,

    Thanks for the kind words. It was such a lovely afternoon. We were glad to have been able to share it with you all.
    We hope your travels go well and wish you a safe return to Hong Kong when the time comes.

    The Team at Riddle's Court
  • Lisa
    Lisa B. Sent on 15/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Completely Perfect in every way

    WE RECENTLY HAD OUR WEDDING AT RIDDLE'S COURT AND WE COULD NOT BE HAPPIER.

    WE FIRST SAW THE VENUE ALMOST 2 YEARS AGO, BEING SHOWN ROUND BY SOMEONE WHO WAS SO ENTHUSIATIC ABOUT THE VENUE THAT YOU COULD SEE THE BEAUTY AND PASSION OF THIS HISTORIC BUILDING. WE INSTANTLY FELL IN LOVE WITH THE PLACE. FROM THE VERY FIRST COMMUNICATION RIGHT UP UNTIL TODAY THE STAFF HAVE BEEN NOTHING SHORT OF AMAZING. THEY HAVE BEEN THERE EVERY STEP OF THE WAY; ANSWERING EVERY QUESTION WITH GREAT CARE AND DETAIL, AND SINCE THE COVID CRISIS, HAVE BEEN INCERDIBLY SUPPORTIVE. WE HAD TO CHANGE OUR WEDDING DATE, AND THEN WE LOST OUR CATERERS, BUT EVEN WITH FURLOUGHED STAFF THEY WERE THERE TO QUICKLY PUT OUR MINDS AT EASE AND HELP US WITH NOT ONLY NEW CATERING OPTIONS, BUT ALSO WHAT OUR OPTIONS WERE WITH EACH NEW RESTRICTION THAT WAS THEN ANNOUNCED.

    WE COULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS PLACE ENOUGH.

    THE VENUE ITSELF IS BEAUTIFUL, FULL OF HISTORY AND EASILY ACCESSIBLE, WE DIDN'T HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT HOW ANY OF OUR GUESTS WOULD GET THERE, OR WORRY HOW OUR MOBILITY IMPAIRED GUESTS WOULD GET AROUND; WITH GREAT VIEWS OVER EDINBURGH AND A CENTRAL LOCATION, IT'S A GREAT CHOICE. THE LOVELY ON SITE APARTMENT WAS PERFECT FOR THAT ROMANTIC PLACE TO STAY AND GET READY IN AS WELL.

    THE DAY OF THE WEDDING WAS AMAZING; IF ANYTHING HAD GONE WRONG BEHIND SCENES WE WOULD NEVER HAVE KNOWN. RIDDLE'S COURT LOOKED STUNNING, AND DESPITE THE DAY NOT BEING EXACTLY AS ORIGINALLY PLANNED (THANKS COVID), IT WAS COMPLETLEY PERFECT. WE DIDN'T HAVE TO THINK ABOUT A SINGLE THING, THE STAFF KEPT EVERYTHING RUNNING ON TIME, WERE ABLE TO HELP OUR GUESTS, AND IN GENERAL HELPED US HAVE A SMOOTH AND WONDERFUL DAY.

    WE'D ALSO LIKE TO MENTION BOTH GAIL AND ROSEANNE FROM RIDDLE'S COURT, WITHOUT WHOM THE DAY WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN THE SAME. THEY WERE BOTH THERE TO HELP US IN EVERYWAY, ALWAYS QUICK TO RESPOND, NO QUESTION TOO SMALL OR TOO DIFFICULT.

    IN SUMMARY, IF YOU ARE THINKING OF HAVING YOUR WEDDING HERE, GO FOR IT, YOU WON'T REGRET IT.
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 19/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our Perfect Wedding

    Honestly everything about the venue was perfect and we can't rate the staff highly enough. Other venues we looked at had 'packages' and a slight pressure to have the wedding a certain way. With Riddles Court we were able to have the small wedding we wanted and it was perfect.
    Roseanne was really communicative and quick to reply to any queries Josh and had. Roseanne and team set up everything and communicated with our vendors which made the final two weeks before the wedding surprisingly relaxing!
    Everything was set up and looking beautiful. The building is already a stunning venue but they did an amazing job setting up and moving the chairs downstairs for the dinner.
  • L
    Laura Sent on 19/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Stress Free Day

    If you want something a bit different but very Scottish then this is the place. Such a gorgeous hidden venue and so close to the castle and the Royal Mile. It was exactly what we had imagined and it doesn’t need a lot of decor or flowers as the venue speaks for itself. The team accommodated all our needs, we had a lot of kids and they were amazing with them. They were there on hand should we have had any questions and were very organised. Made the day flow so easily! We had an amazing day, as did all our family and friends. Nothing was too much bother and our photographs of the day just show how gorgeous the venue is and how lovely it looked on the day. Everyone was talking about it and how they had never been before and how amazing it all was.
  • V
    V Sent on 19/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Old Town Atmosphere

    Riddle's Court is just a lovely venue for a wedding, and Louise and the rest of the team were fantastic on the day as well as beforehand. The building has an amazing Old Town Edinburgh atmosphere, with its size making it cosy and welcoming, but features like the painted ceiling and the chandeliers bringing some magic. The on-site apartment is absolutely great for getting ready (you can see the guests arrive in the courtyard which is fun!) and both stylish and convenient for the wedding night. We can't recommend Riddle's Court enough!
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours