Gilbert White & The Oates Collections Verified Reviews

8 | Alton (Hampshire)
View More Information

8 Reviews for Gilbert White & The Oates Collections

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value for Money 4.6
  • Response time 4.6

Badges

  • L

    Laura · Married on 07/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barn Birthday Party

    I arranged a joint birthday party at the Barn at Gilbert White's
    House, in December, at quite short notice. The staff were absolutely
    fantastic, they arranged everything for us from tables and tablecloths
    to a sound system, all included in the price. The venue looked
    beautiful, and Ellie kindly came down that morning to help us add some
    extra decorations. The chef, Jo, put together a selection of delicious
    food options at very reasonable prices, and we eventually chose a
    shared starter and "fork buffet". There were a wide range of options
    to suit everyone, and the food was widely complimented (and the staff
    kindly packaged up the leftovers for us to take home!). The staff on
    the night were all fantastic, everyone had drinks at all times, but
    they were very discreet. Several of our guests commented
    (independently) to us that it was "the best party we've ever been to".
    We couldn't have been more delighted.

    Sent on 23/12/2019
  • L

    Lynne & Michael · Married on 03/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Parlour Wedding

    We had an amazing wedding in the Great Parlour which had a wonderful historic atmosphere and made an intimate setting for our small wedding. Having the string trio perform during the ceremony was perfect for the setting. The drinks reception in the garden with them playing outside was wonderful.

    Thank you for all your help on the day and with planning. It is such a special place and we have many happy memories to take forward.

    Sent on 10/02/2020
  • S

    Steph & Ade · Married on 20/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our perfect venue

    This venue doesn't host very many weddings, and that's what we liked about it - it's not a faceless wedding factory. We wanted the freedom to do things our own way, and the staff at Gilbert White's were more than happy for us to do that while also helping out when asked. When we first went to look round it was a miserable, grey, muddy day in December, but even then we could see that it would be absolutely beautiful in the spring and perfect for how we wanted our day to be; it ticked all the boxes. Even though there wasn't a wedding coordinator in place when we booked, the Directors went above and beyond in answering all our questions and giving us ideas throughout the planning process until the new wedding coordinator came on board, and on the day itself they were all on site and we genuinely felt like they were part of the day too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the barn at Gilbert White's for couples looking for a flexible, relaxed venue in a stunning countryside setting.

    Sent on 02/05/2019
  • L

    Louise · Married on 29/07/2017

    3.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value for Money:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Great Location, Awful Service

    We got married in July 2017- the barn and surroundings are beautiful however the service we received was terrible, To begin with our wedding coordinator left the barn and we were without a coordinator until 6 weeks before we got married. We were not told certain information, they kept getting confused with what we had requested, what we had paid and the plan for the day. Additionally the new wedding coordinator was rude to us and our guests. My father-in law had to mow the meadow the day before the wedding and the coordinator messed up the music as I was walking down the aisle and ruined the ceremony. These are only a few of the issues we faced. Despite numerous emails we have received an inadequate response from the Directors and the coordinator has still not apologised. I hope other couples and their guests do not go through the same experience as us.

    Sent on 17/01/2018
  • J

    Jessica Laney · Married on 27/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful rustic barn to decorate how you want

    We had our wedding day here on the 27th august 2016. Becky and her team allowed us to decorated how we wanted inside and outside. They where so helpful with all the decisions. Having our wedding in the barn created a relaxed safe environment for all our guests. Children loved the meadow and played safely all day. The food provided by gilbert whites (afternoon tea party) was delicious. Becky and her team and the setting of the barn in the meadow was our dream vintage country wedding we always have wanted. Highly recommended this venue and it's team to create your dream wedding.

    Sent on 11/09/2016
  • A

    Amy Lancaster · Married on 23/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A beautiful venue for a dream day - thank you.

    My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Gilbert White barn and couldn't have asked for a better venue. The setting is absolutely stunning and secluded but still easily accessible. All of our guests commented on how beautiful the scenery was and that it was so unique. The staff couldn't do enough for us. From our initial conversation right up to and including our big day, they were nothing but friendly, professional and accommodating. They worked so hard to help our special day run smoothly. The team were so flexible with our requirements and always went out of their way to accommodate us. It was the perfect venue for our wedding and we can't recommend the venue and team highly enough - thank you!

    Sent on 16/08/2016
  • A

    Abbie & Chris Clode

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our prefect venue

    We hired the barn for our wedding breakfast, 80 guests, and evening do for 120 guests.
    We had a country wedding which this venue suits perfectly, we also had lots of children as guests, having outside space and a bouncy castle proved to be invaluable! We had space outside to put up a gazebo, a hog roast and giant garden games without feeling at all cramped! The character of the barn meant we could decorate the inside with homemade bunting, candles (battery ones) fairy lights and flowers, creating a beautiful setting and a wonderful atmosphere, the views outside the doors are also incredible and the whole setting was a massive talking point for our guests!
    Having access to the gardens for our photos also meant that our photographer captured some stunning shots.
    Josh and the rest of the team were incredibly helpful....especially when a very special guest turned up to surprise us on the day!
    I would 100% recommended this venue.

    Sent on 10/10/2015
  • F

    F Baxter

    4.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value for Money:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    A May Wedding

    We got married in the barn (the Field Study Centre) in the grounds of Gilbert White's house and it was absolutely perfect for the kind of wedding we wanted. It was May and the field outside the barn was completely covered with buttercups which was beautiful. It was a relaxed space that we decorated with homemade bunting, festoon lights and garlands and jars of fresh flowers. We were able to have the ceremony and the reception in the same space with the guests spilling out into the field whilst the room changeover happened. All our photos were taken outside with the backdrop of the meadow and the wild flowers.

    The staff were extremely helpful and very accommodating. The facilities themselves were good. We used a caterer that was completely self-sufficient but there was an onsite kitchen should we have wanted to use it. We also hired the Ewell Field for parking which was much appreciated by all.

    Sent on 16/08/2015