Skip to main content
Weddings

Thomas J Wilman - Indie Folk Wedding Singer Reviews

Thomas J Wilman - Indie Folk Wedding Singer

Thomas J Wilman - Indie Folk Wedding Singer

Brighton, East Sussex
5.0 out of 5 rating, 16 reviews
More information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
16 reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of the service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value for money
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Badges

Hitched Wedding Awards 2024 Winner
Hitched Wedding Awards 2023 Winner
  • R
    Rachel C. Sent on 29/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Brilliant! Highly recommended!

    Tom played during our ceremony and drinks reception and we couldn’t be happier. He really was one of the highlights of our wedding! So many of our guests commented on Tom’s amazing voice and beautiful playing and walking down the aisle to his acoustic version of Edward Sharpe’s Home is a memory neither of us will ever forget.

    Not only that, Tom was so lovely and helpful before the wedding day itself. The care he took to find out about us, learn so many of our song requests and create two really personal sets for us really did go above and beyond. He clearly worked so hard to make this extra special for us. Thank you Tom!
  • E
    Emma S. Sent on 15/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful voice - he made our day so special!

    Tom played at our wedding in July and he was absolutely incredible. He was so helpful and friendly in the lead up to our big day and he really put us at ease and made us feel confident that we were in excellent hands! He has a beautiful voice and on the day, he was even better than our (already very high!) expectations. He played a huge part in making our wedding day so special. If you love music, we would definitely recommend hiring him.
  • Paige
    Paige A. Sent on 12/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best decision we made!

    Firstly, we would summarise our experience with Tom as perfect from start to finish. We’ve highlighted the reasons below but if you want a top line summary then there you go.

    Pre-wedding

    We found Tom on hitched, having trawled through countless websites trying to find the right singer. Music was a very important part of our day so we needed it to fit with what our vision for the day was.

    We were amazed at the depth of Tom’s repertoire, with an excellent selection of songs spanning multiple decades (50s through to 2020s). His package also offers some off repertoire songs too, so we actually found it hard to whittle it down if anything, with the selection available.

    Once we contacted Tom, he was quick to respond, offering a Zoom meeting or in person if we were close by. We discussed the logistics of the day and he was kind enough to help us with our ceremony structure (as he too had a humanist ceremony). This was incredibly helpful as we were constructing our own ceremony with a family member as a celebrant, so his help was reassuring and appreciated greatly. Shortly after our discussion, Tom sent us a spreadsheet to select our songs and requests, so that he could start to draw together a set list. He was accommodating with some challenging requests (walking down the aisle to Lovin’ you by Minnie Ripperton) and completely surpassed our expectations. You could tell throughout that Tom really wanted to get these right for us.

    In the weeks prior to the wedding, Tom showed a great deal of diligence, making sure that we had thought about certain logistical steps to make our woodland ceremony a success. There were certain things Tom brought to our attention that we wouldn’t have otherwise thought about. He was proactive in checking through the ceremony schedule to get timings right which was great in busy build up to the wedding. One less thing to worry about.

    On the day

    We chose Tom’s ceremony and reception package, from when guests took their seats through to the wedding feast. His music within the setting of our woodland wedding was simply beautiful. It set the tone for our day perfectly and made it feel even more special and personal, as he sang our favourite songs that he’d learnt for us. His voice is gorgeous and everyone was captivated as he played. After the ceremony, he played around 90mins throughout our canapé reception, creating an atmosphere that felt like a summer festival in the 70s!

    We can’t express how happy we were to have Tom play at our wedding. We knew he’d be totally perfect but he blew us away with his incredible voice, kindness and care. He embraced our vision and brought it to life and the music was a huge part of our day and a fantastic lasting memory.

    Thank you Tom!
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • L
    Laura Sent on 28/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I would recommend him in a flash!

    Tom was not only lovely and very talented but was so committed to providing a really special and bespoke set of songs for our wedding day. He designed his playlist based on our preferences, even learning two of our favourite songs that he hadn’t heard before.

    His set was perfect for after the ceremony, providing beautiful entertainment for the guests and the perfect ambience between the ceremony and the meal.

    One of the highlights of the day for me was dancing with my friends during his rendition of my favourite Florence and the Machine song.

    I would recommend him in a flash!
  • Hannah
    Hannah Sent on 05/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredibly talented and such a lovely person to work with

    Tom played at our wedding at the end of June and we and our guests were so impressed! His covers are unique and complimented all of the original versions of the songs so well. He is a very talanted guitarist and singer and his music was a part of our wedding that we will always look back on fondly.
    Tom is more than just a great singer and guitarist though. From the first enquiry, to our contact after the wedding, Tom has been incredibly friendly and an absolute pleasure to speak with. He's also been very organised and learnt a couple of special requests for us.
    We would highly reccomend Tom for anyone looking for some live music and we hope we can find an excuse to book him again in the future!
  • R
    Ramsey M. Sent on 26/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A beautiful voice, talented musician and wonderful person

    We had the best wedding day and Tom was such an important part of it. He was absolutely fantastic and exceeded our already high expectations. We can’t put into words how much we appreciated the effort he put into learning all of the songs we love - music is so important to us and Tom brought our musical dreams to life on the day. So many of our guests commented on how much they loved the music.

    No question was too much hassle and Tom made us feel like our wedding was really special to him. He was great at communicating and attentive to all of our needs and requirements.

    If you like great music, book Thomas J Wilman for your wedding!
  • S
    Scarlett H. Sent on 30/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A fantastic supplier and musician who made our wedding day so special and personal to us! Would recommend in a heartbeat.

    Thomas came to sing at our Manchester wedding in April 2023 and he made the church service so memorable, with guests praising his wonderful style and exceptional taste in music. We knew when we found Thomas online that we had to book him! Honestly, our wedding wouldn't have been the same without Thomas and I would recommend his musical services to anyone and everyone- professional, efficient, easy-going and most importantly, a talented musician with a gorgeous style. Thank you so much Thomas for being a joy to work with and for making our day so special and personal!

    Scarlett and John
  • P
    Philipa D. Sent on 07/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A beautiful voice

    Thomas has a very empathetic and gentle nature about him which means he takes all of the stress out of dealing with a wedding supplier. He’s kind, helpful and supportive and more than willing to try different things and learn new songs if needed.

    But the real two reasons we chose Thomas were:

    - He has a beautiful voice
    - He has a brilliant taste in music which matched ours

    
From folk and classics of the 1960s and 1970s to modern alternative / indie singer-songwriter he sings with great passion and energy. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great acoustic musician to complement their wedding or event.

    
Thanks so much again Thomas!
  • Nick
    Nick H. Sent on 02/11/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A wonderful man to have singing on your special day!

    “Tom was so helpful in the preparation for the day, and we were able to send him a list of songs we loved; he clearly worked so hard to make our day so special. Tom exudes a calm and relaxed vibe and this makes him a pleasure to deal with. His repertoire is outstanding and flexible; he puts his own spin on songs from all different genres and eras and brought a smile to the faces of the guests as they recognised the songs over the course of 90 minutes.

    He played such an amazing set, and really impressed everyone who was there; his passion for music, beautifully angelic voice and folky guitar playing were the perfect accompaniment to our drinks and canapes.

    He created a magical atmosphere, setting up outside the marquee where his tunes floated on the warm summer air and brought so much happiness to the guests, with many abandoning their conversations, crowding around him to listen and sing along. So many friends still comment on his set and ask for his name today.

    I would highly recommend Tom; a gifted and passionate musician who will really enhance any wedding day.”
  • H
    Henry Sent on 10/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of the service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value for money
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent - would highly recommend

    Tom had an existing repertoire of songs from across genres - pop, rock and folk in particular - but even better, was open to requests. He learned several of our favourite songs to play on the day, which made his set extra special and personal for us. We also enjoyed coming up with the final set list with Tom over a pint in the lead-up.

    On the day he managed the set-up of the PA system, taking that stress entirely out of our hands - and he was 100% reliable. Tom then played during the drinks reception, from the castle steps, overlooking our guests drinking champagne on the sunny lawn. Everyone loved the music; Tom gauged the mood perfectly. Many chose to watch him, and for those who were doing other things, the music was a fitting background.

    And the songs are more than just covers - Tom is a talented musician and singer, and his arrangements were fresh and fun. We would recommend Tom whole-heartedly.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours