Skip to main content
Weddings

Lea Rowing Club Reviews

Lea Rowing Club

Lea Rowing Club

Hackney, East London
5.0 out of 5 rating, 22 reviews
More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
5.0 out of 5 rating
22 reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2022 Winner
  • Elinor
    Elinor G. Sent on 21/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic laid back East London wedding!

    My husband and I chose Lea Rowing Club as our wedding venue as we wanted a large blank canvas space in London which we could put our own stamp on. Lea rowing club definitely allowed that! We hired all 3 rooms at the club and it provided amazing spaces for all our 140 guests. The spot on the river is gorgeous and luckily we had beautiful weather for guests to enjoy on the large balcony. We were able the access the venue the night before to decorate which was a great bonus. I can’t fault Stephen and JC who made the process from booking to the actual wedding day so seamless - both of their communication was great and any questions I had were always answered. We had the most special day - it was the laidback, fun, family event that I had always envisioned and the venue definitely played in a big part in that. I highly recommend!
  • Peter
    Peter D. Sent on 20/11/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding venue

    We used the Lea Rowing Club for our wedding and for the reception later in the day. We had access to the building several times in the run up to the big day to figure out the arrangements, and the staff were helpful at all times. They did their best to provide us with all the information we needed. The day went very successfully, and we received many compliments from guests on the venue, which is right on the river Lea.
  • Emma
    Emma '. Sent on 17/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best day of our lives!

    We had the most amazing wedding at the Boathouse on the Lea! After looking at many different venues in London, we chose this one for its beautiful location and dog-friendly policies.

    From the moment we arrived, the staff were incredibly responsive to our questions and needs. Stephen Mitchelson, the general manager, gave us a thorough tour of the venue and we could immediately see his vast experience with events. He gave us invaluable advice and instilled confidence that we could have the perfect wedding there.

    JC, the bar manager, was an absolute gem! With his immense knowledge of the wine industry, he helped us choose and try wine and let us know how we could optimise our purchases. He was even able to give us guidance on the interior setup, which turned out to be incredibly helpful.

    The venue was extremely considerate in allowing us to hang lanterns the day before and set up fairy lights on the balcony. They allowed an external vendor to bring in tables and chairs the night before who continued to finish setting up the next morning. On the day of the wedding, the venue was perfectly clean and air-conditioned, making it a comfortable space for all our guests for our summer wedding.

    We held our ceremony in the main hall, which had excellent natural lighting and acoustics that amplified recorded music, speeches and the DJ! The bar was staffed by JC and his son, who provided extremely fast and friendly service. The balcony area was a big hit with guests, who enjoyed canapés, drinks, and a stunning view throughout the day and night.

    We were so pleased with how all our vendors were able to work with Boathouse on the Lea to set up and work effectively. They were able to prepare a huge amount of food for our wedding and everything went off without a hitch. We highly recommend Boathouse on the Lea to anyone looking for a beautiful wedding venue in London. It truly was the perfect spot for our special day!

    We’d recommend this venue to any couple looking for a relaxed and beautiful wedding just steps away from green spaces for pictures and with beautiful views of the river. In any weather you’ll be comfortable as the main hall's AC kept our guests cool on a pretty warm day in June! We couldn’t be happier with our choice of venue and our guests loved the location.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jeremy W. Sent on 16/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful venue, great staff, highly recommend

    We rented the venue for our wedding and had the most wonderful experience. The staff were so great, everyone went above and beyond, they were flexible too, and we had the most memorable and fun day. Huge thanks to Stephen, JP and the team
  • D
    Despina M. Sent on 16/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A perfect October wedding

    A fantastic wedding venue overlooking the canal. Stephen and JC were quick to respond to our emails and gave us some fab recommendations which we took up. We had a wonderful day that flew by too quickly. The wines JC suggested were as delicious as he promised so thank you team for all of your hard work, it was a day to remember!
  • R
    Richard B. Sent on 08/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Venue!

    We recently used the Lea Rowing Club as the venue for our wedding reception. We hired the whole venue which was just the right size for our 130 guests.

    The venue itself is great, we loved the fact that you would have no idea you were in the middle of London, it is so peaceful and quiet on the river.

    Stephen, JC and the rest of the team were all really helpful and provided great service. JC was always available for calls or meetings in the run up to the day.

    All of our guests absolutely lived the venue and we would definitely recommend them for any event!
  • Elena
    Elena M. Sent on 09/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect wedding

    A fantastic venue for our wedding - Stephen and JC were brilliant to deal with from the outset. We were able to arrange the room the evening before and tailor it all to our needs. JC and his team were amazing throughout - JC helped us with pretty much every aspect of the planning and organised everything perfectly from start to finish on the day itself. Would highly recommend.
  • M
    Mark F. Sent on 26/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A great venue and better team!

    Thank you so much to the team at Lea Rowing Club for help making our wedding day such a success. Organising a wedding in a pandemic is no mean feat but Stephen and JC were amazing throughout: from helping us find a new date twice owing due to lockdowns, to making sure everything ran smoothly on the day! The venue itself is unlike anything else out there, bringing a little bit of rural charm to a London location. We were able to put our own stamp on an already beautiful space that made the day feel truly ours. JC in particular was brilliant in helping us put into place all the little touches that we wanted and on the day his team were impeccable.
  • P
    Priya M. Sent on 25/08/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A stress-free wedding in a stunning setting

    We could not have asked for a better wedding! We organised it in three months but had no stress thanks to Stephen and JC.

    Everyone commented on how beautiful the venue was and that it was such a hidden gem. Everything went smoothly and every single person had fun. Thank you Lea Rowing Club! We will be back on our anniversary for a Sunday roast...
  • T
    Tatiana Sent on 30/07/2021
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hidden gem, forever memories

    We had the best wedding day imaginable. So glad we found this beautiful venue in such a pretty setting by the river. Stephen and JC were very communicative and helpful from the beginning and made our lives so easy. The venue looked beautiful and the service from everyone on the day was outstanding. All of our guests had a great time and were impressed by this hidden gem of a venue. It was so much fun. Special shout out to JC for dealing with everything along the way, really helpful advice on the wines and making the day run smoothly, always with a smile. Perfect venue and a perfect day, we will cherish the memories forever (and will come back for a roast sometime!)
    Thank you!
    Tati & Paul
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message