Skip to main content
Weddings

Thornbury Golf and Lodge Reviews

Thornbury Golf and Lodge

Thornbury Golf and Lodge

Bristol City, Bristol
4.9 out of 5 rating, 32 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
32 reviews
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
99% Recommended by couples

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2022 Winner

36 User photos

  • L
    Laura B. Sent on 20/03/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing experience

    Had an amazing wedding here over the weekend, food and location were just lovely. The staff including Natalie and Leighton went above and beyond they are an asset to the venue. Nothing was too much trouble and our day was truly magical.
  • L
    Lucy G. Sent on 13/03/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic experience

    The venue was brilliant, and the staff was brilliant could not fault them at all.

    Would highly recommend getting married here.

    Made our day really magical so thank you so much
  • D
    Daniella V. Sent on 13/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Wedding Day

    We had the most perfect wedding day and it was such a dream that we couldn’t of asked for anything better. From the very first viewing we fell in love with the venue with the beautiful grounds to the rustic feel of the main room upstairs with high beams and fairy lights. Everything looked so pretty.
    Natalie was so great from start to finish and was happy to help with any questions I had from the beginning. Her advice and taking full control was fantastic. Lee was also great and ran our wedding on the day and everything just flowed like it should. We truly couldn’t be happier.
    The food was gorgeous and even our guests couldn’t say anything wrong about it.
    Thank you so much.
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • R
    Rosie Sent on 30/06/2023
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Lovely day but a few concerns

    We had a lovely wedding day back in November. Natalie, we could not fault, she was great throughout and couldn’t do enough for us. The same could be said for the two men helping throughout the day. They were also lovely. The food for the wedding breakfast was lovely and of a high quality.

    The issues I have are to do with the volume of food for the buffet given the cost and the cost of the rooms.

    We paid for 100 guests for the evening buffet at approx £15 per head. We had one tables worth of food which didn’t even equate to a sandwich per person. Luckily most people from the day were full but the table was pretty sparse given the cost. I can’t knock the quality because those who had some said it was lovely but the amount for the cost was poor. I presented a photo to Thornbury but this apparently isn’t enough. So all I would advise is to monitor this.

    In addition, we were told the rooms at the lodge had a “special wedding rate” of £115 per night. This did not include breakfast. When one guest decided to stay on the day, they charged her £85 for the room. When I raised this with Thornbury they said it fluctuates throughout the year and depends on how in advance you book . This isn’t true as I looked on the website and rooms are sold at a rough price of £85 per night throughout the whole year. Personally, save yourself and your guests some pennies and just book the rooms through their website. Don’t fall for the “special” rate as I’m not sure what was special about it given guests didn’t even get a breakfast at that cost. When I raised this with Thornbury they have dodged each opportunity to discuss this part.

    I probably also wouldn’t waste your time on the complimentary afternoon tea. It isn’t what you would expect and consists of a couple of sandwiches, a few crisps and a millionaires shortbread and rocky road cut up from their cafe/bar display. If you’re travelling more than 20 mins I probably wouldn’t bother.

    We had 100 guests for the night and it was a bit squashed in the room upstairs with a couple of no shows. Be mindful of their max capacity of 120. There really isn’t enough room for that and left a lot of our guests stood up at the back without the option to sit down.

    Overall we had a lovely wedding, and would recommend it overall as a venue but just be mindful of asking about these couple of things to ensure you’re happy and to be on top of it.
  • L
    Leanne J. Sent on 24/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Leanne and Joe Gardiner

    The first time we went to visit Thornbury Golf centre we fell in love with the venue, we were made to feel very welcome by Natalie and Nicola and felt really relaxed, the venue felt so right for the wedding that we had pictured for ourselves. From the wooden beams to the amazing views and the intimate feeling that we wanted our day to be. We would highly recommend this venue.
    For our wedding day, we chose the top package which was the 'Excellence' and it was worth every penny. Everything that was included within our package was brilliant and was everything we had ever wanted. Our wedding took place on 12/11/2022 and after a long 2 years of planning and organising Natalie our wedding planner made sure all the team, especially Lee and Craig, that everything was organised effectively so the day ran smoothly.
    The food was amazing, all our guests commented on how much they loved it and how beautiful the venue looked, we can't thank Thornbury enough for our amazing wedding day, which we will treasure forever.

    Best wishes
    Leanne and Joe
  • D
    David J. Sent on 23/09/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing wedding venue & fantastic staff

    We were given a warm welcome right from the start. We mainly dealt with Natalie who did an amazing job. She gave us all the information we needed (and more) and was very accommodating throughout, especially with some last minute changes before the day itself. Thanks to the whole team and Thornbury Golf Centre, but an even bigger one to Natalie!
  • Kelly
    Kelly P. Sent on 13/08/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding

    Natalie was amazing from start to finish all the team was lovely the food was lovely
  • J
    Jeff S. Sent on 09/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Venue, Staff very Helpful

    Wonderful views, great photo places, food was lovely, hot and tasty, staff couldn’t do enough for us, guided through the whole day, you have a separate area away from golfers which makes you feel special, just simply a fantastic place and can’t recommend enough, brilliant 😀
  • K
    Kim P. Sent on 19/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Amazing

    Well what can I say from day 1 of us looking round the venue Nicola was absolutely amazing and welcoming. When ever we had a question Nicola or Natalie were always there at the end of the phone to help. Fast forward to the wedding day it was absolutely perfect we couldn’t have asked for a better day. All the staff were fantastic and couldn’t do enough for us and our guests. How I imagined the wedding day, Thornbury exceed it by far. I’m so glad we chose to get married at Thornbury. The staff and everyone that helped to make our wedding so special deserve recognition for going above and beyond. I would 100% recommend Thornbury Golf Club to anyone who is considering getting married here.
  • Thyer
    Thyer Sent on 20/11/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Astonishing

    From the first visit on viewing the venue we fell in love with it. The staff were so professional and made it so easy to arrange the perfect wedding day we had. All members of staff were fantastic. We wouldnt change a single thing about the day. And I've even said I would love to do it all over again. The food was beautiful and we would highly recommend it to anyone. They took control of everything to give us a stress free day. A beautiful location with wonderful surroundings.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message