Skip to main content
Weddings

Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP Reviews

Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP

Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP

Edinburgh, Lothian & Borders
5.0 out of 5 rating, 24 reviews
More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
24 reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
  • M
    Marie D. Sent on 09/05/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A very natural look for a perfect day

    Karen was absolutely fantastic! I was a little apprehensive at first hiring a makeup artist because I never wear any makeup and like a very natural look, but Karen understood straight away what I wanted and did a lovely light makeup on the day. I absolutely loved it! She did both my hair and makeup in less than 2 hours and it was all stress-free and very enjoyable. I would highly recommend her!

    Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP's reply:

    Thank you very much for booking me Marie! I love my job and being a small part of your special day was wonderful!
  • Ami
    Ami Sent on 31/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great hair and make up which lasted all day

    Karen was great!
    She took time to understand what I wanted and we worked out everything we needed to on the trial.
    I wanted very natural make up, nothing too heavy. And she achieved that, but I still felt very glamorous.
    On the day of the wedding, Karen arrived promptly and worked super efficiently to get everyone ready in time. She was so calm and reassuring and I loved the end result. My hair and make up stayed the same from 10am until 1am.
    My mum was nervous about her hair as she has very thick hair which can be frizzy and difficult to work with. Karen worked magic on her, and I've never seen her hair so beautiful. Her curls stayed in for days!
    I highly recommend Karen and I'm grateful for all her hard work for us on the day x
  • J
    Jane H. Sent on 03/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding service-

    Karen recently did my hair and makeup. From start to finish Karen made me feel at ease her professionalism was next level and she was just an all round pleasure to be with friendly, reassuring and so talented!! I would highly recommend Karen for your big day. Once again Thankyou so much Karen.

    Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP's reply:

    Thank you so much Jane! It was such a pleasure to work with you on your special day ! Thank you for booking me !!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Rebeca
    Rebeca Sent on 22/02/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Rebeca Moss

    Karen did a fantastic job of my hair and makeup for my two-day wedding celebration. After a trial at Karen’s house, we agreed on two different looks for day and evening events. Karen was very attentive, and great fun to be around. My mum and bridesmaids were all really happy with their hair and makeup too and loved speaking with Karen. Thanks Karen for a wonderful experience - I would highly recommend her to any brides to be!

    Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP's reply:

    Thank you so much Rebeca
    I had a wonderful time working with you all! Thank you for booking me and the great review! I love my job !
  • E
    Esme P. Sent on 22/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A tailored experience with fantastic ideas!

    I was looking for a MUA who would understand that I'm not comfortable with a lot of make up on, and could provide a subtle and tailored service. Karen was recommended to me by a friend and she was just perfect. She was so friendly and really put me at ease. My make up was perfect, it didn't feel caked on or overly contoured, I just looked like my very best self.

    Karen was so lovely she ended up doing my hair too. She came up with so many ideas for how to make my hairstyle as beautiful as possible, while still ensuring I felt comfortable with the accessories (we ended up with red ribbons and blooming red roses in my dark brown hair and it looked amazing).

    Karen worked so hard to ensure I was happy, relaxed, and looked my very best for the big day. I loved how she does my hair so much she's now agreed to be my regular hair dresser! She also gave me an NHS discount, which was very welcome! I would recommend her to absolutely anyone and everyone.

    Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP's reply:

    Thank you so much Esme ! The pleasure was all mine ! It was great to work with someone so open to ideas so that we created something beautiful together…
  • Nina
    Nina C. Sent on 30/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect from beginning to end!

    I recently got married at Edinburgh castle and booked Karen for my hair and makeup. She was fantastic! She instantly made me feel relaxed and reassured at my trial and I knew I could fully trust her on my special day. Karen is so talented and created a flawless look that lasted the whole day into the evening! Meeting Karen was like meeting a new friend! Nina Carr.

    Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP's reply:

    Wow Nina ! What a spectacular day and I knew the sun would come out… eventually!
    What a beautiful day ! Thank you for booking me ! Please stay in touch !
  • G
    Gemma C. Sent on 27/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    August 2023 Edinburgh

    Karen helped me realise my Bridal Dreams!
    Not only did I my make up and hair look good for hours of emotion, photographs and dancing I - was calmed and had a relaxing morning of getting ready.
    Karen’s experience and skill is an ESSENTIAL for any and all Bridal Parties or any special occasion!

    Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP's reply:

    Thank you very much Gemma ! I loved working with you all too !! Congratulations on your wonderful wedding!
  • Catherine
    Catherine G. Sent on 19/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!

    Karen was incredible! She is such a pleasure to work with and her work is perfection. Myself and my bridesmaids were all incredibly happy with our hair and makeup. Can’t recommend her enough.

    Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP's reply:

    Thank you so much Catherine ! I had a wonderful time working with you, your friends and family ! I really enjoyed being with you all on your very special day! Thank you !
  • Francesca
    Francesca T. Sent on 19/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Nothing short of Exceptional - Must Book!

    Karens talent and service is nothing short of exceptional. We were lucky enough to come across Karen on hitched, and given her experience and reviews, promptly contacted her in the hope she would be available for our wedding in September 2023. From the first phone call with her I knew we had made the best decision and we were delighted when she said she was available on our date. As there were several of us needing hair and makeup, Karen was kind enough to source two other excellent hair and makeup artists Ava and Heather. Karen and her team were able to excetute perfect, and stunning looks on all of my bridal party members, who were a range of ages, skin tones, hair types, personal needs, with great care and attention, within the alloted time schedule. I cannot write here all the compliments we received on the day, but I can assure you we felt fabulous, and our venue even requested Karens details for future brides. I would like to thank Karen for her endless support and guidence. From the moment I first contacted her, the hair and make up trail at her beuatiful home which followed, to the morning of the wedding, Karen provided endless support and positivity and at no point did I feel unwelcome or unable to contact/meet with her to discuss my preferences or any changes I was thinking of having with regard to hair and make up. Her flexability and willingness to adapt to last minute changes (in my case some bad highlights the day before the wedding - a stupid impulsive decison on my part!) were instrumental in keeping me calm and collected because I knew she had everything in hand and the expertise to manage any situations which arose. Given Karens years of experience in the industry she has many contacts to pull upon and direct you to so do not hesitate to run something by her if your unsure, she'll guide you through! I wish I had done this for my highlights to save the stress! The morning of the wedding I was very stressed and worried about the day, Karen turned my day around and even gave me a mini facial massage to relax me and get me into the pampering spirit - she has the inate ability to know just what you need! By the end of the day, a ceilidh and disco later my hair and make up was still perfect, which many people commented on in disbelief! Removing everything before bed was a breeze, Karen had taken such care that my hair and skin felt just as comfortable and soothed as it did in the morning. (I dont wear make regularly at all so this is a big deal to me as I am not used to hair extensions/eyelash extensions etc). Thank you to Karen and her team, there are not enough words to communicate my appreciation and gratitude for your hardwork and efforts in preparing me and the bridal party for our special day. I hope to only get married once, but should I need a makeup artist again, I would book Karen and her team in a heartbeat!

    Karen Mason Bridal Hair & Make-UP's reply:

    Thank you very much for such an amazing review! I love my job and working with you was a joy and why I love it so much ! Thanks to you for booking myself and the team!
  • Alina
    Alina Sent on 30/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful day

    Really enjoyed working with Karen. We discussed getting me a more natural look for the wedding that felt more me and I got it :)
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours