Stoneleigh Abbey

Kenilworth, Biggleswade (Bedfordshire) CV8 2LF Map · Telephone · Website
Booked? Save
3 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
Starting at £2500
Number of guests 50 to 400
  • Photos & Videos 45
  • About
  • Reviews 3
  • FAQs

About Stoneleigh Abbey

** The Midlands Asian Wedding Awards "Best Alternative Wedding Venue 2018 & 2017" **

Here at Stoneleigh Abbey, we know that every second of your day is precious, from the moment you arrive to your final goodbyes, so it goes without saying the setting must be perfect.

Stoneleigh Abbey is a stunning country estate situated amidst 690 acres of grade II* list parkland, which provides an elegant setting for your special day.

Once the ancestral home to the Leigh family, having played host to not only English Royalty, such as King Charles 1st, Queen Victoria and Prince Albert, but to literacy figure Jane Austen.

With a combination of historical buildings, including Elizabethan and baroque style, parts of which date back to the mid Fifteenth century, Stoneleigh Abbey will take you and your guests back in time.

You will be spoiled for choice with several but equally remarkable spaces. Feel a sense of tranquillity as you pass through the handsome gatehouse lodges and up the lime tree lined drive to a place that promises fairy tales.

For a more traditional theme for your ceremony or reception, our West Wing’s Saloon exudes decadence with its ornate décor, timeless features and regal feel. Once dined in by Queen Victoria, the famous Saloon overlooks our stunning parkland. The Riding School is an impressive Gothic style banqueting hall, perfect for a large wedding breakfast or evening reception. Alternatively, our Vaulted Hall and Gilt Hall provide a more intimate setting for celebrations.

For a more modern feel, the restored Orangery is fantastic for a drinks reception that looks out over the River Avon and beautiful parkland. Our grounds are also available to hire for the use of a marquee for up to 500 guests. The stunning landscaped grounds provide a beautiful backdrop for your wedding photographs.

The Abbey’s rich history and links to the great Jane Austen make it a timeless romantic gem of a location. Whatever you’re looking for Stoneleigh Abbey looks to make your dream wedding come true.

  • Stunning traditional back drop
  • Exclusive use
  • Experienced and friendly team
  • 36 years of experience
  • Beautiful locations including our Saloon and Orangery
  • Licensed for Civil Ceremonies
Follow Stoneleigh Abbey on
Stoneleigh Abbey 43
Stoneleigh Abbey 43
stoneleigh a 20180629123516882
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey
stoneleigh a 20180108115252728
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey 43
Stoneleigh Abbey 43
Stoneleigh Abbey 33
Stoneleigh Abbey 33
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey 44
Stoneleigh Abbey 44
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
The Saloon
Gilt Hall
Gilt Hall
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey
The Orangery
The Orangery
The Orangery
The Orangery
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
The Riding School
Riding School
Riding School
Riding School
Riding School
Riding School
Riding School
Stoneleigh Abbey 44
Stoneleigh Abbey 44
Stoneleigh Abbey 45
Stoneleigh Abbey 45
Stoneleigh Abbey 43
Stoneleigh Abbey 43
stoneleigh a 20180629123516882
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey
Stoneleigh Abbey

Did you like this supplier?

Request Pricing
Photos 38 photos
Videos 7 Videos

3 Reviews for Stoneleigh Abbey

Recommended by 67% of couples


3.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 3.7
  • Professionalism 3.7
  • Flexibility 3.7
  • Value for Money 3.7
  • Response time 3.3
  • M

    Maria · Married on 05/09/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value for Money:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Worst wedding venue

    For all couples considering this venue for your wedding, it is with a very heavy heart that I’d strongly advise you against it to save yourselves the heartache I unfortunately had to go through.
    This was my dream venue, and after years of planning it in my head things were finally coming full circle, until covid hit and sent the world in to chaos. Nevertheless myself & my partner still were very accommodating to changes in circumstances, working to reach a new date for 2021 and proceed without requesting a refund (like many did). However things took a turn for the worst when we were asked to provide full payment for the venue, in line with the 12 week terms prior to our original planned date. This didn’t sit right with us, especially when we were refused an amended contract with the new date stipulated. Naturally our insurance questioned this and informed us that we would not be legally covered/protected without an accurate contact. Furthermore, we had already provided a 50% deposit which is more than substantial and something most venues do not require as 10-20% deposit is usually sufficient enough. Alarm bells began to ring for us further more when we were given an ultimatum to either pay up or risk losing our deposit and our rearrange wedding date - bear in mind the entire hiring experience wasn’t the best with liaising staff acting unprofessional, always late to viewings and not very accommodating in their manner. BUT because we had always wanted the venue we mistakenly overlooked the red flags 🚩 this is something I deeply regret! Please note if the customer service levels are poor/your gut feeling is telling you these people don’t have your best interest at heart, you need to not progress that any further and look for other options. I wish we did this. We spent months begging and pleading, endless emails, phone calls and messages. They were heartless, relentless and only after one thing - OUR MONEY. It took third party/legal assistance for us to retrieve our money back, and even that was delayed for months due to them being negligent and purposefully ignoring us. Both Stoneleigh Abbey & Monsoon Venue Group should be ashamed for their unethical business practises. Regardless of anything this is someone’s special day, something we’d spent countless sleepless nights having to worry about whilst they revelled in our misery at such an awful time. Not only had I lost loved ones due to covid, I’d also lost my dream wedding day, and that is something which will stick with me for the rest of my life. The way we were treated was absolutely disgusting, their lack of morals was appalling and I hope they realise that monopolising off the misfortune of good people, pressurising & subjecting couples to constant torment and unfair treatment will never grow your business in this industry! By far the worst customer service I have ever received. This isn’t a position I ever dreamt I’d be in, and I hope nobody ever makes the mistake of dealing with Monsoon venue group or Stoneleigh abbey for their dream day.

    Sent on 29/08/2020

    Stoneleigh Abbey's reply:

    Dear Maria (which we both know is not your real name)

    Thank you for your feedback, following your threats of defaming us on social media, the Daily Mail, ITV News and your constant reminders that your fiancé works in the ‘legal sector’ whenever you did not get your own way, this review comes as no surprise.

    We are however grateful that you have given us the opportunity warn other venues and suppliers to steer clear from working with clients who have shown no regard for the challenges we are ALL suffering and facing because of a global pandemic that is completely out of our control and affected many lives around the world.

    To be clear, although your event was not due until September and we were under no obligation to postpone your event or offer you a refund, we moved your event back in March, to the bank holiday weekend in May 2021 (one of our busiest weekends) for free of charge.

    All that we requested was that you make your payments in accordance with your original event date, as we too like every other business are struggling with cash flow as a result of Covid19, and this would allow for us to continue trading instead of being forced into closing as many other venues have been.

    We also offered you a payment plan to pay instalments to the end of the year as way of finding a middle ground, but again this was outright rejected.

    Instead of being appreciative of the fact that we have been flexible and showing any compassion for the challenges we and the Abbey, a charity run venue, are facing; you were completely unreasonable and unnecessarily aggressive in your manner, sending emails using obscene language, yet we are the ones that were unprofessional…

    You then raised issue with the contract and demanded a new contract, dictating the terms of the contract and payment terms. When we refused this and sent an addendum of the contract with the new date, your fiancé threatened us with legal action, whilst you had apparently been approached by ITV News to discuss the poor service you had received - the timing of which was very convenient.

    Having exhausted every avenue to find a reasonable solution and becoming tired of the constant threats to publicly defame us and Stoneleigh Abbey, we VOLUNTARILY refunded you your money. I am sure you will agree that this does not seem like the behaviour of a company that is only interested in taking your money.

    Shockingly, after we offered you a refund your fiancé deemed it appropriate to call our offices and made threats of violence against the team!

    We were nothing but reasonable and fair in every way possible, and this matter could have been resolved had you been willing to show some cooperation and understanding.

    We wish you all the best with your event and hope that moving forward this has taught you to act more reasonably with your vendors.

    Kind Regards

    Pav Shergill

    MD of Monsoon Venue Group
  • M

    M Beraj · Married on 12/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Spring Wedding

    Such a beautiful venue for photos!! the rooms we used were all stunning, food was fantastic, service was excellent! A perfect day!

    Sent on 17/10/2019

Stoneleigh Abbey Awards

Recommended in Hitched
Hitched Wedding Awards 2016 Winner

Stoneleigh Abbey FAQ

  • Venue Type:
    Exclusive Use
    In the Country
    Asian Wedding
    Stately Home
    Historic
    Landmark
    Marquees and Tents
    Civil Ceremony Licence
    Unique Weddings
  • Dining Options:
    Seated Meal Facilities
    Corkage Option
    Alcohol Licence
    Buffet Meal Facilities
    In House Catering
  • Evening Entertainment:
    Dance Floor
    Evening Reception Facilities
    DJ Facilities
    Outdoor Fireworks Permitted
  • Venue Staff Assistance:
    Wedding Coordinator
  • Other Features:
    Disabled Facilities
    Car Parking

2 Preferred Vendors

Map

  • Kenilworth Biggleswade (Bedfordshire) CV8 2LF
    Location of (Stoneleigh Abbey)