Weddings

Pelham House Reviews

Pelham House View more information

23 reviews

Rating
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Badges

  • P
    Penelope B. Married on 13/11/2020
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Disgraceful lack of customer service

    Sadly a wedding we were due to attend from overseas was cancelled due to the pandemic and then transferred to 2022 we requested a refund as we will not travel to the UK as we ate both high risk all other hotels refunded straight away not Pelham House no empathy or understanding alongside disgraceful emails telling us when we could travel ! Very disappointed not at all the standard we expected all about the money what a shame - customer service will ensure establishments survive this pandemic
  • P
    Paul Married on 01/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    From a professional DJ's point of view

    I'm Paul McCarthy and I run a wedding DJ business, Those Party People. I've worked at Pelham House for many years and know the venue very well. These are my thoughts from a professional wedding DJ point of view. Since Artemis Venue Services have taken over, I've seen P-H transformed into the perfect wedding venue. The outdoor ceremony area is stunning, the indoor area is beautifully decorated and the perfect romantic setting for your big day. The Blencowe suite is an amazing place for your guests to dance the night away. The room is big enough for a large dance floor and plenty of tables and chairs.

    The Food

    I've eaten many times at Pelham House and I can honestly say this is where they excel, the attention to detail on every aspect of your wedding breakfast will be amazing, from serving the food to the meal itself. It will have your friends and family talking about how amazing it was for years to come.

    A lot of concerns I hear about venues when meeting clients is the sound limiter.

    Council regulations mean that most venues in Sussex have a limiter fitted. Most limiters are set to 85 to 90dbs. Pelham House is set to 95dbs, do some research to see how much that extra 5dbs means. You will find it's a lot. I've never tripped the limiter and the guests have never asked me to turn up the volume

    My past clients who have had their wedding at Pelham House have been very happy with every aspect of their wedding day. If you are looking for a wedding venue in the Lewes area, you can do no better than book with Pelham House. I am more than happy for you to contact me to discuss this review.
  • B
    Boma Married on 17/08/2019
    Rating 3 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5

    Food good venue management needs work!

    I want to start if by saying the refurbishment was fab and galloping gourmets head chef Adam lived up to our expectations!
    As for Pelham house I’m afraid there were a few issues you need to be aware of if you are considering having your wedding here.
    1- They have sound limiters which cut off your band or dj if it goes over their specified level. The venue neglected to inform us of this, till we had the sound cutting out during a very crucial part of our wedding which we cannot go back in time to re-run!

    2- If you take exclusive hire, your guests don’t have access to their rooms till 3pm.
    The House keeping team tried to clean the bridal prep room whilst I was getting dressed, once I went down for my ceremony they went back in and moved my belongings, which they threw on the the floor of the bridal suite and they lost a priceless family heirloom, an expensive watch was in the corner near a bin!

    3- The management team have an inability to accept responsibility, or apologies, let alone show any level of empathy when they had clearly omitted so much in the push to get us to sign up
    They talk of flexibility but the reality is that they are not flexible, the timings for the venue are created only to work in their favour!
    My suggestion is more diversity in the management team!
    Find a way to work with the owner of the property next to Pelham because he’s the reason behind the noise restrictions!
    Last but not least - all you prices should be inclusive of VAT! It is very naughty of you to not highlight this till the very last pages in your brochures!
  • J
    Jack Married on 11/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank you

    Thanks to the staff at Pelham House for making our wedding day run exceptionally smoothly.

    There were so many super comments about the amazing food cooked by Naomi and her team in the kitchen, every plate looked exactly the same and everyone got their food in good time. Thank you to the events team also for helping us plan our big day.
  • M
    Mick Married on 28/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    First Class

    All the staff at Pelham House are fantastic. The wedding breakfast and reception was absolutely brilliant, service was first class, food was excellent and the staff were very attentive.
  • M
    Matt Married on 27/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wouldnt change a thing

    We had a perfect day at Pelham House and all of our guests really enjoyed themselves.

    Everything ran smoothly from the planning process through to the day itself, we would not change a single thing.
  • M
    Martin Married on 12/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    What a great venue! The gardens are beautiful.

    Firstly, what a great venue! The gardens are beautiful and because we were lucky enough to have a sunny day, we were able to make best use of it to take photos and spend time with our guests on the patio.

    The Chamber Room is stunning and provided just what we wanted as a back drop to our meal, speeches and dancing.

    Georgina, our wedding coordinator was brilliant! She offered suggestions, took on board our ideas, dealt with requests and generally made sure that our day was what we wanted and ran smoothly. We both feel that this was the perfect venue for our wedding and that the staff at Pelham involved, particularly Georgina who did all she could to ensure it was a special day.
  • P
    Philip Married on 30/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    All aspects were perfect!

    We had the best day of our lives at Pelham House, it’s staff and facilities played a big part in that. The staff were professional and attentive. Georgina the wedding coordinator ensured that all aspects of our day were perfect and exactly what we wanted. The food was brilliant, we had so many positive comments about the meal, it was delicious and well-cooked and presented for all of the guests. Pelham House was the perfect setting for our day.
  • H
    Rebecca G.
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection

    Pelham House were absolutely brilliant! The team are so professional and helpful.
  • G
    Glynis
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent place for a wedding

    My daughter got married in the garden of Pelham house yesterday, and it was an absolutely magical day from start to finish. I would like to thank all the staff, for the excellent organisation and delicious food especially Georgina, the wedding manager. We had 5 rooms included in the package and they were really nice and spacious.