Kippilaw House Verified Reviews

7 | Melrose  (Lothian & Borders)
View More Information

7 Reviews for Kippilaw House

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • K

    Kirsty · Married on 14/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sept 2019 perfect wedding

    100% recommend if you love food and a wedding that is flexible to you. If you want it the owners will try and do it. Perfect place if you love a vintage, quirky surrounding and a place that you and your guests will remember.

    Sent on 17/09/2019
  • M

    Mhairi · Married on 25/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not have had a better venue

    We have just had our wedding at Kippilaw House and I could not have asked for a better venue. From the moment we chose it Lil the owner could not have been more accommodating and was happy to answer any questions and allowed me to have things my way, ( I had a horse bring me up the driveway). Having exclusive use of the house from the Friday night to the Sunday day was amazing it gave my family and I a nice chilled space to meet each other before the wedding and be relaxed in the morning of the wedding then a relaxed leaving day. The people who stayed were so happy to have all the days together it made it a real family affair. My guests could not get over the taste of the food they raved about it all night. The staff that are there aren’t intrusive during the meal and they could not be friendlier or more accommodating. The decoration and whole look of the house is stunning every room is differently decorated and the modern bathrooms mixed with antique furnishings really set a great vibe. My friends and family all said how different and amazing my wedding was and it would not have been this way without it being at Kippilaw House.

    Sent on 28/05/2019
  • L

    Louise · Married on 18/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A very special day, in a very special place!

    Where do we start?
    Kippilaw is a stunning house with history, character and beautiful gardens. But what makes Kippilaw so special are the owners, Lil and Douglas. They listened to our ideas and completely understood what we wanted. Nothing was too much trouble and their 'anything's possible' approach made the planning process stress-free and great fun.
    We hired Kippilaw for the whole weekend which meant the we could relax and enjoy the experience with our family and friends. Although we planned to have the ceremony outside, it rained. But without any fuss, Lil and her team moved the ceremony inside and we got married on the landing of the stairs with some of our loved ones looking down from the 1st floor and others looking on from the lobby. It was beautiful and we wouldn't change it for the world. My granny said it was the most beautiful ceremony she'd ever seen!
    The atmosphere at dinner was electric- there was so much laughing. The service and bar staff were brilliant. They worked extremely hard, as we had a lot of guests, remaining professional but at the same time friendly and relaxed. However the highlight of the day was Lil's food. It was absolutely sensational. So many people have told us that it was the best food they'd ever had at a wedding, some people even said it was the best meal that they'd had EVER.
    Kippilaw is more than just a venue. It's a beautiful house in a wonderful location, run by a kind and accommodating family, where we have made the happiest of memories. We can't thank Kippilaw enough for giving us such a truly special day that we will always remember.

    Sent on 23/06/2019
  • P

    Paul · Married on 30/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Wedding Venue!

    We had our wedding at Kippilaw in September 2017 from Friday night through to Sunday morning and the whole experience was wonderful! We didn’t want to leave.

    The venue is fantastic and our guests loved it! We had guest from the UK and Taiwan and they thought the house was just stunning and made the environment feel magical. Nice rooms with different themes and lots of character. It really did have the feel of a big family wedding! The house has a few fireplaces that were on which made the evening feel very cozy.

    The food was outstanding, we had beef, seafood and a vegetarian pie (which was huge!) everyone loved it. Cutting a huge piece of meat really was fun for our guests – some new skills were acquired that day. A great way to make people happy is to give them great food!

    The team at Kippilaw were also great, Lil and Douglas helped us plan and prepare the wedding – making sure we didn’t make any newbie mistakes, the catering was great and suited everyones needs and the waiting staff were extremely helpful.

    The house interior and exterior makes for some great photos too! We have a lot of happy memories here.

    A great place for wedding with lots of character, highly recommended!

    Sent on 08/11/2017
  • A

    Aidan · Married on 19/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Full weekend wedding with bbq and buffet

    Lil helped us plan exactly the day that we wanted - everyone felt at home and had a great time. Although the house is gorgeous, people felt like they could be themselves and relax rather than being burdened by heaps of rules.
    The guests were blown away by the house and the gardens, and then again by the food. About 40 of our guests stayed in the house for 2 nights so it was very much a full house with all beds and mattresses being used, but they were absolutely extatic about the rooms and want to come back in the future even though they live overseas!
    We couldn't have asked for anything that suited us more! And although the weather wasn't great for the big barbecue we had planned, they adapted really nicely and we didn't have to worry about anything.

    Sent on 05/09/2017
  • K

    Karen · Married on 22/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    cried when we left

    We stayed at the the house for a good friend's wedding and I can honestly say that I cried when we left as it was such an amazing weekend. I think that the best thing of all was that the whole house was rented out for the wedding party and friends and it made it so much more special. My husband and I stayed in Ian's room on the second floor - a wonderful little cosy, comfy room and I loved it. It was fantastic to wander in and out of all of the other rooms - they were all decorated amazingly and were in keeping with the style and history of the house. All of the rooms were simply amazing - I loved the red room and the room that the dinner and dancing was in had a fantastic little bar in it. The wedding itself was held outside just in front of the gardens and we got a fantastically sunny day which just made the day all that more brilliant. I want to get all of my friends together and rent out the house as it's just a wonderful, totally amazing place to stay!!

    Sent on 30/07/2017
  • N

    Nyla · Married on 08/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kippilaw is Absolute Magic

    We had our wedding at Kippilaw this July and it was so seamless and magical! We rented out the whole manor for the weekend and our guests felt like they had stepped into a fairytale. So many people have told us it was their favorite weekend ever. Lil and Doug have put so much love into Kippilaw to make it a spectacular venue inside and out. They were so flexible and let us get married under their magnificent Copper Beech tree. No one had ever done that before and it was divine.
    Our guests felt so at home and loved staying at Kippilaw and the staff went above and beyond to give us the best experience possible. All the food was DELICIOUS and exceeded my wildest expectations. That lemon meringue pie was the best I ever tasted! Working with Lil to create the wedding of my dreams was a joy and I had to plan the whole thing for 63 guests coming from the United States. She made everything run like clockwork and went to all lengths take care of our needs and vision. I would love to host another event at Kippilaw and would give this venue 10 stars if I could!

    Sent on 22/08/2017