Skip to main content
Weddings

Alpheton Hall Barns Reviews

Alpheton Hall Barns

Alpheton Hall Barns

Sudbury (Suffolk-Essex Border), Essex
5.0 out of 5 rating, 36 reviews
More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
36 reviews
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2023 Winner
  • A
    Ashlea S. Sent on 04/04/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best day, at the best place!

    Upon choosing our wedding venue we were very big on energy, warmth and a relaxed vibe. Not just in regards to the building itself, but the site hosts also.

    Safe to say we got this AND some with Alpheton. When we came across this venue site it exceeded all expectations. The moment we walked in we felt that 'yes!' moment that we had been waiting for. We could visualise our special day taking place here, and the many features of the barn meant we could cater for our guests no matter what age.

    Infusing our Caribbean/African culture into our wedding was extremely important to us. Nick and Carol just 'got it' and found every way possible to help us make this happen. As hosts they aren't there to simply make your booking and deal with the paperwork, they continued to make creative and fun suggestions that allowed us to put our own stamp on our day which is what made it truly so memorable.

    We've had some of our guests tell us this was the best wedding they have attended. We didn't spend an arm and a leg on fancy suppliers etc, but instead prioritised a positive experience and a memorable day that we would cherish for the rest of our lives and thanks to Alpheton we got just that.

    If you want a wedding day that you can make your own and you're all for good people and a fun time - Alpheton is your place! Don't question it, you won't be disappointed!
  • Holly
    Holly D. Sent on 03/10/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect quirky vegan boho wedding

    Carol and Nic were fantastic from start to finish. From the second they showed us around the beautiful venue, to guiding us through planning and finally making our special day perfect. I couldn't rate this venue more highly. They helped us to come up with some quirky plans and tailored our special day so that it felt personal to us. They've even invited us back to visit on our anniversaries
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jack D. Sent on 05/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Perfect Wedding Day

    Alpheton Hall Barns is perfect for those couples who would prefer a venue that they can be creative with and make their own, with the unwavering support of venue owners Nic and Carol. Nic and Carol individually bring much invaluable experience, advice and innovation during planning sessions and work seamlessly hard in the background on the set up day, wedding day and clear up day. We were married in December, the grounds were atmospheric and provided beautiful unspoilt backdrops for photos, and while outside the temperature dropped below zero after dark, the South Barn remained warm, cosy and wonderfully lit. The audio environment provided by the South Barn lived up to the high standards of our band, as closely mastered and managed by Nic. The Barns are authentic, grounded by history and strong architectural elements. Photos do not do the Barns, it’s grounds and the proximate Church justice, this is a must visit venue.
  • E
    Ella A. Sent on 05/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Venue & Hosts

    Carol & Nic at Alpheton Hall Barns were incredible from the moment we first viewed the venue. They couldn’t have done more for us especially when our caterers went bust 6 months before our wedding day, they were a supportive and calming influence on us. Both have nearly infinite wisdom on how to pull off an amazing day.

    The day itself was wonderful, so many of our guests commented on how naturally beautiful the barns were & the woodland ceremony is truly unique.
  • J
    Joe H. Sent on 25/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best day every!

    Nic and Carol were amazing, and made our wedding so special. They were really helpful with all the logistics in the months leading up to the event, gave us loads of great ideas which we incorporated, and were on hand to help with everything on the day! No task was too small or question too insignificant. We'll always be grateful that we used AHB for our wedding, and loved every minute of it.
  • N Pimm
    N Pimm Sent on 11/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible

    We had the most amazing wedding at the Barns this weekend!! Nic and Carol went above and beyond to make our day go smoothly, and it was an absolutely beautiful day. The pizza ovens were incredible, the woodland area was gorgeous, and the whole venue looked fantastic. We would not change the venue at all- it was 100% the right choice.
  • Maria
    Maria G. Sent on 14/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above and beyond

    Firstly stunning location, a beautiful woodland setting which makes for a very personal and intimate wedding. Stunning gardens with spectacular views in glorious Suffolk countryside. We could not of picked a better venue for our perfect day. Add in to that the lengths that owners carol and nic went too, we booked our wedding with only 6 weeks notice and they perfectly orchestrated the whole day. The barns are steeped in history and are absolutely beautiful and if we could do it all again,it would be with Alpheton Hall Barns.❤️
  • Tuppence
    James Sent on 08/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A perfect venue for your perfect day

    The effort that Carol and Nic go to so that your day is special at their venue is amazing. We were so pleased that we chose Alpheton, there was soo much beauty to take advantage of for your day that you'll struggle to fit it all in to your photos.
    They clearly care a lot about your day and not just taking your money, you'll definitely feel like every penny was worth it.
    They are responsive and if you are looking for inspiration of how to take advantage of the space they have great ideas.
    We hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

    Thank you Carol and Nice
  • J
    Jack S. Sent on 30/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    What a fantastic venue!

    What a fantastic wedding venue! Nic and Carol were phenomenal throughout the whole process, being very friendly and reassuring. They were hugely accommodating of us wanting to do a DIY wedding, which they helped facilitate for us and guided us around several pitfalls.

    The whole setting is stunning, and Nic and Carol really went the extra mile to help us get the most out of it. This included extra viewings to help reassure family members, and liaising with the photographer to ensure she knew the best spots. Oh, and of course it has a zip line for some unique and fun photos!

    On top of this, they also provided the evening food with homemade pizza. This was delicious and was incredibly popular with the guests. I’m pretty sure the line was nearly constant for several hours!

    Once again, a big thank you to Nic and Carol, you truly helped make our big day special and a day we will never forget!

    Hannah and Jack
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message