Gilbert White & The Oates Collections Verified Reviews

13 | Alton (Hampshire)
View More Information

13 Reviews for Gilbert White & The Oates Collections

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value for Money 4.8
  • Response time 4.8

Badges

3 User photos

  • T

    Toby R. · Married on 12/08/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A beautiful day

    Tasha and her team at Gilbert White's House were amazing, they couldn't do enough to help, we had free reign on the barn do dress as we pleased. The transition between ceremony and reception was seamless. We couldn't thank them enough for making our day perfect!

    Sent on 02/09/2021
  • ExpensiveRedCakes45647

    Katherine G. · Married on 07/08/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect Venue

    Gilbert Whites are the perfect venue. The setting is completely stunning, the people are so kind and helpful, the barn itself is gorgeous and the venue added so much character to the day. All of our photos are so stunning. Monique was such a help both in the lead up to the day and on it. The Team was so friendly and it really made planning the day so much easier. The flexibility of the venue added so much personality to our day and we loved the Gilbert White Brewed Beers!

    Sent on 10/08/2021
  • L

    Louise · Married on 13/04/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Perfect Day

    We cannot thank Charlotte and the team at Gilbert White’s enough for their approach to making our day exactly what we wanted. From the first time we arrived to view the venue, we knew that the history of the place and the surrounding natural environment was perfect for us. We were treated to a wonderful food tasting to get our menu right, as many visits to the venue as we needed to plan things, and easy, straightforward communication at all times. We were very lucky that we were able to maintain flexibility with our dates as well, since we had to postpone three times during the height of the pandemic. Ultimately, our small wedding was more than perfect and the relaxed yet professional approach at Gilbert White’s meant that our day felt intimate and special.

    Sent on 16/04/2021
  • Katie

    Katie C. · Married on 04/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An excellent wedding venue and wonderful staff

    Charlotte and the team at Gilbert White's went over and above to make our day incredibly memorable. Leading up to the wedding Charlotte was always on hand to provide advice and assistance and was a great help on the wedding day. The food prepared by the inhouse caterers was also excellent.

    Sent on 07/04/2021
  • L

    Laura · Married on 07/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barn Birthday Party

    I arranged a joint birthday party at the Barn at Gilbert White's
    House, in December, at quite short notice. The staff were absolutely
    fantastic, they arranged everything for us from tables and tablecloths
    to a sound system, all included in the price. The venue looked
    beautiful, and Ellie kindly came down that morning to help us add some
    extra decorations. The chef, Jo, put together a selection of delicious
    food options at very reasonable prices, and we eventually chose a
    shared starter and "fork buffet". There were a wide range of options
    to suit everyone, and the food was widely complimented (and the staff
    kindly packaged up the leftovers for us to take home!). The staff on
    the night were all fantastic, everyone had drinks at all times, but
    they were very discreet. Several of our guests commented
    (independently) to us that it was "the best party we've ever been to".
    We couldn't have been more delighted.

    Sent on 23/12/2019
  • L

    Lynne · Married on 03/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Parlour Wedding

    We had an amazing wedding in the Great Parlour which had a wonderful historic atmosphere and made an intimate setting for our small wedding. Having the string trio perform during the ceremony was perfect for the setting. The drinks reception in the garden with them playing outside was wonderful.

    Thank you for all your help on the day and with planning. It is such a special place and we have many happy memories to take forward.

    Sent on 10/02/2020
  • S

    Steph · Married on 20/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our perfect venue

    This venue doesn't host very many weddings, and that's what we liked about it - it's not a faceless wedding factory. We wanted the freedom to do things our own way, and the staff at Gilbert White's were more than happy for us to do that while also helping out when asked. When we first went to look round it was a miserable, grey, muddy day in December, but even then we could see that it would be absolutely beautiful in the spring and perfect for how we wanted our day to be; it ticked all the boxes. Even though there wasn't a wedding coordinator in place when we booked, the Directors went above and beyond in answering all our questions and giving us ideas throughout the planning process until the new wedding coordinator came on board, and on the day itself they were all on site and we genuinely felt like they were part of the day too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the barn at Gilbert White's for couples looking for a flexible, relaxed venue in a stunning countryside setting.

    Sent on 02/05/2019
  • L

    Louise · Married on 29/07/2017

    3.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value for Money:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Great Location, Awful Service

    We got married in July 2017- the barn and surroundings are beautiful however the service we received was terrible, To begin with our wedding coordinator left the barn and we were without a coordinator until 6 weeks before we got married. We were not told certain information, they kept getting confused with what we had requested, what we had paid and the plan for the day. Additionally the new wedding coordinator was rude to us and our guests. My father-in law had to mow the meadow the day before the wedding and the coordinator messed up the music as I was walking down the aisle and ruined the ceremony. These are only a few of the issues we faced. Despite numerous emails we have received an inadequate response from the Directors and the coordinator has still not apologised. I hope other couples and their guests do not go through the same experience as us.

    Sent on 17/01/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 27/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful rustic barn to decorate how you want

    We had our wedding day here on the 27th august 2016. Becky and her team allowed us to decorated how we wanted inside and outside. They where so helpful with all the decisions. Having our wedding in the barn created a relaxed safe environment for all our guests. Children loved the meadow and played safely all day. The food provided by gilbert whites (afternoon tea party) was delicious. Becky and her team and the setting of the barn in the meadow was our dream vintage country wedding we always have wanted. Highly recommended this venue and it's team to create your dream wedding.

    Sent on 11/09/2016