Skip to main content
Weddings

Milling Barn Reviews

Milling Barn

Milling Barn

Buntingford, Hertfordshire
4.7 out of 5 rating, 72 reviews
More information

Reviews

4.7 out of 5 rating
72 reviews
  • Quality of the service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.6 out of 5 rating
95% Recommended by couples

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
  • Jordan
    Jordan Sent on 29/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding!

    We had the most magical day at Milling Barn on the 22.03.24, from start to finish the whole team were amazing and made the whole process from booking to planning to the actual day such a breeze. The venue itself is just stunning and made our day so perfect. Nothing was too much to ask and we were made to feel like we were the only couple to ever get married there, the actual day was perfection and ran so smoothly thanks to our coordinator Chloe and the rest of the team involved, I couldn’t fault a single second and will be forever grateful for the effort put into making our day so special. Highly recommend Milling Barn to anybody. Thank you again.
  • H
    Hannah S. Sent on 18/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best day ever

    As soon as we visited, we just knew this was the perfect venue! We feel so incredibly lucky and so grateful to have had the most amazing day! Everything was absolutely perfect and run so seamlessly with everything going exactly to plan! Mimi was brilliant, she was all over everything and there whenever we needed her. The venue is so stunning, the food was incredible and the service from everyone was just amazing! Thank you so much for the best wedding day ever!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Amy
    Amy H. Sent on 07/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the best

    Absolutely amazing the best day of our life’s,

    We just knew milling barn was the venue for us,
    The beautiful barns are just amazing the people at milling barn are just so kind, helpful understanding and considerate, we had an absolute blast!
    It couldn’t have flowed better and the venue was more than we could ever had imagined for our wedding day, we had so many guests comments on the day and the venue.
    We can’t thank milling barn enough!
  • Franci
    Franci F. Sent on 16/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding day

    We got married here on Halloween 2023 and we had the best day ever!

    The food was amazing as well as the atmosphere on the day. The venue was absolutely beautiful and was the perfect venue to add decor to make it into our own. Absolutely loved the vibe here and the staff were super friendly and helpful. Mimi was our coordinator for the day off and she was amazing.

    Can’t thank the team enough for our amazing day!
  • Katie
    Katie F. Sent on 26/10/2023
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    The most beautiful wedding venue and BEST coordinator, Mimi!!

    We just wanted to say a huge thank you to The Milling Barn for hosting our wedding. What a simply stunning venue- we fell in love the moment we walked in. However, it was the first venue we saw, so we wondered if we would feel that way about everywhere and so went on several other viewings…it was quickly apparent how special The Milling Barn is as we didn’t feel that way about other places and quickly secured our spot for the 21st October 2023.

    We owe everything to our gorgeous wedding coordinator, Mimi. She is SUCH an asset to the team- professional, kind and patient, we could not be more grateful to her. She completely understood this was a whole new world to us and explained everything with compassion and understanding, never once making us feel like we were annoying or a burden (which I’m sure we were!!)

    Mimi made the planning process an absolute pleasure, we never once felt stressed and this translated to the big day beautifully. She had everything under control, made us feel relaxed and we had the best day of our lives thanks to her. Words cannot express our gratitude and we have no idea how to repay her for everything- it could never be enough. It will be strange not catching up with her regularly, she feels like a friend to us now!!

    The room for getting ready in was perfect, and I have so many wonderful memories in there with my bridesmaids and family. The screen door ensures you can do a great first look with whoever you choose, and the breakfast was beautifully presented.

    Please ensure you pass on our thanks to Mimi, and the amazing catering staff that day and night. They danced with us, (especially Grandad and our nephew) and were so much fun yet professional in their work.

    The food was incredible- we had so many compliments about it all and will forever dream of that crème brûlée! We were worried that we weren’t offered a food tasting prior to the event, but it all went so well on the night and we really enjoyed it. We had the casual menu for the wedding breakfast and wood fired pizza in the evening with the cheese tower. It was all just fabulous!!

    Thanks again to everyone involved- we and our guests had such an incredible time and nothing but compliments and gushing five star reviews for our wedding day.

    This venue is such value for money- I say for many reasons and I hope you can see from my review and photos just how beautiful it was, but you can (if you choose) save SO much money on decor, because the place is stunning before you put a single flower, candle or table runner down!!

    If we were to do it all over again (which we would love to), we would book The Milling Barn and Mimi over and over in a heartbeat.

    With all our love,

    Katie and Leon
    xxx
  • Clare
    Clare B. Sent on 16/11/2023
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exactly what we wanted

    We had absolutely the best time with our wedding at the Milling Barn. We wanted a big, joyful party and that was exactly what we got. Our planner, Mimi, was just amazing - we kept running late with things, but Mimi never made us feel like it was a problem, even though we know it was probably a headache from her end!

    The venue is so lovely, and so many of our family and friends told us how beautiful it was. Everything ran so perfectly smoothly from our perspective, and despite Chloe having to step in at the last minute to run things on the day due to illness, she was an absolute star the whole day. She told us it was only the second wedding she had managed, but we would never have guessed it had she not mentioned it!

    Our guests loved the food and had a lot of fun carving the beef! The pizzas were a hit too - especially for a few of our friends who have dietary issues and were delighted that you were able to cater for them so easily.

    We had a wonderful day, and were very pleased to have chosen the Milling Barn as our venue.
  • R
    Rachel W. Sent on 09/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend!

    Our wedding at Milling Barn was a dream come true. The rustic charm of the barn, coupled with the stunning surroundings, created a magical backdrop for our special day. The staff were exceptional, making sure every detail was perfect. The venue was beautifully maintained, with cozy lighting that created a warm and inviting atmosphere. Our day was unforgettable thanks to this superb wedding venue.

    Milling Barn's reply:

    Thank you so much Rachel for your lovely review! We are so pleased you had the best day. Congratulations to you both x
  • Kristen
    Kristen K. Sent on 22/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Kristen & Dan

    We knew as soon as we visited that this was the one. Communication in the lead up to the wedding was great & all the members of staff we met were lovely and accommodating. Fast forward to the wedding day and everything went perfectly. Everyone commented what a lovely relaxed wedding day it was which is exactly what we wanted. Our coordinator Aimee was amazing and nothing was too much trouble. We are so pleased we chose Milling Barn to be our wedding venue and would recommend to everyone looking for a rustic & relaxed wedding - it was just perfect. Thank you so much Milling Barn!

    Milling Barn's reply:

    Thank you so much Kristen for your review! Beautiful photos too! So glad to hear you had the best day! Congratulations!
  • Alexandra
    Ally H. Sent on 25/08/2023
    3.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing day but multiple negatives.

    All in all we had an amazing day at Milling Barn, most of the time they were very good at communicating and the day went fairly smoothly.
    There was just a few things that we didn't like and did effect our experience.
    Firstly we were told at our first meeting that we were able to set up the day before the wedding as long as there was wasn't a wedding the day before. On our 6 week before the wedding meeting we were told this was no longer the case, I was not given any other reason apart from a change in protocol and they did not even try and change it for me even when discussed with them the importance of it.
    We were told we would have help setting up the morning of the wedding but all the help we got was setting up the table with plates etc. We had to do all the personal setting up which took most of the morning meaning we only had 1 hour all together go get ready. We didn't have time for specific pictures etc that we wanted to do.
    We also wanted specific music for different times such as the walk in, the music was played so low nobody could hear it and it ruined the walk in for us.
    The food etc was lovely, including the canapés. We wanted to have the canapé reception outside but we were told as it had rained in the morning we were no longer allowed it outside. We had paid for a band to wander around ideally outside so this again wasn't as planned.
    We wanted the LOVE sign in the barn and to use some log places, this was an additional expense which again was a negative.
    The rooms were only available from 2pm which made it difficult for people who were driving a long way for the wedding. They did open one room early at 11am but refused to open anymore.
    Again, all in all our wedding day was beautiful and was something we will never forget, but when asked if we would have it there again it would be difficult to say yes.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message