Weddings

Yew Lodge Country House Reviews

Yew Lodge Country House

Yew Lodge Country House

Surrey Hills, Surrey
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 59 reviews
View more information

59 reviews

Rating
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of the Service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value for Money
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Badges

4 User photos

  • R
    Reshma R. Married on 14/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue!

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at Yew Lodge in August, 2021. Pauline is extremely well organized and her attention to detail is commendable. She was always easy to contact and her communication was great . She played an instrumental role in not only making sure everything ran smoothly on the day but also helped us with the planning in the months leading to the wedding. She and her team were extremely flexible, considering we had to make changes a few times due to changing Covid restrictions. The recommended suppliers provided were also excellent.
    The ability to have overnight accommodation (10 rooms) for our close friends and family meant that we could continue the celebrations at breakfast the next morning.
    All our guests complimented the food and had a great time! The lovely grounds as well as the beautiful indoor space ensured that all our guests could find a space to enjoy themselves. We had a magical day and can't thank Yew Lodge enough for making our wedding so special!
  • R
    Robert B. Married on 15/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic day and lovely staff

    We had a brilliant wedding day at Yew Lodge. We had to move the day once and the constantly changing restrictions could have meant a very stressful period, however Pauline kept us really well updated and was full of good ideas to enhance our day. Pauline and Peter went above and beyond to add a few little touches and ensured everything we had requested was available on the day. The staff were so attentive and it really felt like nothing was too much trouble. We had such a brilliant day and really enjoyed the grounds where we were lucky enough to get some fabulous photographs. The food and drink was fantastic as well. We feel so luck to have found Yew Lodge and we have many happy memories of our time there.

    Yew Lodge Country House's reply:

    Many thanks to you and Mel for taking the time to post this review. Yes, Covid-19 did cause all of us to "think outside the box" but it did all come together on the day and we're so pleased you have happy memories - which will remain with you forever. We agree - your photos look fabulous! We wish you both every happiness for your future life together - married at last!
  • H
    Grace B. Married on 23/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Couldn't have been better

    We fell in love with Yew Lodge when we first went to look at it, and had decided by the time we got home that we wanted to get married there- the ceremony room was beautiful and the grounds were stunning. Unfortunately, we were in the middle of wedding planning when Covid-19 struck. When we contacted Pauline to see what could be done, she went above and beyond to ensure that we were able to have our dream wedding at Yew Lodge, even with significantly reduced numbers. She was in constant contact every time the regulations were changed, and made sure that even with a limit of 15 people the day was as close to perfect as we could have hoped for. The wedding, when it happened, was absolutely wonderful- the Covid safety restrictions did not interfere at all, everyone felt completely safe, and we all had the most amazing time. We enjoyed ourselves so much we are planning on going back there for the party when it safe to do so!

    Yew Lodge Country House's reply:

    We're so pleased you and Emlyn enjoyed your special day at Yew Lodge Country House - despite the challenges presented by Covid-19! Thank you so much for your kind comments - in turn you were flexible and realistic through-out the planning which made it a pleasure to work with you. It was an added bonus that the weather was dry and sunny (albeit a bit chilly). We wish you both every happiness for your future life together - married at last!
  • H
    Hannah Married on 20/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Wedding Day!

    We held our wedding reception at Yew Lodge and were blessed with a beautiful sunny day so we were able to make use of the stunning grounds for our photos. Our guests enjoyed sipping prosecco outside, whilst enjoying canapés which were delicious. Our wedding breakfast was also delicious and all of our guests enjoyed their meal...even the most fussy eaters. The evening continued till midnight where a lot of our guests were still dancing and could have kept going, it was such a brilliant party atmosphere! Peter, Pauline and Nick were meticulous in their planning and ensured that our day went exactly how we wanted it, checking everything was going well on the day, and accommodating all our requests in the planning, we cannot thank them enough. We can highly recommend Yew Lodge for a wedding celebration. We will definitely be back for a Sunday Lunch to celebrate our anniversary!

    Yew Lodge Country House's reply:

    As always, we are delighted you and your guests enjoyed your very special wedding day at Yew Lodge Country House. It is always a pleasure for us to host such an occasion and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know you were pleased with all the arrangements. We wish you both every happiness in your married life together!
  • S
    Sue Married on 25/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We would certainly recommend Yew Lodge

    Thank you to the team at Yew Lodge for making our 100th birthday celebration so special. The house and grounds are wonderful but would be nothing without the owners and staff. We had a delicious lunch and everything went exactly to plan. This was due to Peter and Pauline's attention to detail and suggestions based on their experience. We would certainly recommend Yew Lodge to others.

    Yew Lodge Country House's reply:

    We were honoured to host such an auspicious occasion! What a milestone! We wish you all continued health and happiness!
  • A
    Annette Married on 27/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A very happy occasion

    Thank you to you and all your staff for making our special lunch a very happy occasion. It will be a lovely memory to cherish as we feel these big dates in our lives are so special. Some of our friends had already been introduced to Yew Lodge and those who hadn't also fell in love with the venue and everyone enjoyed the food selection chosen. We are looking forward to our next visit which hopefully won't be too far away.
  • K
    Kim Married on 24/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A great venue for a wedding

    Thank you so much for everything on Thursday for our wedding day. It all went very well and everyone has commented on what a beautiful house you have and what a great venue for a wedding. Thank you to all your staff, especially the chef as the food was absolutely lovely.
  • J
    Jane Married on 13/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everything was perfect

    Thank you for a lovely day, everything was perfect and we will be very happy to spread that message.
  • L
    Lee Married on 05/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our wedding day was perfect

    Our wedding day was perfect and we can not thank you, Peter and your team enough. We will 100% be back for Sunday lunch.
  • C
    Curt Married on 01/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of the Service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value for Money
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our perfect day at Yew Lodge

    On 1 July 2017, we chose Yew Lodge as our wedding reception venue. The gardens and setting are beautiful and the new function suite was perfect for our numbers (95 for meal and extra 40 in the evening)
    Pauline, Peter and Nicholas cannot do enough for you to ensure everything runs smoothly. All of our guests commented on the quality of the food and reasonable drink prices, we also had a few guests stay over in the 10-15 bedrooms. Highly recommended and our favourite part - your party have exclusivity of the venue and grounds which many of the big hotels cannot offer.