Skip to main content
Weddings

Matt Selby Photography Reviews

Matt Selby Photography

Matt Selby Photography

Hucknall, Nottinghamshire
5.0 out of 5 rating, 31 reviews
More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
31 reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2023 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2022 Winner
  • O
    Olivia S. Sent on 24/06/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn’t recommend enough!!

    Simply the best!
    We knew from early on in our wedding planning journey that we wanted Matt as our photographer - the content we saw on his website and instagram was so different to others, we just loved it!
    Matt was so friendly and approachable - we didn’t really know much about what the ‘done’ thing was to do when it came to photos for a wedding but he put us at ease and we just left it in his capable hands. I’m very glad we did this because the outcome was amazing, we couldn’t be happier with our photos.
    On the day, Matt and Christian were fab and so helpful - most of the time we didn’t even realise they were there - so discreet!
    Photos - It’s the one thing you get as memories forever for your big day so the decision as to which photographer you choose shouldn’t be taken lightly - however I would recommend Matt in a heartbeat. Trust me you won’t be disappointed!
  • Alice
    Alice M. Sent on 10/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding!

    I am not sure where to start! We initially had some issues with our previously booked photographer, so with around 6 months to go for our wedding we had to go searching. Thankfully, we found Matt. From the first contact, to the face to face meeting at his office and to the end of the day of the wedding - Matt has been nothing but outstanding. He communicates well, he makes sure you, your partner and him all have the some goal which, lets be honest, is to have the best photos. On the day, he brought along Paul who was also incredible. Everyone complimented on how well they captured the day - the smiles, laughs and all the hugs! I could go on for days about how much I appreciate that Matt was available for our special day. These pictures will stay with us forever and I cannot thank Matt and his team enough. If you are in doubt whether to contact Matt for a discussion, just stop doubting and contact him! You will not be disappointed, I promise. Thank you so much, Matt.

    Matt Selby Photography's reply:

    Hey Alice. Thanks for that epic 5* review! We had a great time capturing your big day and I loved how many creative portraits we got! We can work on the album design next. :)
  • E
    Ellie Sent on 08/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best in the business

    Would recommend Matt and Christian to anyone looking for a wedding photographer! The photos are incredible. We now have so many photos which capture special people and moments from our day and our family and friends love them all. He explained he aims to document the day as it unfolds naturally and this was definitely achieved in the most beautiful photos. He also got some really creative photos as well which was what drew us to him when we were searching initially. Matt and Christian were very easy to get along with. He was reliable and keep in contact in the lead up to the wedding.

    Matt Selby Photography's reply:

    Hey Ellie, thanks very much for taking the time to leave a 5* review. It's much appreciated. We had a cracking day and really enjoyed capturing it all for you. Wishing you both all the best. Matt :)
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • S
    Sophie F. Sent on 26/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent from start to end - highly recommended

    100% recommended!! Matt really made us feel as ease on our wedding day, the run up to the wedding and post wedding! Him and Christian are both such lovely people and the pictures are fabulous. All our family and friends say how great the pictures are and how great they were on the day! Thank you so much

    Matt Selby Photography's reply:

    Thanks for the lovely review Sophie. We had a great time capturing your special day at Darwin Lake. Wishing you both all the best! Album design next! :)
  • J
    Jayde Sent on 22/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic photographer

    I honestly don't know where to start. I guess the best way is to say if you're thinking of booking Matt as your wedding photographer - DO IT!! Don't hesitate.
    I originally found Matt by using instragram hashtags - it's how I found most of my suppliers. I enquired on his website & he responded super quickly & arranged a meeting at his office in Nottingham. I loved that he likes to meet you before you book him to make sure you're both on the same page with what you're looking for in your wedding photography - he wants to make sure he can deliver! We booked Matt roughly 18 months before the day & comms were really good on the run up, he kept in contact throughout this period (nothing worse than never hearing from a supplier you've booked!!)
    Matt uses a second photographer, Christian & it definitely makes a difference!! Nothing was missed - Matt could be photographing Dan & I and Christian could photograph guests & it works treat, we had photos of every guest!
    Matt knew exactly what we wanted from our photographs & he really didn't disappoint. He was really easy to work with on the day - we were super relaxed in his company & I feel the amazinggg images captured are definitely down to how relaxed & natural we felt in his & Christians company. We didnt feel tense or awkward & we laughed & exchanged banter all day and our special day wouldn't have been the same without both Matt & Christian.
    Matt likes to capture a different image, something he's never captured before at other weddings at the same venuev& we loved this - who doesn't want something individualistic on their wedding day?
    We recieved the link for our images quicker than he quoted & we are so so happy with them. The online portal is easy to use & it's really easy to share your images with friends & family too. We've now received our wedding album after struggling to whittle the amount of images down to the recommended as they were all so so good!! The album is fabtastic quality, better than we expected.
    We can't thank Matt & Christian enough. Absolutely amazing, professional & genuine people. Cannot recommend Matt Selby Photography enough!!!

    Mr & Mrs Simpson
    24.07.23

    Matt Selby Photography's reply:

    Hey Jayde, thank you so much for your detailed and positive review. I thoroughly enjoyed capturing your epic day and we had one of the best sunsets I've ever seen at Swancar! Thank you for your high praise & recommendation! Wishing you and the family all the very best :)
  • Lewis
    Lewis F. Sent on 06/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    High Recommended

    Matt did an amazing job capturing our wedding and we couldn't be happier with the results. The photography was a really important aspect for me, and we loved Matt's style and offering. Communication was great ahead of the wedding (we were organising it from Australia), as well as on the big day.

    My husband and I were negotiating about how long we were prepared to spend away from guests to capture photos. In the end, it didn't really matter as Matt and his second shooter were capturing lots of natural shots of what was going on, he captured the formal family shots quickly and when we went outdoors in the evening for photographs with just the two of us, we were ready to stretch our legs and get some fresh air anyway. They blended in so much that we didn't even notice them most of the time but they captured all the key moments as well as the finer details that really helped tell the story of the whole day.

    We got the final photos quicker than expected, with easy download options and links to share with guests. We are so happy with the results.

    Thanks for capturing our big day so perfectly!

    Matt Selby Photography's reply:

    Thanks Lewis for that great review! I really enjoyed capturing your special day, so much so I couldnt help but feature it on my blog! I wish you both all the best for your future. Matt :)
  • C
    Claudia B. Sent on 25/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Matt Selby Photographer

    Matt was amazing, very professional and created a relaxed atmosphere. Fabulous photos, he really captured the fantastic day we shared with friends and family.
  • L
    Lucy Sent on 18/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Photographer - highly recommend!

    We came across Matt's online portfolio and was completely blown away. As soon as we initially met with Matt we knew we wanted him to be the one to capture our special day. Such a lovely, down to earth guy, we felt like we’d known him for so long.
    Matt and his colleague, Ian, were absolutely amazing throughout our wedding day. They fit straight in and felt like part of the family. They made our party and I feel so comfortable. So many of our family and friends also said how great they were on the day!
    We received our photos this week and we could not be happier with them! They capture our wedding day perfectly, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Thank you so much! x
  • J
    Jordan T. Sent on 18/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Day with perfect photos!!

    Very professional photographer and captured some amazing shots, highly recommend to anyone, also an Ian was amazing too.
  • E
    Daniel B. Sent on 17/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect. Not good, perfect.

    Matt and his associates looked after our wedding, and they were amazing. The guys were great and the photos are stunning. So happy we picked Matt and his guys, I don't think we'd have been as happy with someone else! They thought of everything from photos with bridal prep to photos we didn't even know had been taken when we got them all back. They went above and beyond and would highly recommend them. Thank you again,

    Rhian & Dan
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message