Danby Castle Verified Reviews

48 | Whitby (North Yorkshire)
View More Information

48 Reviews for Danby Castle

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • E

    Elizabeth and Charlie · Married on 30/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Massive Thank you

    Hello Carolyn I just wanted to say a massive thank you for everything you did for us yesterday. We had an amazing day. Everyone loved the venue and the food was amazing. Thank you so much Elizabeth and Charlie

    Sent on 30/01/2019
  • C

    Claire and Paul · Married on 03/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Wonderful Rustic Wedding Destination

    We had our wedding here in early November 2018, on a very chilly but rain free day. We were looking for a rustic barn wedding, as we love the outdoors and dislike hotel wedding decors. Danby Castle is exactly what we wanted for a venue, fantastic views of the countryside for our photographs and within a beautiful historic setting. The ceremony and reception room require very little decoration as the natural character of the building provides the perfect setting. The venues organisers were superb, many thanks to Carolyn, Phil and Max for making the day run smoothly and answering any questions we had before the big day. We had a band in the evening which suited the size of the venue and made a great atmosphere. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a medium sized venue full of character.

    Sent on 30/01/2019
  • A

    Alex and Alex · Married on 13/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Wedding

    Danby Castle was the first venue we looked at and we immediately knew we wanted to get married there. Our favourite thing about the venue was the amount of different spaces it had; the lovely Courtroom where the marriage takes place; the old barn where we had our drinks reception, which is full of historic charm and the new barn where we had our wedding breakfast and evening reception. Danby Castle also has the most breathtaking views, which made for a lovely backdrop to our pictures. Carolyn was fantastic at coordinating our wedding, always responding to emails quickly and going out of her way to be flexible with our requirements. The weather forecast wasn't looking great for our day, but Carolyn stayed in contact leading up to the wedding, giving us options if it were to be terrible weather, however we were very lucky and the rain stayed away - but we felt at ease that options were available. We chose the pie and mash for main course followed by a trio of mini desserts. We've been to so many wedding where the food hasn't been great, however we thought the food here was delicious. So many of our guests complimented us and the team on the food, saying it was the best wedding food they'd ever had. We had a pizza buffet in the evening which was equally as delicious. Another pull to the venue for us were the bar prices, many hotels/venues have sky high prices for alcohol, however Danby Castle's drink prices are very reasonable. I would have no hesitation on recommending Danby Castle as a wedding venue.

    Sent on 30/01/2019
  • J

    Jenny and Gareth · Married on 06/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most beautiful and cherished day EVER!

    What can I say, I am still grinning from ear to ear about how wonderful our day was. We would love to be able to do it all again. Danby Castle is absolutely stunning and even on a rainy day like ours did not lose that beauty. Right from the beginnig when we fell in love with Danby Castle and all the amazing things it has to offer we knew we would have the best day of our lives. We quickly realised that Carolyn, Phil and Max are the most amazing people and are very experienced in making couples wedding days just how they want them, nothing is too much trouble. They look after all the little bits so that the day just flows perfectly and for us as a couple felt effortless. I can't imagine it was for them! We love Danby Castle, we think Carolyn, Phil and Max are AMAZING and would tell anyone we meet who are engaged to be married to consider this venue, although I would be a little jealous!

    Sent on 30/01/2019
  • A

    Anna and Ashley · Married on 27/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not of asked for anything more for our speci

    From the first moment we visited Danby Castle we knew there was no other place for our special day, before we even looked around the venue the views are just amazing and we were sold! Our day it’s self went so smoothly, we didn’t have one detail to worry about. Carolyn’s experience shows in every way she helped & moulded our day to make it the best, Danby castle is her home and she certainly knows how to help everyone enjoy the beautiful place too. The sun was out, the kids played & everyone had such a fantastic day we could not of asked for more from our wedding. We honestly can’t thank Carolyn and family enough for all the there help and guidance through out organising our wedding and gave us such a truly happy special day to treasure for a life time.

    Sent on 30/01/2019
  • S

    Sophie and Paul · Married on 14/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most wonderful venue

    Wow, you won't be disappointed if you book your wedding at Danby Castle.. My wife and I married there I September 2018 and thanks to Carolyn, Phil and Max our day was perfect. We loved the vibe of the different rooms, small bar for before and immediately after the wedding service. The beautiful dining area for the breakfast and then the party room for the evening do. The venue, food and every element of Danby Castle was perfect. The surroundings countryside made it even more perfect. We couldn't be happier with Danby Castle.

    Sent on 30/01/2019
  • J

    Jennifer and Gary · Married on 08/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything we ever wanted and so much more

    We got married at the beautiful Danby Castle on the 8th September 2018 and it was the best day of our lives. We got married in the court room with 65 of our nearest and dearest watching and the setting was just perfect. Every single detail for the whole day had been thought about in detail by Carolyn, Phil, Max and the team and they didn't miss a thing! We didn't need to worry about anything, which was amazing for us both as we could just enjoy our day. The setting was perfect for some really fun photographs. Both the castle and the surrounding area was just perfect and our wedding album shows just how much fun we had all day. Our wedding breakfast of pie and mash is honestly the best meal I have ever eaten! If I ever get asked the question "what meal would you eat if you could only eat one for the rest of your life?" Danby Castle pie and mash would without a doubt be my answer! We danced the night away in the barn while doing Danby bombs and eating pizza! Our wedding day was truly the best day of our lives and a lot of that is down to the amazing people that run this amazing venue. I can never thank them all enough for making our wedding everything we ever wanted and so much more. After spending two years planning our day they aren't just the people that helped make our day perfect, they are now our friends x

    Sent on 30/01/2019
  • J

    Jennifer and Gary · Married on 08/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything we ever wanted and so much more

    We got married at the beautiful Danby Castle on the 8th September 2018 and it was the best day of our lives. We got married in the court room with 65 of our nearest and dearest watching and the setting was just perfect. Every single detail for the whole day had been thought about in detail by Carolyn, Phil, Max and the team and they didn't miss a thing! We didn't need to worry about anything, which was amazing for us both as we could just enjoy our day. The setting was perfect for some really fun photographs. Both the castle and the surrounding area was just perfect and our wedding album shows just how much fun we had all day. Our wedding breakfast of pie and mash is honestly the best meal I have ever eaten! If I ever get asked the question "what meal would you eat if you could only eat one for the rest of your life?" Danby Castle pie and mash would without a doubt be my answer! We danced the night away in the barn while doing Danby bombs and eating pizza! Our wedding day was truly the best day of our lives and a lot of that is down to the amazing people that run this amazing venue. I can never thank them all enough for making our wedding everything we ever wanted and so much more. After spending two years planning our day they aren't just the people that helped make our day perfect, they are now our friends x

    Sent on 30/01/2019
  • S

    Sara and Michael · Married on 01/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing venue!!

    As soon as we saw Danby castle we knew we had to get married there. It's the perfect venue with the most amazing views! Carolyn, Phil and max are fantastic hosts! Carolyn replied to all my emails and helped me along the way with planning. Her amazing organisational skills helped make the wedding the best day! She makes everything stress free by helping set up and packs everything back up for you. She even makes gorgeous personalised signs!! On the day Phil was phuenomal he made sure everyone was where they needed to be at the right time (still not sure how he managed to control everyone)! The food was AMAZING! All the guests haven't stopped talking about how it was the best wedding food they've ever had! 5 stars isn't enough for this venue and all there staff! Thank you so much for everything you all did and helping us have our best day!! Sara and Michael! Xxx

    Sent on 30/01/2019
  • C

    Claire and Rob · Married on 29/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Above and beyond Perfect

    Every girl has a image in her head of how her wedding day would be ???? Danby castle venue and all the staff made my dream come true x Our wedding day was just perfect ran like clockwork thanks to Carolyn and her team and we didn’t have to worry about a thing. Beautiful setting,amazing food,truly a unique wedding venue all our guests were blown away with the venue! With many guests still saying the best wedding they have ever attended . Big huge massive thank you to Carolyn,Phil,max and all the staff for helping make our day perfect

    Sent on 30/01/2019