Wotton House Verified Reviews

114 | Dorking (Surrey)
View More Information

114 Reviews for Wotton House

Recommended by 99% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

  • Emma

    Emma · Married on 04/12/2020

    2.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value for Money:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Awful experience

    It saddens me that I need to leave this review, but I feel it’s important to share for any future brides/grooms. My now husband and I, like many couples, had our original wedding cancelled from April 2020 due to Covid, and we therefore decided to move it to December and go ahead with 15 of us in attendance. We’d always planned to have a church wedding (which we did), and had originally booked Wotton House to host the reception. Obviously with Covid and the government rules there needed to be changes made to ensure everyone was Covid compliant which we fully expected. We had decided to have a sit-down 7-course tasting menu for the 15 of us for our reception. However, over the course of a number of weeks Wotton House took to making up their own rules in addition to the government guidance which didn't make sense, had a significant impact on our day, and changing then their minds on some of those (even when there had been no further rules released by the government). There were many but some examples include giving us a maximum of 15minutes to eat each of our 7 courses which had to be followed immediately one after the other, and despite us and our allowed number of guests all staying at the hotel at no point were our guests allowed into the gardens at any time (within their own households, even when the actual rule at the time was up to 6 from any household), despite other guests being able to.
    However, the most disappointing thing to me was how the staff at Wotton House handled the whole situation. They insisted on sending all of the new issues via email rather than picking up the phone to discuss with us in the first instance, and were quick to implement rules which had a huge impact on our day but gave no offer of solutions (even though there were some when my fiancé or I ended up calling them). The final straw was a particular member of staff being extremely condescending, rude and actually shouting at us when we did call them. It felt like they didn’t want to host our wedding as they offered to cancel and refund us in full multiple times. Needless to say, after this treatment we took them up on that offer and re-booked with another venue who worked with us to create a perfect wedding day with excellent service whilst 100% complying with the Covid rules to provide a Covid safe environment.
    To sum up, Wotton House is a beautiful venue but they caused untold stress for my husband and I which took a toll on my mental health and completely took the joy out of the lead up to our wedding. I therefore wouldn’t recommend them to future brides/grooms, but for anyone who has chosen them, I hope you get much better service than we did. This review will also not be a shock to the manager, who I understand is running an internal enquiry into the treatment we received.

    Sent on 22/12/2020

    Wotton House's reply:

    Dear Emma,

    I am sorry that you were unhappy with the handling of your wedding which was booked for December last year. I understand you are dissatisfied in the way in which Wotton House communicated and dealt with the restrictions which were bought in place following the November lock down which saw Surrey entering Tier 2 and therefore various changes to the way in which weddings could operate. As one of the governments ‘we’re good to go’ venues we take the restrictions and impact this can have on guests, visitors and employees of the hotel very seriously and have this as paramount to any decisions we make as a venue.

    As mentioned in our direct correspondence I have looked into the details of your wedding and whilst I appreciate your dissatisfaction I am pleased you were able to cancel with no charge and were able to find a venue which could accommodate your day. As disclosed I have conducted an internal investigation into the way your wedding was handled and continue to monitor how we work with couples to ensure we can safely operate within government guidelines and in line with our risk assessment for future weddings at the hotel.

    I would like to also take this opportunity to wish you and Mr. Bowman the very best for your future together and sincerely hope you enjoyed your marriage celebrations.

    Kind regards
  • C

    Corinne · Married on 10/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To the worlds most amazing team

    I don’t know how I will ever show my gratitude enough to you all for yesterday. We had the most amazing day and it’s all down to you guys.

    There are official thank yous coming to you all indivually when we are back from honeymoon but I just wanted to say you are all awesome, amazing, fabulous and thank you thank you thank you.

    Sent on 11/07/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How tasty the food was...

    Apologies for the delayed reply - we've only just returned from honeymoon so it has been a bit of a whirlwind!

    We had an amazing wedding day - thank you! We couldn't have asked for more, it was exactly as we had hoped and more. All of our guests were commenting on how smoothly the day ran, how beautiful the venue looked and how tasty the food was. They were all extremely impressed, as were we! I must also say that the toastmaster, Robert, was awesome - he really gave structure to the day, had a great personality and calmed both me and James down (as we were both rather nervous before the ceremony!). All of your staff were brilliant, so helpful and friendly. Thanks also for all your help in organising the day, it is much appreciated.

    I am waiting for the first lot of professional photos to be sent to me, but I will send you some on receipt so you can see how it all looked!

    We will certainly be returning to stay at Wotton House in the near future :-)

    Many thanks again,

    Sent on 11/07/2018
  • L

    Leyla · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical

    I just want to say we had an amazing weekend ! The wedding was magical !! Made it even more special with the Christmas decorations and Every one was saying what a lovely weekend it was !! I want to particularly say as I am a vegan and several others there too said how delicious our vegan meal was and would like to come and stay there again. Also a big thank you to the staff who looked after us, Saturday night too as well as Sunday. A great time was had by all.

    Sent on 11/07/2018
  • S

    Steph · Married on 28/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding October 2017

    We got married at Wotton House in October 2017.

    The venue is beautiful and it was an amazing day - the food was delicious, and the staff were brilliant. For us it was perfect - the ceremony room is stunning, then the Evelyn suite is less formal which we thought was nicer for the meal etc (though still looks beautiful once the decorations are in place).

    The MC (Robert) was brilliant too - very funny, incredibly helpful the whole day (e.g told us where to pause before walking down the aisle, etc), and listened to our request to try not to make things feel too formal.

    There was so much attention to detail - from bringing us champagne in the morning, to making sure we got canapes while getting photos taken, and from the way they had clearly put lots of thought/care into putting out all our table stationery etc.

    The team were also very good in terms of organising things beforehand - responded to all our questions and put together a very detailed wedding plan to ensure they'd captured all our preferences.

    Sent on 19/11/2017
  • S

    Simon · Married on 22/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical!

    Wotton House will always have a special place in our hearts after our truly magical wedding ceremony. From the moment we first visited, we knew we wanted to get married here. The old library is a beautiful room for a wedding ceremony and when it is decorated to your taste it really is breathtaking. The Wotton House team went out of their way to look after us and made sure the day went to plan. If you happen to have good weather as well (as we did) then the grounds are perfect for your guests to wander, kids to play in and for photos.

    Sent on 30/10/2017
  • M

    Mr · Married on 13/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are delighted that we chose Wotton House

    Thank you very much to yourself and all of the other colleagues who we dealt with in the run up to the wedding. Also to the lady who was in charge of setting up on the day, Amanda. We are very happy with how everything went and everybody commented on what a beautiful venue it was. We are delighted that we chose Wotton House as the venue for our special day.

    Sent on 17/11/2016
  • M

    Mr. · Married on 05/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How excellent all of the staff were!

    I stayed at your Wotton House hotel on Friday 5 August as my nephew was getting married at that venue on that day.
    I just wanted to say how excellent all of the staff were, particularly the waiting and serving staff, all of whom were so helpful and friendly. It really added something to what was a big family event so please ensure that their managers are made aware of how good their staff are.

    Sent on 17/11/2016
  • F

    Father · Married on 05/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Every member of staff were absolutely superb!

    Just a quick email to say a huge thank you to you and all the staff at Wotton house, for making Zoe and Steve’s wedding last Friday (5th) such a memorable time.
    They were made to feel extra special, and from the beginning to the end of their wedding every member of staff were absolutely superb, I couldn’t be more happy with the way things went. From the ceremony right through to the last song being played in the evening everything ran like clockwork, and that is down to all the hard work of every member of staff there.
    We stayed at the hotel until Sunday morning and I must say everyone there was so friendly that it made our stay even better, so once again thank you very much.
    Seeing your daughter get married is a huge deal and looking back I am so grateful that you and all the staff there insured both Zoe and Steve had the best time. They didn’t even need to tell me this I could tell just by looking at the smiles on their faces, and that is in no small part down to everyone there at Wotton House.

    Sent on 17/11/2016
  • M

    Mr · Married on 28/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you so very much

    Our day was just magical it literally couldn't have gone any better, thank you so very much !!

    Sent on 10/08/2016