Skip to main content
Weddings

Matara Reviews

Matara More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
282 reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
  • J
    James H. Sent on 13/05/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beyond Expectations

    It’s difficult to find the right words to do justice to the beauty of Matara. It’s entirely unique in its ability to conjure feelings of tranquillity and serenity. The myriad of spaces that Matara boasts is what felt made this venue so special. Every single space has its own beauty and personality that we will forever hold incredible memories of, whether that be exchanging our vows in the cloistered courtyard, or sharing our first dance under the most spectacular dome in the hilarium.

    Yet perhaps the most remarkable aspect of Matara was the warmth, hospitality, and professionalism of its team. From our initial inquiry to the final farewell, they went above and beyond to ensure that our special day was nothing short of perfection. Nothing was too much trouble, from co-ordinating the vendors on the day to setting up the personalised decorations, the team ensured the day ran seamlessly. At every turn we were met with kindness, support, and guidance.

    Our experience from the entire team was nothing short of exceptional, every single person brought an energy and enthusiasm to their service that set the tone for the entire event. Not only were they incredibly efficient, but they also exuded a warmth and genuinely hospitality that made our guests feel welcome and cared for throughout the entire day.

    I can’t finish this, without a mention of the food. From the moment we had our first bite of a delectable canapes we knew we were in a for a treat. The entire culinary experience all the way through from that first bite, to the woodfired pizzas in the evening was both delicious and beautifully presented.

    The passion, professionalism and unwavering dedicated of everyone associated with Matara is beyond compare. It is the small touches by those people, that demonstrates the genuine care they have in making sure that every couples day, is one that they will never forget.

    We are forever grateful for the memories that Matara, and the people who make it what it is, have helped create.

    If you are seeking a unique, elegant venue with unparalleled natural beauty, sustainability at its heart and a team of people that will put their heart and soul into making sure your big day is one you will never forget, Matara is the one.

    Matara's reply:

    Thank you very much for your kind words, i will be sure to pass them on to the rest of the team here at Matara. It really was a pleasure working with you both on your special day. I do hope we see you back here in the near future. very best wishes Mr & Mrs H xx
  • Robyn
    Robyn B. Sent on 12/05/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A beautiful and unique venue.

    Dear Abbie and the incredible team at The Matara Centre.
    I don't even know where to begin because words cannot describe how amazing our wedding day was. We both had the best day of our lives and are still enjoying our 'post wedding bubble' today. We were lucky to have glorious sunshine, and Abbie put us at ease by being well organised, calm, and focused the day. We felt we were in capable hands from the very beginning, and this followed through all the planning stages and the wedding day itself. Abbie helped enable our wedding to feel personal to us.

    Everything from the beautiful and unique venue to the food (our guests are still commenting on the pizzas) and service were top-notch. We also rented the house, which was beautiful, and I would highly recommend this to any couples who wish to extend the wedding celebrations across a whole weekend.

    The Matara Centre truly is a very special place. Thanks again,
    Mr and Mrs Bignell-Swinburne
  • M
    Mollie C. Sent on 18/04/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding of our dreams!

    Wow! Already a year has gone by and we still can't get over how incredible our wedding at Matara was.

    We hired the venue and house for a weekend which allowed us to take our time celebrating with family and friends, which was something extremely important to use when looking for a venue. The setting and facilities were just perfect for before, during and after the big day. Being in April, we were extremely lucky to have such beautiful weather, but the blossom and never ending greenery made it even more special/unique.

    Luke, the chef, made the best (may be biased!) wedding food us and our guests have ever had - generous portions and inclusive off all dietary requirements! And our wedding coordinator was very patient and flexible with all of the random last minute changes and requests.

    We have been back to the venue twice since to see our tree and walk around the grounds. We would do anything to redo our magical weekend at Matara and it will forever hold a special place in our heart!

    Matara's reply:

    Molly, thank you for your lovely review, we always love to hear from our couples and its so amazing to hear you have found the time to come back and visit your tree and enjoy the grounds. The blossom has started to bloom and its looking beautiful as ever. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • HappyRedCakes13549
    Jessica D. Sent on 13/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Venue

    The most incredible Venue! My husband and I recently got married at The Matara Centere and cannot praise this beautiful place highly enough! We knew from the minute we first visited that it was the perfect place to celebrate our special day and absolutely loved the amazing sense of peace that seems so apparent the moment you set foot on the lovely grounds! The gorgeous gardens, the fabulous staff, the inspiring eclectic spaces and the delicious food are just a few of the things we loved! The accommodation was fantastic and everyone was impressed when they arrived on the day. A huge amount of gratitude to Olivia, our wedding coordinator, and truly went above and beyond ensuring our day went so smoothly! We loved every minute and cannot wait to visit again. Thank you to everyone who made the day so extremely wonderful for us and our guests, and for making Matara a truly one of a kind place!
  • J
    Joanna S. Sent on 30/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect - beautiful place, smooth experience, delicious food

    The venue is incredible, pictures online don’t do it justice. It’s such a unique and beautiful place to have a wedding. Staff are excellent, Holly made it run so so so smoothly, they made all our dreams come true. Also, Luke, the chef, is amazing. We had SO many guests come up to us and say it was the BEST wedding food they have ever had!!!! And we agree! Amazing amazing amazing. We will forever be grateful. Our wedding was the best day ever.

    Matara's reply:

    Hi Joanna and Jonno, Thank you for your kind words, I will be sure to pass your thanks onto everyone involved. We cant wait to see your wedding pics, so please do share. Wishing you both all the very best. Kindest Regards Holly
  • A
    Alison A. Sent on 16/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible venue and a wonderful team to work with

    We had the most incredible wedding at The Matara Centre. We feel in love with the venue right from our first visit and it will always hold a special place in our hearts. The space worked brilliantly for us and we made a full weekend of it with our family staying 2 nights in the house and Zen rooms. The team, headed up by Olivia, were wonderful to work with, helpful, positive, super flexible and nothing was too much trouble both in the lead up to and on the day, even with our somewhat usual requests. Luke, the chef if is a genius. The canapés and meal was delicious and plentiful and we had so much lovely feedback about the food. Matara is more than just a venue, it has a heart and soul, a beauty and a serenity that was felt and enjoyed by all of our guests and embodied by everyone who worked to make sure we had the best wedding ever!
  • D
    David A. Sent on 27/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful setting, beautiful wedding day

    Our wedding at Matara was absolutely perfect! The venue itself is stunning. We got married by the main pond and it is a wonderful setting.
    Our wedding coordinator, Holly, is fantastic. She was always on hand when we had questions and asked for meetings. And if she wasn’t available Abby took over and was just as good. We always felt in safe hands.
    On the day, Holly did everything we asked for and more!
    The chef (Luke) is amazing. From the first day we visited for tasters of the food we knew he would smash it. The food is incredible. All our guests commented on it. They also commented on the venue and how beautiful it is there!
    We were extremely lucky with a hot sunny day in September but the venue is stunning for a wedding any time of year.
    Thank you to the team at Matara for our wonderful day.

    Matara's reply:

    Hi Katie and David , It was a pleasure help host your special day. Thank you for you for sharing this i will be sure to pass your thanks on to everyone here at Matara. We look forward to you visiting us in the future. Kindest Regards Holly
  • R
    Ryan R. Sent on 15/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect wedding at Matara!

    We got married at Matara in September and the day was amazing from start to finish!
    We both knew we wanted to get married at Matara from the moment we viewed the venue and visited a number of times before the wedding to discover something different every time.
    We booked Kingscote House the night before the wedding to spend with family and this was a wonderful place to relax the night before.
    Olivia was our wedding coordinator and she made sure the day ran smoothly and was always on hand for anything we needed! The whole day run like clockwork and our guests had an amazing time! A big thank you also to Luke for the incredible food, we got so many positive comments from our guests and the pizza in the evening went down particularly well!
    Matara is a unique venue which we would highly recommend to everyone! We cannot wait to visit when we can and see our tree planted to commemorate the day!
  • R
    Rhiannon W. Sent on 11/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The most beautiful place...

    We fell in love with Matara straight away and loved that they had a really varied and exciting food offering. The communication we received from the point of enquiry to post-wedding has been excellent and the organisation of the day went very smoothly. Luke, the chef, gets a special mention for excellent quality of food and massive portion sizes - our guests were blown away! We can't wait to visit our tree that Matara planted for us and to relive our perfect day!
  • T
    Tess Sent on 29/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unique beautiful wedding venue

    When we were looking for our venue I searched for “unique wedding venues”. The Matara Centre popped up and you can see why. The cloistered courtyard, hilarium, grounds and house ticked every box. After the first visit in Christmas 2021, no other venue even came close. We got married in august 2023 and had family stay in the Kingscote House, & my husband and I stayed in the honeymoon suite both the night before and the night of the wedding. This was the best decision for us to give the wedding a much more relaxed feel, something we were really passionate about. We did things a little different, arriving to welcome drinks before the ceremony together and walking into the ceremony with our guests. Olivia, our wedding coordinator, was amazing at bringing our vision to life. Every email & many many questions were answered quickly and clearly and she was just incredibly helpful. The Matara Centre will always have a special place in our hearts, and we will deffo be back to visit our tree regularly
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message