Skip to main content
Weddings

Talbooth House & Spa Reviews

Talbooth House & Spa

Talbooth House & Spa

Colchester, Essex
4.7 out of 5 rating, 17 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.7 out of 5 rating
4.7 out of 5 rating
17 reviews
94% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Badges

  • Lewis
    Lewis B. Sent on 19/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The perfect wedding

    From planning to the day, every part was perfect! The staff who were faultless, the food outstanding, the rooms amazing and to have a venue that caters the ceremony, meals and evening just made the day so stress free!
  • Clare
    Clare Sent on 20/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fabulous venue for an intimate wedding

    We chose the talbooth house and spa from australia and didn’t get to see it in person until the week before our wedding and it was utterly perfect! We couldn’t have asked for more, leading up to the wedding Keighley was incredibly prompt and always super helpful. Likewise staff on the day were exceptional. Food was divine, our guests still talk about it! Loved the different spaces, using the pool area for drinks and wedding cake was awesome!
  • Claire
    Claire R. Sent on 08/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful!

    We had a small intimate wedding at Talbooth House and Spa and it was just perfect. From the events team leading up to the big day and then on the day itself, the staff could not do enough for us. Nothing is too bigger job for them and they made the day so special.

    We had exclusive use of the house and it was such a wonderful day and night finishing off with breakfast in the morning before our guests checked out. The food and service was fabulous (our guests loved the beef wellington!).

    We used the spa on our second day and the treatments where lovely. It was the perfect end to our wedding.

    I cannot recommend the venue enough, if you are looking for a venue for a small, intimate wedding then this is the place to go.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Emma
    Emma H. Sent on 27/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Calm, relaxed, stunning

    After our original covid wedding was cancelled and our original venue let us down, we came to Talbooth and they couldn't be more accomodating. We had lovely in person meetings and tours, really welcome staff from day 1 who really listened to our vision. They answered all emails quickly and the team worked so well together and communicated well!
    I was able to stay in the most beautiful cottage at Talbooth which was absolutely stunning, so spacious and luxurious, really kept me calm and relaxed before the big day!
    On the day of the wedding, the wedding team were so organised, I had a car to pick me up, everyone was so friendly and they made our day run so smoothly!
    The venue is so picturesque and we were able to capture such amazing photos. All our guests commented on what a beautiful venue it was and our photographer was in her element.
    I cannot thank the team enough for bringing our vision to life, giving us a perfect, relaxed intimate wedding!!
  • R
    Rose Sent on 26/11/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    your staff really are second to none!!

    We had the most amazing day on the 7th November - thank you so much for helping us organise it! It went so smoothly - your staff really are second to none, we had the best time and were really looked after. The food was also incredible, everyone's been raving about it!!
  • H
    Holmes Sent on 17/11/2015
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    wish we could do it all again!

    Hi Emily,

    I just wanted to drop you a line to say what a fabulous time we all had at the weekend, and to extend my thanks to all of the staff working that day/evening. They were all so helpful, friendly and relaxed, there when they were needed and not when they weren't.

    I think they all thought it was a bit wild, but hopefully they enjoyed it too.

    I wish we could do it all again!!
  • T
    Tom Sent on 27/07/2015
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    absolutely wonderful day

    Hi Emily and Alex,

    Just wanted to say a HUGE thank you for yesterday - we had an absolutely wonderful day (despite the rain)...the staff were EXCELLENT and so attentive. Barney and Sarah were great and really on it all the time. Really appreciated it.
  • T
    Tony Sent on 24/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Surpassed our expectations in every way

    Dear Emily,

    Its a month ago since our wedding at Le Talbooth and we wanted to send you a note to thank you sincerely for one of the best days of our lives, one we will remember forever. Your venue was perfect, and surpassed our expectations in every way. Your staff were faultless all day, the food amazing throughout, with careful attention paid to every detail. The Maison hotel was a perfect setting for our evening reception, and you even arranged perfect weather for us!! :)

    You and your events team did a marvellous job, a BIG thank you from Renata and I for making our day very special indeed. See you for our wedding anniversary!

    Tony and Renata Woodhams xx
  • J
    Jo Sent on 13/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    most amazing time

    Hi Emily,

    Anyway, just wanted to thank you and the team so much for everything, we all had the most amazing time. Everyone was blown away by the beautiful rooms, the food was fantastic, and most of all the service was superb, nothing was too much trouble and everyone was so friendly.

    Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
  • J
    Jason Sent on 13/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    seemingly effortless anticipatory service

    Just wanted to say thank you from me and Roy to all the team at Maison Talbooth for making it a truly special birthday weekend – from arriving Friday afternoon to sadly leaving Sunday morning everything was great, the welcome, the rooms, the pool the food, the service throughout was exemplary. Dinner at Le Talbooth on Friday night was spectacular, again great location, great service, great food the perfect start to our weekend of celebrations. I have posted something suitably glowing on Trip Advisor, I too work in hospitality and know how hard the team have to work to provide that seemingly effortless anticipatory service, please pass our thanks on to all concerned.

    We have received a number of thank notes from our friends and family who attended they have all mentioned the great hotel and team, I am sure you will be seeing some of them again in the future and you will certainly see us again.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours