Craig-Y-Nos Castle Hotel Verified Reviews

15 | Penycae (Powys)
View More Information

15 Reviews for Craig-Y-Nos Castle Hotel

Recommended by 100% of couples · Write a Review

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value for Money 5.0
  • Response time 5.0

Badges

9 User photos

  • M

    Madison · Married on 14/03/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely wonderful!

    Everyone at the venue was absolutely incredible. Could not do enough to help.

    Sent on 10/08/2020
  • Mrs V

    Briony · Married on 18/01/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A perfect venue!

    My husband and I got married at Craig y Nos back in January and I cannot recommend highly enough this stunning and quirky venue, as well as the truly fantastic wedding team that looked after us for the entire day and all throughout the planning process! No task was too big or small, and Emily and Nicola were at my beckon call to answer my many silly questions and offered endless advice and support. They both did so much to help our special day come together! The day itself was more than we could ever have wished for - the venue is so beautiful and steeped in history, and was the perfect backdrop for a wonderfully happy day. We received no end of comments from happy guests about how lovely the castle was, how delicious the food was, and how the staff were so friendly and accommodating. We can’t wait to go back to stay for our anniversary! Thank you again Craig Y Nos, for giving us a truly magical wedding day 💛

    Sent on 22/08/2020
  • K

    Kiri

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Magical Venue

    We had our wedding at Craig-Y-Nos in the summer and it was absolutely wonderful! We want to say a huge thank you to all the staff that made the day truly special. We were looked after from the moment we arrived. The venue is spectacular, the food was gorgeous and the grounds are perfect!

    Sent on 11/11/2014
  • T

    Toni

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn''t have asked for more!

    I am genuinely suprised that there aren’t more reviews of this fantastic venue so I had to add mine immediately! My husband and I got married at Dan-yr-Ogof Showcaves in November 2007 and held our reception at Craig-y-nos Castle. From booking our wedding to the day of checking out, we couldn’t have asked for better service, food and attention to detail, it was everything we wanted for our special day. The venue itself is just amazing, it may not be the most polished and painted venue in the world, it is a beautiful and homely castle with authentic decoration and a real comfortable feel. Some venues we saw were far too ‘clinical’ with no personal interaction welcomed with any of the staff. We chose our own menu with the help of their wonderful chef who prepared the whole thing to absolute perfection. My husband and I had both been too far too many weddings in our time at ‘five star’ venues costing over £150 a head to walk away hungry and disappointed with dried out chicken, overcooked veg and melon starters!. We had the most perfect, fresh, hot meal and people have been talking about the food, service and venue ever since! The location is out of this world, yes you’re a little off the main drag, but it added to the feel of almost owning the castle for the weekend of the wedding. From every window is amazing scenery, on the doorstep is hours of walking through the beautiful countryside. The picture opportunities both in and out of the castle are second to none. I recommend this venue and its staff to anyone who wants to have their wedding in a welcoming, authentic and comfortable venue full of character with fantastic food to boot!

    Sent on 23/07/2009
  • C

    Chris

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent Day in a Top Class Venue!

    We viewed 3 different venues before visiting Craig y Nos and upon walking through the door we knew instantly this was the place for us. Our ceremony was held in the Opera Theatre which is incredibly beautiful and Grade 1 listed, truly unique. We held our reception in the Castle's stunningly furnished former music room.

    Our wedding wasn't the biggest but we weren't made to feel any less important. The staff were fantastic from day one - we had a wedding planner who was always on the other end of the phone and always eager to help. The food at the main reception was fantastic and worthy of establishments that charge 2 or 3 times their prices. That was another bonus, the price was a fraction of what we expected. The accommodation was another high point. We stayed in the Bridal Suite which was originally a private chapel. In the morning we looked at a few of our guest's rooms and they were of the same high standard.
    Overall our day could really not have been any better, everything fell into place and the day was ultimately unforgetable.

    Sent on 30/05/2008
  • K

    Keith

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous!

    Thank you all for a fabulous weekend. The Wedding was brilliant, the whole experience was superb. Thank you all very much again.

    Sent on 29/05/2008
  • P

    P

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Had a lovely wedding

    Had a lovely wedding and lovely food in beautiful surroundings

    Sent on 29/05/2008
  • M

    Mrs.

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic venue, outstanding service and beautiful food

    My husband and I got married at Craig-y-nos on the 4th of march this year. We had a Welsh theme, the venue topped it all off. The theatre being so unusual, the reception room being so grand and the food was out of this world. All the staff were fantastic, and Alison the wedding planner was superb. We couldn't have wished for a better wedding. We were very fortunate. We can't wait for october, as our friends Christina and Andrew are getting married at the same venue, and we get to see the wonderful setting once again. Thank you so much Craig-y-nos. x x x

    Sent on 29/05/2008
  • C

    Chris

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My aunt got married here

    I am very pleased to announce that my wonderful aunt got married here today. Damned fine decor and wonderful grub.

    Sent on 29/05/2008
  • M

    Mr

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect...

    We have had a wonderful time here and the perfect wedding day. The staff and Steve have been exceptional and catered for our every whim. Thank you for the most perfect wedding in the most perfect place. Thanks for everything.

    Sent on 29/05/2008