Canterbury Cathedral Lodge Verified Reviews

33 | Canterbury (Kent)
View More Information

33 Reviews for Canterbury Cathedral Lodge

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • L

    Libby F. · Married on 19/06/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Day

    In just 3 weeks, the lodge managed to create the best day for my husband and I, even during covid. The food was incredible, the venue beautiful, and the hosting was especially amazing. They constantly checked on me before and catered to all our needs, and on the day, were phenomenal. I would 100% recommend this location.

    Sent on 23/06/2021
  • M

    Mr · Married on 10/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Space

    'It was so easy to get in touch and a pleasure to chat with Catherine about our ideas. She helped us sort out all the details, took on our last minute ideas and was so helpful with any complications.

    The food and drink was delicious, it was hard to choose what we wanted on the day even having had our menu tasting beforehand (which was such a treat). We definitely feel we got value for money and our guests really enjoyed their meal.

    The rooms were spacious and comfortable and being in the Cathedral grounds was lovely and quiet after dark. The staff were super helpful in organising accommodation for those staying in the venue and I can't fault the breakfasts and general service.

    The venue was the perfect space for our wedding and the staff were so helpfully on hand when we needed them. Danielle was so organised in keeping things moving when our timeline inevitably changed throughout the wedding day and I had no worries that everything would go smoothly. Thank you to everyone who helped us; we had the perfect day!'

    Sent on 15/08/2019
  • T

    Tim · Married on 20/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Every Moment!

    We had a absolutely wonderful wedding day, we loved every moment. Staff were so attentive, hardworking and friendly we felt so well cared for! Many of my family mentioned that the event ran smoothly, that the food was delicious and staff very helpful and friendly. Even down to making sure my sister had tea/ coffee while she was out practicing for her performance. It just felt so personal, thank you!

    Thank you so much for all your work its been such a great experience working with you and being privileged to have such a beautiful venue.

    Sent on 10/09/2019
  • C

    Charlotte · Married on 06/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So special!

    We would like to say a huge thank you to the team at the Cathedral Lodge for making our wedding day more than we could have hoped for. We were so pleased with how everything went, both in advance and on the day, and that’s down to you and all the team, so thank you.

    All the guests (and ourselves) rated the quality of the food very highly. It was really beneficial to be able to offer a menu with so many options to our guests, making sure there would definitely be something all the guests would like. We were particularly happy with the main courses – it was such a dilemma choosing which ones to have ourselves! And being able to go for a tasting in advance was a really nice way of deciding, and such a lovely experience!

    It was so unique to have our reception with such a historic and beautiful backdrop in Canterbury Cathedral. The Campanile Garden was a lovely, open backdrop to host guests in. It was so nice to be so central in Canterbury and yet be in such a quiet space. The Claggett Auditorium was slick and modern and a perfect size for the number of guests we invited. Having a wooden backdrop made it really easy to pick colours to decorate it with, and all the team at the Lodge helped the room look so beautiful on the day.

    It was the customer service, beyond anything else, which made us so happy we picked the Cathedral Lodge for our wedding. Every member of staff had so much time for us and were willing to show us round the venue and answer all our questions no matter how small.
    Thank you so much to everyone involved for making it so special.

    Sent on 05/09/2019
  • D

    Danni · Married on 18/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you for a perfect day!

    My husband and I have just had our wedding day and it was perfect!
    The staff were amazing and ensured the day ran like clockwork! There were so accommodating to us and all so friendly! The food was amazing and all of our guest commented on how good it was, as well as the location of the venue!
    Catherine our wedding coordinator was also amazing, very responsive to emails and played a big part in our wedding planning!
    Overall our wedding reception was perfect from start to finish and all the staff at Canterbury cathedral lodge were excellent!

    Sent on 24/05/2019
  • C

    Charlotte · Married on 08/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Huge Thank You!

    My husband and I would just like to say a huge thank you to all the staff at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge for all their hard work that went into making our wedding day so wonderful! Throughout the two years of wedding planning our wedding coordinator Catherine was exceptional her dedication, organisation and overall wonderfulness was second to none. Catherine was always at the end of the phone or an email if either of us ever had any questions. Everyone was so kind and acomadating throughout the day making sure everything flowed with precision. The food was so delicious which was commented on by all the guests. The level of attention and service in which we received from the moment we enquired about the possibility of the Cathedral Lodge being our wedding venue to the morning after the wedding was outstanding! The overall location and setting of Canterbury Cathedral Lodge makes it the perfect wedding venue and we would not hesitate in recommending it to any couple looking for that perfect venue! Thank you!!
    Charlotte and Ian

    Sent on 07/01/2019
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 25/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Relaxed and Fun!

    Matthew and I had an absolutely wonderful wedding day and a beautiful reception at Canterbury Cathedral Lodge. We looked around a number of reception places but Canterbury Cathedral Lodge was definitely the one we wanted to go with and our decision did not falter on experience.

    The staff made our guests feel welcomed and relaxed and the children had so much fun.

    We had a big decorating job which took approx. 2 days to do - Canterbury Cathedral Lodge were very understandings and flexible to help us to make the day our own and how we wanted it to be. We didn’t feel any pressure on timings on the day or routine for the wedding. This made us feel very respected and relaxed.

    The staff were very polite and down to earth whilst being professional. A great team of people to have behind you on the day.

    The reception is gorgeous and you make it your oyster- decorate how you wish to. The rooms are comfortable, clean and inviting. We had the buffet and we even had food left over- great value for the money which you pay.

    We can’t wait to go back for our years anniversary and this time with our expected new born baby.

    Sent on 14/01/2019
  • M

    Mr · Married on 16/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hidden gem in the heart of Canterbury

    What a hidden gem in the heart of Canterbury. From the start my wife and I knew this was the place we wanted our special day. We arranged a meeting with Tania and she could not have been more helpful, the packages are reasonable price and include so much and can be adapted if we required. Every step of the way as the big day came nearer Tania was on hand to put our minds at ease and answer any questions.
    On the day we had great weather which meant we could take full advantage of the use of the garden and have that amazing view of the cathedral. Staff were absolutely fantastic they all worked hard to give us our special day. When it come to the sit down meal, we had previously had a food trial so we knew the food was going to be fantastic and it didn’t disappoint all our guest loved every meal. The whole day was the best day of our lives and we can’t thank Tania and her staff enough for all the hard work they put in.. thank you

    Overall the Cathedral Lodge 5 star and we would highly recommend it..

    Sent on 05/07/2018
  • M

    Mr · Married on 11/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fautless!

    Our experience with the Cathedral Lodge was faultless. Catherine made planning our reception easy and hassle free, which was really appreciated at such a stressful time.

    The venue provided us with the perfect blank canvas to create the setting we wanted for our guests. The outside space was a beautiful back drop for our photographs and made choosing our favourites very difficult.

    Sent on 27/11/2018
  • M

    Mr · Married on 17/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nothing Too Much Trouble!

    Having very recently got married and having had our reception at the Canterbury Cathedral Lodge I cannot speak highly enough of the team and the venue itself. From the first time we met Catherine and she told us she would be our wedding coordinator, she has been a great source of support, and a comfort to us. She was always warm, welcoming, and very professional, provided invaluable guidance, and basically made what could have been a very stressful period into one which we have thoroughly enjoyed. The day itself was incredible and ran perfectly, and I think that was largely due to her efforts and experience. She has been a wonderful wedding coordinator and we couldn't have done it without her!

    I spent two nights at the Lodge and the rooms, service, and experience was fantastic. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the staff were very friendly and always on hand to help, the location, naturally, incredible, and the food excellent. On the day of the wedding, the events team were amazing. We have had numerous comments from guests, all of whom have offered unequivocal praise for the venue and the team. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them, and they all went above and beyond in trying to make the day as special for us as possible. We are incredibly grateful for all their efforts and incredibly thankful we opted to have our reception at the Cathedral Lodge - thank you so much to all involved!

    Sent on 21/03/2018