Skip to main content
Weddings

Blackwell Grange Reviews

Blackwell Grange

Blackwell Grange

Ilmington, Warwickshire
4.7 out of 5 rating, 25 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.7 out of 5 rating
4.7 out of 5 rating
25 reviews
94% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.5 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2022 Winner
  • V
    Victoria B. Sent on 05/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Successful

    We had our wedding here at the end of April 2024. The venue is stunning, the rooms are lovely, Deborah was fantastic helping us plan everything leading up to the wedding and Margaret was brilliant on the day too. She made sure that everything went to plan and went above and beyond helping with anything that came up on the day.

    The food was delicious and all of our guests commented how good it all tasted. The presentation was great too. We loved the variety that we were able to choose from too. We used the DJ recommend by Blackwell and he was great too.

    All in all, I can't recommend Blackwell Grange more. Everything was brilliant and we ars so happy with the choice that we made.
  • Romanticbrowndiamonds25842
    Alice K. Sent on 25/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    November 2023 Wedding

    We had our incredible day in November 2023. Blackwell Grange is a simply stunning venue, the details and the care taken to design the venue and the accommodation is amazing.

    The planning stages with the Blackwell Grange team was thoroughly enjoyable and we were put at ease every step of the way. The team are so helpful, friendly and are experts at what they do.

    On the day so many of our guests commented on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The quality of the food and drinks was absolutely amazing & really added to the day.

    A very very special thank you to Suzy, Suzy was amazing, and helped me out personally so much, hanging up my dress with me and getting everything sorted, she really went above and beyond.

    We would recommend this venue to everyone!
  • C
    Christine H. Sent on 12/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent venue and staff

    We got married here at the end of October and had the best day! The venue is beautiful and the staff are so helpful and made everything so easy. They were on hand at every step of the process, from booking right through to picking up our decorations the day after the wedding. They were always happy to answer questions (and I had a lot) and do whatever they can to make your special day go smoothly. They even let me arrive in a tractor!
    We cannot recommend this venue highly enough, very professional and very helpful. Plus the food is amazing!
    Thank you to all the Blackwell Grange staff!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • L
    Laura Sent on 29/10/2023
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Misleading and untrustworthy venue

    From a brides perspective. I fell in love with this venue from my first arrival so much that we cancelled all other venue viewing because it seemed perfect. Until full payment was recieved. My advice is READ YOUR T&C’S. On walkabout we were discussing how stunning the venue would be in a drone wedding video up the pretty entrance , even the GM agreed ! However we were later told drones prohibited? We was told that our tasting meal was included- to later be sent an invoice and told to read our T&C’s.
    When booking the bridal suit and accomadation informed was from 10- 10the following morning , to then be told 2 days prior to our big day guests couldn’t check in till 2.30! So they expect you to spend ££ on your wedding and instead of your guest enjoying drinks reception/canapés your guest are expected to check in there rooms? Furthermore when I myself the bride when to the bridal suite to top up my lippy for the eve, I found the door was locked. I was told by my bridesmaid the GM was throwing my belongings into my bag with no respect to clear the room out , yet I supposedly had the room till 10 the next morning stil?
    A few words and experiences about management at Blackwell Harriet and carol to share names that our guests experienced … rude , abrupt, and disrespectful

    My groomsmen and son was rudely spoken to following the meal taking a while to be served, my godson asked his dad if he could have his burger outside , as his sensitive to noise so wanted quiet time whilst eating his dinner( his dad even wrapped it in a napkin so know crockery was taken outdoors) and was firmly asked and told what they were doing outdoors with food and return to the table , yet only a few hours prior there was canapés being served outside - how do you explain that to a 6 year old.

    Guests that wernt wine drinkers were refused pints or drinks at bar till after meal finished

    My husbands drink was sniffed prior to him walking down the isle accusing of alcohol in there. I mean what venue doesn’t serve a little bevvy for Dutch courage let alone only serve them coke and then get it sniffed???

    My grandad suffers from Parkinson’s so was only able to attend for the ceremony , after my father was setting up his sat nav as he was unable to with Shakey hands and Harriet abruptly and rudely raised her voice at my dad telling him to get in the main hall and what was he doing outside , my dad politely explained he’ll be 30 seconds but no Harriet was truely dispectful . This wasn’t the first time as few weeks prior my grandad was doing a test drive ( god love a old driver having to know there ways ) and was told to get off the private property … I mean seriously ?

    One guest is coeliac and politely asked where she can locate her gluten free pizza to firmly and abruptly be told it’s being cooked separate and will get it when it’s ready ?!!!

    We had giant Jenga on the patio , which was out all day , when a guest packed it up in the bag and went to get the car key to put it in the car around 6pm before evening guest arrived so it wasn’t in the way , Harriet confiscated it and put it in storage accusing of health and safety - yet was out all afternoon and deceived it was only a safety issue when it was being out away for the day

    DAMAGE DEPOSIT! Please please please to cover and protect yourself take photos of the room when you leave so you can’t be accused of any damage as I hate to say one of our respectful guest we’re accused with the most outrageous accusation. Yet because they never predicted such audacity we were fined and deducted from our damaged deposit because it’s our word v theirs so please cover yourself if staying

    The venue is stunning to look at. The food was incredible so a shout out to the catering team is a must ! But for an award winning venue with a staff that are meant to make your day stress free and memorable - it couldn’t be any further from what I received. Would I recommend NO , it breaks my heart to say after our experience it tainted what should have been our perfect day because of BG managers. I wish I booked another venue
  • E
    Emma P. Sent on 22/07/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding Day

    We got married on the 24th June 2023 and the day was incredible.
    Blackwell Grange is an absolutely stunning venue, especially the gardens and the Thatched Barn and no matter how many other venues
    we visited we couldn't shift the feeling it was the one from our minds.
    The food was delicious and presented amazingly, and the service was 10/10, we are still getting compliments on how good it was.
    There is a sound limit and a slightly early finish time of 11pm, however this didn't take away from our day and everyone had a
    great time.
    The bridal suite was stunning and very comfortable, we only wished we could have stayed longer.
    The Blackwell Grange team are incredibly organised, what might first come across as being a bit strict is just that they clearly
    know how to run a wedding day.
    Overall, we had the best wedding day at Blackwell Grange, and want to relive it over and over again! Would 100% recommend.
  • C
    Charlotte B. Sent on 25/06/2023
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible wedding

    What can we say apart from that our wedding at Blackwell was absolutely incredible and everything we dreamed of.

    Blackwell was one of the first places we had seen while trying to find our wedding venue and everywhere we saw after it l, we kept comparing to Blackwell, so we knew it was the one!

    The mix between old and new is perfectly balanced at Blackwell. You have the stunning thatched barn where your ceremony takes place, the huge fire place and stunning beams and then you have the clean, fresh, bright orchard barn where you have your wedding breakfast! Due to the location you are surrounding by stunning countryside (perfect for photos)

    As bride you want to know that you have somewhere special for you and your bridesmaids to get ready, that’s close to the ceremony on the wedding morning to limit stress. The Potting Shed at Blackwell was perfect, 2 min walk from the thatched barn, cosy, lovely bathroom with a shower and can comfortably fit your make up artist and hairdressers as well as 4/6 bridesmaids.

    If you are looking for a venue that offers an incredible dining experience then Blackwell is the one for you. The food was one of the highlights of the day. The menu choice offers a large range of seasonal options. The presentation and flavours were unreal and the waiters were extremely professional in their service! Everyone at our wedding said it was the best wedding food they had had at a wedding.

    The team were brilliant, particularly Paige and Harriet. Everyone went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed from our first meeting, right to the day of the wedding!

    Thank you to everyone at Blackwell, we will certainly be recommending your venue! Love MR and MRS Paget xx
  • Egeorgiou
    Egeorgiou Sent on 06/01/2023
    2.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Too many little niggles for me to recommend them

    I am not usually a reviewer but I feel that if couples are thinking of spending a lot of money there are some things that I feel need addressing by BG. You will probably see that a large proportion of reviews will praise how professional the staff are. This I am in agreement with fully and should not take away what a brilliant day we and our guests had, which was made possible due to the dedicated teams at BG. There are some wonderful little touches, like the mince pies, that kept our guests very happy during the day and night.
    I want to start by praising the wonderful young lady behind the bar at our wedding who stood out so much for her positivity and good humour.
    However...
    1. You receive emails from a different person each time and one staff member (name beginning with the letter J) has an AWFUL email manner that definitely needs addressing!
    2. Once they receive your final payments they are a lot less accommodating.
    3. As the Bride and Groom we were unable to have our evening food saved for no longer than 2 hours due to health and safety reasons. I am sure we've all eaten a chicken kebab with a lot worse hygiene ratings after an evening out!
    4. We were unable to receive refunds for guests not attending which is understandable however we were not able to transfer this unused money onto something else.
    5. Initially I was allowed to store my decorations the night before, then I wasn't and then I was again.
    6. The accommodation was very impressive in comparison to other wedding venues but the breakfast options were a bit deflating after a night in such beautifully crafted rooms.
    7. Do not get me started on the £500 damage deposit for the accommodation! Over two weeks to reclaim it back AND they didn't even have my bank details to return it to!
    8. There had been some snow previously and the car park was not gritted at all and one guest who was pregnant slipped and fell.
    These are the little things that I feel some couples may not complain about however it is because of these things, that I would not recommend the venue to a friend, colleague or anyone.
  • E
    Elissa W. Sent on 13/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect from start to finish.

    I don’t even know where to begin. There are no words to describe how incredible our day was. From start to finish each and every staff member at Blackwell Grange could not do enough for us.
    The venue itself absolutely stunning, the food was incredible (nothing was too much trouble), and the staff / service we were given was above and beyond; the whole day ran so smoothly. Both us and our guests were treated like royalty. Weddings are never a cheap day, however, I do know our day at Blackwell Grange was worth every single penny.
    I truly couldn’t recommend a venue more.
    The accommodation is also incredible, thank you to Didi for putting on a lovely breakfast and making us feel so welcome.
    Thank you to everyone, especially Paige, for making our day perfect.
  • S
    Sophie G. Sent on 07/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing and perfect

    The most stunning venue all the team were outstanding and made our wedding run perfect.we cant thank them enough for the standered they delivered to make our day to remeber for the rest of our life.
  • David
    David P. Sent on 08/09/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect wedding venue

    A stunning venue with an equally impressive catering team, Blackwell Grange was our clear winner when booking our wedding. Postponed due to covid, Lucy and the team were a great support and made a very stressful time much more manageable. On the day everything was perfect; the food is divine and the staff couldn’t do enough to make sure everything ran well and everyone was having a great day. 10/10 doesn’t do it justice, the perfect venue for our perfect day
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message