Weddings

The Old Swan Hotel Reviews

The Old Swan Hotel

The Old Swan Hotel

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 62 reviews
View more information

62 reviews

Rating
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Badges

  • C
    Charlotte Married on 31/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most perfect day

    We got married at the Old Swan at the end of August and it was the most perfect day!

    From the months of planning that went into it, to the day itself, the staff of Old Swan were so professional. A special mention to Elisha who took the time to answer my many emails in the planning stages! The Old Swan provided a very flexible and personal service.

    The bridal suite was very spacious, which allowed myself and the bridesmaids to all get ready together. The Master of Ceremonies, Kate, was very friendly and helped the day run smoothly. The food was of a very high standard, and accommodated different dietary requirements (GF, vegetarian).

    The gardens provided a perfect backdrop for our wedding photos, which we will treasure forever :) there was no one else around, so we didn't feel overlooked whilst the photos were being taken.

    We had such an enjoyable, stress-free day, and have to thank the Old swan staff for putting in all the hard work behind the scenes
  • R
    Rebekah Married on 02/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank you so much!

    We were so incredibly happy and impressed with everything the Old Swan offered. From the initial inquiries to the numerous e-mails asking for information and asking questions over an entire year that we planned, down to the in-person meetings and final decisions. With us living in the US and planning our wedding in a different country, I never once questioned or felt worried about anything. Though I came up with any question under the sun, I was always answered in a timely and helpful fashion.

    When we met with you for the first time, just 4 months before the wedding, I knew I was in great hands. You had everything covered and were so accommodating to every question and request we had. Meeting Chris as well was great-- he was very thorough and it was so helpful to have someone like him in charge the day of the event.

    The food was incredible, the bar service phenomenal, the room itself (we loved the makeover) and the set up was absolutely amazing. I could not have imagined a more perfect day! There were even some last minute things (information to guests, setting up photos, etc.) that y'all handled impeccably. Thank you again, from both Jamie and me, for an amazing wedding day!
  • T
    Tomoko Married on 24/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank you

    My husband and I got married on March 24th at the Old Swan Hotel and we couldn’t have asked for anything better! The lead up to the wedding was greatly helped by our wedding co-ordinator Emily Aikman. Emily is incredibly knowledgeable, patient, kind and really takes the time to listen to what we wanted- from big to small details she made sure that everything was perfect, and the day truly was thanks to her big support. There have been many times where I would call Emily for advice and last-minute preparations and she would always take her time to give the best advice. It was such a pleasure to work with someone as passionate and caring as Emily and we are so grateful that we’ve had the opportunity to work with her.
    The in house DJ, Howard Barnett (recommended photographer by the Old Swan and of course by us too!) and Chris the master of ceremony were also incredible – I did a surprise flashmob for my husband and they all were part of the process to ensure it went smoothly. I highly recommend contacting the Old Swan for their DJ and photographer too- I wouldn’t have changed a thing! The staff on the day of the wedding were quick and professional with serving food and accommodating our guests. One more small thing I remember is the receptionist (I can’t remember her name but she had short black hair) and she was calming me down right before I was going to the altar and while I was waiting for the car to arrive at the lobby- I remember her as the last person I saw before I walked down the isle and I just remember thinking how lovely and how good she was to me!
  • E
    Emma Married on 24/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Emma & Tony 24th June 2017

    I just wanted to express how amazing our wedding was and to thank you both for everything you’ve done, it couldn’t have gone any better for us.
    The Garden Room for the ceremony and reception looked beautiful. It was pretty much exactly as I had imagined it to be.

    Sophie, the preparation you worked through with us was so evident on the day, thank you for all your hard work, it certainly paid off and we were lucky to have you! The Garden Room in the evening was so pretty and made me feel unbelievably special. Can’t wait for the official photos.
  • J
    John
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Wedding May 2016

    We had a wonderful day at our Wedding reception at the Old Swan in Harrogate. The staff were very attentive and friendly, and treated me and my Wife like royalty!
    The drinks reception, wedding breakfast and the evening reception were all handled very well, and any minor issues were dealt with quickly. Special thanks to our Wedding Coordinator Georgina and our Master of Ceremonies Fatou who really helped make our day special.

    Thank you!
  • M
    Mr
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic Wedding Experience

    We wanted a wedding that was unique to us .
    Georgina the wedding co ordinater at The Swan made that not just possible but happen on 22/12/15
    From our first meeting right through the planning and the day nothing was to much trouble and anything was possible.
    On the day the venue was amazing . The staff all absolutely fantastic .
    Our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves saying the food and service from the staff was first class
    The whole event was stress free and well run leaving us with nothing to do but enjoy our day and guests.
    The bridal suite was lovely and finishing touches added to the occasion.
    Our guests who stayed at the hotel enjoyed hearty breakfasts and their rooms were of a good standard .
    We would recommend checking this venue and meeting Georgina very highly. If you want your wedding day to be stress and hastle free this is the place to be.
  • M
    Mr
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic

    Had such an amazing wedding day on 10/10/15. The hotel looked fantastic, the do had everyone dancing from start to finish and the food was lovely. Everything ran smoothly and the guests all commented about how relaxed and enjoy rank the day was. Georgina (wedding coordinator) was brilliant at putting us at ease. The honeymoon suite was beautiful and the all the wedding guests that stayed, said there rooms were lovely. It was also really special to have a private area to share breakfast with our guests the morning after. BRILLIANT!
  • A
    Abby
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Day!

    My Husband and I got married at The Old Swan on 5th September 2015. We had a fabulous day! Our wedding Co-ordinator, Georgina was great, leading up to the big day she really put our minds at ease and helped with the organisation of everything, she was so helpful and kept in touch with us constantly. We had a bit of a nightmare with the chair covers (We used an external company) and Georgina came to the rescue and contacted their resident chair cover contact for new covers and Georgina even put the new ones on the morning of the wedding!The Master Of Ceremonies, Matthew was also fantastic, we met Matthew a week before the Wedding Day and he went through everything with a fine toothed comb, from the order of the day to how we wanted the serviettes folding! The day ran so smoothly and we are so grateful to everyone who made our day so special. Thank you!
  • D
    David
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding 1st September 2015

    After viewing several wedding venues we decided on The Old Swan. We found it the perfect venue for such a important day. From day one the various meetings we had with the staff went very well and they couldn't have been more helpful. The day its self went to plan, the staff continued with their help from early morning till late at night. Our guests had nothing but praise for the whole occasion.
  • S
    Sam
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding - 7th March 2015

    We were impressed with the service from our first visit to the Old Swan, other venues delayed in replying or didn't bother at all and this was never the case here. We felt we could trust them to help organise and ensure the day went smoothly and that stayed true. We had a fantastic day in this lovely venue and would recommend to anyone considering having their wedding here. Can't thank them enough.