Thornton Manor Verified Reviews

24 | Hooton (Cheshire)
View More Information

24 Reviews for Thornton Manor

Recommended by 96% of couples · Write a Review

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of the Service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value for Money 4.7
  • Response time 4.7

Badges

  • Paula

    Paula Nolan · Married on 16/05/2020

    1.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value for Money:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Avoid at all costs

    This was my son and daughter in laws dream. They were due to get married on a Saturday in May but due to corona virus their wedding was cancelled.
    The management at Thornton Manor refused to refund any monies and said they would offer an alternate date which was a Sunday in winter. As both my son and his partner are frontline NHS staff they could not accept a Sunday wedding as many of their guests who were work colleagues would not have been able to attend. They requested a Saturday in May in 2021 and even offered to pay extra if prices had increased but were told these dates were for new bookings only. My son requested a refund which they refused advising my son to claim through his wedding insurance and to rebook the new date with them once he had the refund saying this would be a ‘win win’.
    This was extremely stressful as my son and his partner had to cancel everything that was booked including caterers, photographer, florist music etc as they could not give anyone a rearranged date as they were unsure if their insurance would refund them.
    Throughout all communication management at Thornton manor were extremely unhelpful and often extremely rude. On one occasion the Manager, Phillip, told my son he was ‘very lucky’ working on the front line in the NHS as his job was secure !
    My son and his partner did get a refund from their insurance and made the decision not to rebook with Thornton Manor due to the terrible way the Management had treated them.
    Thornton Manor refused to refund monies guests had paid in full for bedrooms in the Manor House meaning they still have this plus the 8.5k paid for the venue . PLEASE AVOID

    Sent on 13/06/2020
  • M

    Mr & Mrs Kenyon · Married on 28/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding Day

    We got married on 28.12.19 in the Manor House and had the most perfect day ever. On the run up to the wedding we were in regular contact with all of the wedding coordinators all of which were an absolute dream to work with.

    On the day of our wedding everything went amazingly, they even let me set up a day early due to there being no wedding in the day before which was fantastic.

    Rooms we stayed in were fantastic and really in keeping with the character of the venue, would highly recommend the gate house to stay in the night before.

    The Manor House- WOW! Everyone commented on how stunning the venue was and if you get married at Christmas like we did it is fully decked out with gorgeous decorations and Christmas trees.

    Every member of staff I dealt with was just fantastic and nothing was too much for them.

    Thank you Thornton Manor for the most amazing, stress free wedding day.

    Sent on 23/01/2020
  • F

    Faye Carmichael · Married on 21/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Manor House

    From our initial viewing of the venue we knew this was the one for us. The venue speaks for itself and is just absolutely stunning. The staff were so incredibly kind, friendly and supportive from our first meeting to the final ta-ra’s the day following the wedding. They were so organised and nothing was too much to ask for. They put both myself and my husband at ease on the day, and it felt like having friends with us throughout.
    Our guests were blown away with the house and gardens, and how well kept it all is.
    If we could do it all over again we would, and we wouldn’t change a thing.

    Sent on 02/01/2020
  • C

    Choudhury · Married on 28/07/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value for Money:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Worst Experience of My Life

    Thornton Manor staff/management inexperience, ignorance and unprofessionalism ruined our special day;
    We booked and paid almost £10,000 for the Thornton Manor Garden Marquee for our wedding. All we wanted was the perfect day for her. It was the complete opposite.
    A substantial amount of money was exchanged to hire a marquee surrounded by gardens. So you’d expect the best customer service and satisfaction. Absolutely NOT.
    We booked a Toast Master on the management’s advice, paid extra for his services. This was a total disaster, the microphone did not work. The sound system was poor. The best man, bridesmaid speeches were all ruined, the actual ceremony was ruined. All speeches/music/songs/announcements were not heard by any of our guests. The event supervisor did not have a backup plan, did not have a spare microphone, and did not care at all to be honest. It was a DISASTER.
    It was raining - so you do not get to take pictures in the gardens, waltz the gardens, view the gardens and you do not get any discount or sympathy from Thornton Manor. Birkenhead is a VERY RAINY place. Please consider probable weather conditions.
    I complained about the whole experience - however the management did not give a damn. Fell on deaf ears – very rude. They offered me £350 back for the toastmaster and said the event went well. Like hell it did - No remorse, No empathy, just £350 offered out of £10,000. I felt insulted; I told them to keep the money. I mean to rub salt in your wounds, is just an understatement.
    All Thornton Manor management care about is your money.
    Please seriously consider other venues before booking with this place for any event.

    Sent on 09/08/2019
  • M

    Mr and Mrs Langley · Married on 15/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To all the staff at Thornton Manor

    Thank you so much for making out day so special. You went over and above with your support and took care of every little request (with a smile!)
    It was lovely to have Thornton Manor as 'our house' for the day. All our guests had a wonderful time too!

    Sent on 20/06/2019
  • M

    Mr and Mrs Williams · Married on 30/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect start to finish

    To everyone at Thornton Manor,
    Thankyou for helping us have the best day of our lives.
    It was perfect start to finish.
    Thank you for the excellent service nd treatment!
    Thornton Manor will always be a very special place to us.
    Love Katie and David (Mr and Mrs Williams)

    Sent on 01/06/2019
  • K

    Katy and Sean Riley · Married on 03/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you so much!

    Thank you so much, everything went perfectly. You guys were Amazing! You couldn't have made our day more special, we are so grateful! Thank you for all your hard work and attention to detail.
    Lots of love

    Sent on 08/02/2019
  • L

    Laura and Mike Fallon · Married on 20/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing

    We Couldn't have asked for a better wedding venue, eeryting and everyone has been absolutely perfect from start to finish. Thank you so much

    Sent on 08/02/2019
  • M

    Mr and Mrs MacGlashan · Married on 17/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A dream wedding come true!

    Thank you for helping to make our wedding day truly special. It was everything I wanted and more. You treted us and our guests so well. Nothing was too much trouble! Thank you doesn't say enough, thank you doesn't cover the joy and happiness we felt during our wedding day. Perfecto!!

    Sent on 26/11/2018
  • M

    Mr and Mrs Sprott · Married on 05/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of the Service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value for Money:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unforgettable

    Thank you for the amazng service throughout! It truely made our day all the more special. We certainly won't forget it! Thank you

    Sent on 26/11/2018