Skip to main content
Weddings

The Orangery Reviews

The Orangery More information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
21 reviews
99% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Badges

  • Megan
    Megan Y. Sent on 13/02/2024
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Venue for The Best Day

    The Orangery was the best place for us to hold our wedding and I am so happy that we chose it. Michelle was so helpful and was always available to answer my emails and to help in any way she can. Can't recommend The Orangery enough.

    The Orangery's reply:

    Hey Megan, thank you so much for your lovely review. Much appreciated. It was a pleasure hosting for you. All the best Michelle 🍊❤️
  • J
    James T. Sent on 15/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Perfect Day

    Michelle and the team at The Orangery couldn't have been more professional and supportive in helping us arrange our wedding day. The venue and gardens are beautiful, and a stone's throw from the water's edge, which added real scale and grandeur to the occasion. Our guests arrived and left via ferry which they all loved, and from the welcome drinks to the goodnight pasties, everything ran seamlessly and on time. The whole day was brilliantly organised and executed by The Orangery's wonderfully capable and conscientious team. Michelle really listened to us during our planning meetings, but she was also great at offering advice and made us feel completely at ease. Planning a wedding is definitely stressful, but The Orangery couldn't have done more to welcome us and the team worked so hard to make sure we had a perfect day. The venue, the proprietor, the amazing food and service are truly worthy of this five star review. Thank you so much.

    The Orangery's reply:

    Hey James and Gemma, thank you so much for your lovely review - much appreciated. It was an absolute pleasure to host your special day. Thank you so much for choosing us as your venue. What a pleasure! Thank you! Lots of Orangery love from us all 🍊❤️
  • Nick
    Nick P. Sent on 30/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Day Ever

    The Orangery is the perfect setting for a wedding reception. It's classy. Michelle, who runs the show, made us feel so relaxed from our first meeting. Her planning and attention to detail is first class. The food was perfectly cooked (the chocolate brownie was actually served warm....that doesn't happen very often.) Don't be put off by the remote location, we hired a ferry to get the guests back to Plymouth which made the day even more special. 10/10.

    The Orangery's reply:

    Hey Nick, thank you so much for this amazing review. It was an absolute pleasure working with you and a joy to host your amazing day. So thank you. Big love ❤️🍊
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Charlotte
    Charlotte B. Sent on 23/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning, well organised day

    Where do I even start! Our wedding experience at Mount Edgecumbe was an absolute dream from the moment we went to visit. Michelle was an absolute star in every possible way, always on hand to answer my many neurotic questions with kindness and good humour. She runs a tight ship with clear processes that take any stress away from the big day, she is basically your own personal wedding planner :D, on the actual day her team (headed up by the unflappable Kerri who ran the whole day!) dealt with EVERYTHING I had nothing to worry about apart from when to start the bar tab :D. The venue itself is just stunning, in beautiful gardens right next to the sea, everything is included apart from your own flowers/decorations/placecards ect. We had so many wonderful compliments from friends and family on the food and the stunning venue. Its excellent value for money, you won't find anywhere as unique and beautiful as this venue with such excellent customer service. Thanks again to the whole team!

    The Orangery's reply:

    Hi Charlotte, thank you so much for this amazing review. Your fantastic comments mean the world to us. It was such a joy hosting your stunning reception. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for sharing your special day with us. Lots of Orangery love Michelle and the team 🍊❤️
  • L
    Kirsty T. Sent on 17/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Orangery Love

    It was The Orangery that we fell in love with when choosing the venue for our special day and Michelle and her team went above and beyond to make it everything we could have hoped for. When we met with Michelle to discuss what we wanted, she shared a range of packages with us and answered all of the questions that we had. Unfortunately, we had to postpone our wedding twice and the team at The Orangery were nothing short of amazing when helping us move our date. We met with Michelle and the coordinator the day before our wedding reception and went through the set up of the day. It was absolutely perfect and we felt so at ease because of the hard work and effort that went into making our day exactly what we wanted. Our day was fantastic from start to finish and The Orangery is definitely a venue we would recommend. If we could do it all again, we would! Thank you again for giving us a day we will cherish forever.
  • Louise
    Louise T. Sent on 28/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A very special day at the Orangery

    The Orangery is the most perfect setting for a wedding reception, with stunning views of the gardens, beautiful backdrops for picturesque photos, amazing food, a large indoor space for dancing and space for a band! Between welcome drinks, canapés, food and dancing, you can walk up the paths to take in breath-taking views of Plymouth Sound as the sun sets, walk around the gardens with a glass of prosecco in hand, or sit outside to take a breather. Before coming to the Orangery for our reception, we said our vows at the house in the gardens surrounded by our friends, with views of Plymouth and the sea. It couldn't have been more special. Then, our guests were taken down in a Land Rover for welcome Pimms, scones with jam and cream, and canapés, whilst we were driven to spots around the park for some beautiful photos. On our arrival to the Orangery, fresh nibbles and drinks were waiting for us as we walked to greet our guests with the sun beaming through the large glass windows. The staff couldn't have been any more attentive - nothing was too much trouble and they helped the day run so smoothly. Including setting up our tables to exactly how I envisioned! During the evening, there was a flawless transition from wedding breakfast to toasting drinks, and then into an evening of dancing.

    We loved every single minute of our day, and the Orangery and park has become a very special place for us which we return to as often as we can.
  • Gemma
    Gemma S. Sent on 28/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional in Every Way

    'Exceptional' is the only word appropriate to describe our experience working with Michelle and the every team member at the Orangery.
    Nothing was too much trouble, from helping with dietary requirements to sorting out my table decorations!
    Our day ran so smoothly with zero issues.
    We received nothing but compliments from our guests at how wonderful the food, the service and the overall experience was. I honestly can't praise them enough - our day was wonderful. We followed their guidelines for timings and everything was simply perfect. We feel so blessed to have chosen the Orangery for our special day. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.

    The Orangery's reply:

    Hey Gemma, thank you so much for your amazing review. It is truly so appreciated. It was such a pleasure to host your stunning day. The pictures look fab. Thank you so much for sharing. Lots of Orangery Love Michelle 🍊❤️
  • H
    Heather S. Sent on 27/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible service from start to finish

    We had our wedding in the Orangery on an August sunny day and had an amazing experience right from the service we received through booking to delivery on the day. The venue is beautiful and the food incredible. The staff were kind, courteous and thoughtful right from the planning stage up to the day itself and gave us a day we would have done time and time again. All our guests had an incredible time and we are so happy this was our venue of choice we could not recommend it enough.
  • A
    Amrita R. Sent on 18/09/2021
    3.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue and service was sometimes very good, but in other cases could be improved

    The Orangery is a beautiful venue by the sea and has beautiful gardens. The quality of food is very good, particularly for so many people. Michelle is a good host and knows how to make you feel special on your wedding day. She also responded quickly to my queries prior to the wedding.

    However, the staff who took over once Michelle had finished her shift were not very friendly. Furthermore, we sent over some separate music for the wedding breakfast and for the evening reception. However, the breakfast music was played at the evening reception. When some of the guests asked to change the songs they were told we only have one hour left at the venue. In the end the music was changed though to songs we preferred.

    It would also be nice if the Orangery could offer more than a choice of 2 types of desserts, though the desserts we chose were lovely. It was also a shame that none of the wedding cake had been left, or remains put in a takeaway box, as had been requested.

    Overall, we had a lovely wedding breakfast and party here and it was a very memorable and special evening, in a beautiful venue.
  • Luxuriousivoryflowers78091
    Rosie R. Sent on 13/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best possible wedding venue!

    We had the most fantastic wedding at the orangery! It is a truly beautiful venue and Michelle and the team are so helpful and kind. Our guests were blown away by the location, food, drink and service and we will be forever grateful!

    The Orangery's reply:

    Hey Rosie, thank you so much for your lovely words. What a fantastic wedding. It was a real pleasure to host for you. Hopefully see you guys soon. Lots of Orangery Love 🍊❤️
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message